We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to heaven”
Review of Orquidea del Sur

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Yankee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orquidea del Sur
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Yankee B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 25, 2012

It has to seen. The beauty cannot merely be described. Incredible garden's. amazing food, beautiful pool and an absolutely amazing sunset every night. You really cannot be disappointed. It is truly an oasis carved out of the side of a mountain. The service is top rate! I have been traveling to Nicaragua for 21 years and i have seen a lot of beautiful places. This one is at the top.

Room Tip: all the rooms face the ocean.There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinny7125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 133 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

Our family of five (3 college-age chldren) ended a terrific 2 week trip through Nicaragua at Orquidea del Sur. What an absolutely fabulous place to unwind and relax after significant trekking. As we had seen much of the country already, we spent our days at Orquidea relaxing by their beautifully landscaped and well-coiffed gardens and pool. We did go to San Juan Del Sur one day with their driver who was very helpful. En route, we were priviledged to be asked to deliver backpacks filled with school supplies to local indigent children. We got to go into their homes and meet them and see their lives in an intimate way not otherwise possible. Joanne is very involved in civic activities and with notice may be able to arrange similar outings. In fact, they would have arranged everything from horseback rising, to boating and spa treatments had we wanted. They also arranged our transport from Morgan's Rock (Grade C) and then upon departure, to the airport.

Orquidea has a terrific website and all of the photos depict its beauty accurately. The sunsets are incredible as is the beach. The staff are attentive and anything can be organized as well as requested for meals. We ate three fabulous dinners there. If you want fish - you got it, lamb - freshly got from the field, guacamole - it is yours. Their attention to detail and service rivals or surpasses any well-known 4 star hotels (i.e., Mandarin, Aman, Oberai, Four Seasons, etc) but with local charm. As there are only 5 rooms - you just might have the place to yourself! Rooms 1 and 4 seem like the best as they are brightest but all take advantage of the verdant surroundings.

Grade A+ - especially for value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Everything was amazing. The view over the pacific was breath-taking, with spectacular sun-sets over the water. The beach was sandy and uncrowded (practically deserted) aside from the security guard and a handful of local people fishing. The room was cool and spacious, with a very comfortable bed. The staff was very friendly and attentive to every need. I was especially impressed with the food. Being vegan, I am often served lousy food, even at fancy places, but the chef at Orquidea was great. She made delicious meals for us every day even though she was not used to cooking vegan. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a relaxing beach get-away without the high-rise hotels and crowds of people.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

After traveling from far away, there is nothing better than walking into the calming environment of Orquidea del Sur. The gardens are just gorgeous and make you feel like you are in an private paradise. The pools are refreshing with a great view of the hills, ocean, and sunsets. The rooms are large, beautifully decorated (but not too much!), and are very clean. There is a mini fridge, sink, basic utensils and dishes, and drinking water available in the room too. Orquidea has clearly handpicked a wonderful staff that can attend to your every need, including coffee at the doorstep, lovely meals, and a clean property. The most amazing part is that you pretty much have your own secluded beach. There is very limited access to the beach for outsiders, so you can have your romantic walks all to yourself. The water is also good for surfing and body boarding.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My daughter and I wanted a quite place to stay before we moved locations to be with our friends wedding party. We chose Orquidea after looking at the pictures on the web and because of its proximity to San Juan del Sur and to Playa Coco. The owners were extremely attentive to our needs the entire stay and the facility was nothing less than extraordinary. We wanted them to prepared an authentic Nicaragua dinner for us when we arrived since we knew we would be tired after 10 hours of total travel time getting there from Atlanta. We also asked them to make sure the meal was gluten free. The meal was unbelievable and the setting (sunset) was spectacular (see photos). I would certainly recommend this to anyone looking for a quality vacation spot, comparable to any nicer resort in Costa Rica at 1/2 the price. We are looking to come back at the end of the year and will definitely come back to Orquidea.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacific N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Have you ever had a first impression "ah-haa" moment when you walked into a place and found that your expectations were immediately surpassed? Well Orquidea del Sur will not disappoint and will provide such experience. From the moment we stepped foot on the property to the time we had to say goodbye, we felt pampered and part of the Orquidea family. Stunning ocean views, spacious rooms, helpful and courteous staff; good food, and a stunning property, all added up to a relaxing, rejuvenating vacation. Robert and Joanne and the entire Orquidea team made it their mission to ensure that our experience with them was second to none. They readily arranged accomodations in Granada as well as activities off property and, on our last day, brought in persons for our own personal spa treatments. I am certain that the Orquidea experience will be repeated with more family and friends om the not too distant future - true bliss!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

As soon as you step through the main gates at Orquidea del Sur you are transported into a place of utmost beauty and tranquility. From the gardens, to the vistas, to the sunsets, to the waterfall pools; the entire property provides the perfect environment for complete physical and mental relaxation. Then add wonderful friendly staff, most gracious host & hostess along with nutritious locally grown & superbly prepared food; you have a place that is as close to heaven as possible (I think so since I have not been there and I can only imagine this is how it is)! Thanks to everyone for making our stay at Orquidea del Sur such a truly memorable occasion. You have created the perfect place to just “get away and forget” allowing oneself to just live. Robert & Chris.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect. Each have their own private terrace with vistas that out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseneathOnPrideaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Yankee
0.8 mi away
Costa Dulce
Costa Dulce
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
177 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
124 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
9.8 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
128 reviews
7.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orquidea del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orquidea del Sur

Address: km 12 Ostinol Road, Playa Yankee | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Yankee, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Yankee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Yankee
Price Range: $150 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hola and welcome to Orquidea del Sur, your private villa south of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Overlooking the renowned surf break at Playa Yankee, Orquidea del Sur commands a 180 degree view of the Pacific Ocean that is every bit as breathtaking as you would hope. We promise. With over 8000 square feet of living space, spectacular gardens, and two award winning swimming pools, the villa has everything you expect from a luxury vacation rental. The manicured gardens are filled with flowers, visited by all sorts of tropical birds including parakeets and toucans, and even monkeys stop by. Prepare your meals under cathedral ceilings in the fully appointed gourmet kitchen and enjoy them in one of several dining areas throughout the property. One of our favourite spots is on the patio overlooking the pool at sunset. After the sun goes down, you can retire to the house for a game of pool or simply relax with one of the books from the library. Each of the three bedrooms has a spectacular ocean view and large ensuite bathroom. With its own living area and balcony, you may never want to leave the 1000 square foot master bedroom or its large soaker bathtub. Should you require extra space, there are also 4 apartments available at a small additional cost. Sorry, the apartments can only be rented in conjunction with the main house and are not available for separate rental. Whatever you decide to do with your time here, you'll be doing it in a truly one of a kind setting. Orquidea del Sur has been a labour of love for us and we look forward to sharing it with you, our guests. Enjoy. Robert and Joanne - Owners ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orquidea Del Sur Hotel Playa Yankee
Orquidea Del Sur Nicaragua/Playa Yankee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing