We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth”
Review of Orquidea del Sur

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Yankee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orquidea del Sur
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Yankee B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Me and my husband stayed 2 weeks at Orquidea Del Sur and time passed so fast it was incredible.The place is wonderful the view of the Pacific ocean is incredible and from up there you can see birds ,monkeys and wonderful sunsets never the same day after day.

Everybody at Orquidea is so nice they will go out of their way to make your stay wonderful.
We went on excursions in the country with Sarah,Herold and Robert fishing cray fish in wild rivers it was incredible we also did an excursion with Rancho Chilimate horseback riding it was really great not to be missed as for going around you can get your own personal driver (very reliable working for Orquidea)and go where ever you want
Granada, San Juan Del Sur etc...
The food is great we had almost all of our meal there breakfast,lunch,dinner.
You always get fresh coffee on your private balcony every morning when you wake up you can also get fresh fruit juice if you want.
The beach is about 10 minutes walk down the hill there is almost nobody there you can be alone all afternoon it is like your private own beach and the water is very warm but if you don't like waves just stay by the pool you will still get the view and can ear the waves crashing down below.
Anyway we recommend Orquidea Del Sur for your next vacation you will not regret it the place looks even better than on the pictures.

Thank you again to everybody at Orquidea

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice but our room was # 1 very spacious , very nice view and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneeRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 134 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2011

We loved the resort. There are five rooms and we were the only guests for a week. The service was amazing. We woke up to coffee and juice on our porch each morning. We walked into the large modern kitchen each morning to order our breakfast and then sat outside to eat and enjoy the view. We had romantic dinners and also enjoyed dinner with the Canadian owners.

We paid our bill and tips at the very end before we left. We did not have to worry about paying for individual things the whole week such as the airport ride/touring stops/lunch, surf board rental, meals, drinks, ride to town, etc.

My husband practiced his Spanish with the very friendly and helpful staff. We walked down to the empty, beautiful beach each day or read books by the pool. The weather was perfect and we slept with AC some nights and with the door open other nights.

This was an adult vacation for us to get away from our little children and relax. It is a 20 minute bumpy ride to the fun surfer town so we only went into town once. The trip was a romantic/private get away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdemarest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

My father and I take a yearly trip south of the boarder and this is the nicest/cleanest/coolest place we have stayed. The service is second to none! The property is situated about 10 min walk from Playa Yankee and about a 2 min drive. The views are awesome. We were the only guests there for 5 days and we were treated like royalty. There is no other place to stay in the San Juan Del Sur area!!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamh3510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This is truly a magical spot. My husband and I had the entire location to ourselves (very lucky) and it was outstanding. From the moment we arrived, our every desire was catered to by the most attentive and courteous staff. The facilities at Orquidea are well maintained and clean. Our room was very spacious and everything was in excellent working order. We will certainly return one day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthiad550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We returned last week from two weeks in Nicaragua. Following a great trip down and back up the length of the Rio San Juan, we wanted a place to relax and unwind before returning home. We couldn't have picked a better spot than Orquidea del Sur. Absolutely a beautiful setting with wonderful hosts, Bob and Joanne, great food and a caring staff. Really did not want to come home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderworld42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I truly enjoyed my stay. The facilities were very well kept. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had a fantastic stay.....however, as I mention in the title my partner and I felt that the owners were "hanging around" wayyy too much. We rented out all the rooms for this resort (they even had to shift beds from staff quarters for our group) so we had an expectation of renting the whole facility - just friends. The owners do share the property so obviously they were going to be there but I think our perception was that we would be renting a fairly private high end house/hotel/executive resort. Another thing that sort of bothered us (my partner and I) was when the owners had guests/friends over for a couple days.....not a huge problem but really this resort isn't huge and we didn't really expect to have new faces popping up. By far though the lack of privacy and space to ourselves was the larger problem.
I've read the previous posts. I don't know about how tips are shared and what the wages are but I would hope that given the high quality of the facility, the professionalism of the hired staff and the high rental cost of Orquidea that staff would be compensated at a far higher level than is customary for Nicaragua. Maybe asking the owners in advance of a stay would alleviate any concerns? Enough said.
All in all I liked the place, food was good, enjoyed the day trips etc just would have preferred more privacy.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicaProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Orquidea is an unusual and wonderful place to spend a tranquil vacation, in low-key luxury, surrounded by stunning natural beauty. Photos do not do justice to the hillside setting, from every point of which you stare at beautiful flowers, the ocean and nearby hills. Our room was very spacious, airy (and air conditioned when needed), thoughtfully arranged, and managed to feel very private while also having great views. Robert and Joanne are wonderful, sensitive hosts, and the staff is always eager to help. The food was very good and often tailored to the tastes and preferences of the guests. The beach -- Playa Yankee -- is probably about a kilometre long, populated only by the occasional surfer and a few fishermen on the rocks that frame the endings of the beach. The ocean was lovely for swimming -- and just playing. the beach is about a 10-12 minute downhill walk from Orquidea to the beach; and it's easy to arrange to be picked up if you choose not to hike back up after swimming.

Orquidea is a bit remote -- a half hour down a bumpy dirt road from San Juan del Sur -- and if your preferences run to bar-hopping every night, or hanging out in large crowds, this is probably not the place for you. But if you want to relax, read, watch sunsets from the infinity pool, go to the beach one or two times a day, this place is perfect. The hosts can (and do ) easily arrange other activities -- like trips into town or renting a boat to go fishing or beach-hopping. It's also not far from more "touristy" locations like Granada and Ometepe, which can easily be included in the same trip.

Overall, we consider Orquidea a "find" that we have already begun to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maplesyrupBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Yankee
0.8 mi away
Costa Dulce
Costa Dulce
#4 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
197 reviews
7.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#7 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
247 reviews
11.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#24 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
330 reviews
9.8 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
143 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#12 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orquidea del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orquidea del Sur

Address: km 12 Ostinol Road, Playa Yankee | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Yankee, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Yankee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Yankee
Price Range: $150 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hola and welcome to Orquidea del Sur, your private villa south of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Overlooking the renowned surf break at Playa Yankee, Orquidea del Sur commands a 180 degree view of the Pacific Ocean that is every bit as breathtaking as you would hope. We promise. With over 8000 square feet of living space, spectacular gardens, and two award winning swimming pools, the villa has everything you expect from a luxury vacation rental. The manicured gardens are filled with flowers, visited by all sorts of tropical birds including parakeets and toucans, and even monkeys stop by. Prepare your meals under cathedral ceilings in the fully appointed gourmet kitchen and enjoy them in one of several dining areas throughout the property. One of our favourite spots is on the patio overlooking the pool at sunset. After the sun goes down, you can retire to the house for a game of pool or simply relax with one of the books from the library. Each of the three bedrooms has a spectacular ocean view and large ensuite bathroom. With its own living area and balcony, you may never want to leave the 1000 square foot master bedroom or its large soaker bathtub. Should you require extra space, there are also 4 apartments available at a small additional cost. Sorry, the apartments can only be rented in conjunction with the main house and are not available for separate rental. Whatever you decide to do with your time here, you'll be doing it in a truly one of a kind setting. Orquidea del Sur has been a labour of love for us and we look forward to sharing it with you, our guests. Enjoy. Robert and Joanne - Owners ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orquidea Del Sur Hotel Playa Yankee
Orquidea Del Sur Nicaragua/Playa Yankee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing