We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfied......Once Again”

Harry's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Satisfied......Once Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We visited Harry's on Easter Monday....as expected it was very busy, but we were given a table and seated very quickly....in fact every happened very quickly, the order, the drinks and the food.

Being a table full of fish lovers, we were certainly not disappointed. I had the special of Salt and Chilli Squid....It was delicious and very well cooked. For mains I had the fish and chips with seaweed mayo and mushy peas....It too was lovely and could not be faulted. Hubby had the Gurnard which he also enjoyed and our friends had the brill and prawns. For dessert I had the brownie with icecream and again was very nice.

Staff were all very attentive and checked back a few times to see if we were ok for everything.

Look forward to our next trip to Donegal, when we will be able to return!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruthreid26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysDonal, Manager at Harry's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear RuthReid26,

You came to the right place for fish! We only use what comes off the Greencastle boats and attend every auction in Greencastle as the boats land. This writes our menus! We have fish lovers coming from all over to sample the latest catch!

Look forward to seeing you again next time you are over in our direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    61
    26
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
donegal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“sorry to say we were very disapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had an early Valentines lunch in harrys on Wednesday as the 14th is my birthday we like to celebrate valentines seperatly, so we thought we would treat ourselves to a lovely lunch at Harrys as we had been before and love it.
We ordered our food from the lunch menu and looked forward to our food, 30 mins later our starter came out, I had the mushrooms which were very small but were tasty, my partner had the fish cakes which were very dry and maybe needed more sauce. We then had to wait another 25 mins for our main, these came out and were luke warm, but as we were hungry we ate them. We ordered deserts and waited and waited another 20 mins, i had to pick up my children at 3pm so we had to leave without dessert. We arrived at 1.30pm the restaurant was virtually empty so couldnt understand why such a wait. We complained to the waitress but was just sold "oh sorry" . I wouldnt mind but its not a cheap restaurant so you expect service that represents the prices, and we had been before and were very, very happy, but im sorry to say we will never be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank joeby808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysDonal, Manager at Harry's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Joeby808

Firstly, I am happy you had a very good experience in Harry's prior to this.
Reading through your most recent experience is not so good. Frankly we wouldn't last another week as a restaurant if this was the experience of every customer so my apologies in this instance. At no time should starters take this long, nor should the wait between courses ever be so long. You would be very welcome to email us on info@harrys.ie and we can discuss this further, but I am happy to report this is not an instance we would present to anyone again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Imagination and Cooking skills”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The menu was 1 page - which is not so bad if all the items are edible ! All we could be tempted to order was chicken wings and seafood selection for starter. 4 pieces of soggy chicken wings on broccoli hollandaise ! Seafood selection comprised of stale overcooked octopus salad | more potato and little fish/cod cake | some kind of other stuffed coated with tasteless pink sauce - the whole thing returned and was thankfully taken off the bill ! Main Course - small steak cooked lovely and tasted good on ofcourse broccoli hollandaise | Grilled sole ( probably white sole ) - taste was good but overcooked & again on brocolli hollandaise ! | Side orders - miniature sauce pan with skin on spud - Over All Very Dissapointed and will not be returning in a hurry !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah o O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysDonal, Manager at Harry's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Sarah o O,

Thanks for visiting our restaurant and Sorry it wasn't to your taste on this occaision. I am glad the service has picked up on your views on the occaision of your visit and tried to rectify your starter experience. Clearly sprouting broccoli from our walled garden is in-season at this time and when things are in-season they do feature prominently on the menu, it's one of our favourite veg and one less imported vegetable.
Sole will either have been Dover Sole, Megrim or Lemon Sole, but we would always state which fish is is on our menu and that would depend on what was landed in the most recent auction before your visit. Our fish cooking is usually exemplary and has won us a large following of customers, so apologies if yours was over cooked on this occaision.
Steak sizes are always cut larger than is advertised on our menus, but we are glad you enjoyed this dish. I'd really like you to try us again and you are welcome to email us on info@harrys.ie to initiate a return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Donegal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yet again "top notch"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stopped in for lunch today and food was amazing. The waiter recommended the Gurnard which I probably would have been to scared to order but he was right, amazing!! I'll def be ordering that again. A menu with loads of nice fish options (and the rest) all locally sourced and served in a nice relaxed friendly environment. Hopefully I'll be here again soon!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferR1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysDonal, Manager at Harry's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear JenniferR1982,

We love Gurnard & glad you did too! We were the first restaurant to champion this fish after the Greencastle fishermen asked us around 5/6 years ago to help them promoted it. Before this it was used as lobster bait only! Happy to say that experiment has turned out to be a huge success and gurnard is one of our best selling fish and totally in keeping with our local philosophy!

Thanks for your lovely review, there is always something tasty on the menu & we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine dining with exquisite customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Harry's Bar & Restaurant was recommended by our host at Groaty's B&B & we were extremely thankful that it was.
Upon arrival we were escorted to our seats and recommended a craft irish cider, this is now our favourite cider. Staff were efficient, friendly & prompt. Special mention must go to the Scottish waiter (David, I think) as he was the most affable and cheery waiter we have ever encountered. The meals were beyond expectations and the value was sensational. This is one of those places that you know really cares about what they are doing. From the local produce to the beautiful atmosphere, this is one of the best restaurants I have ever been to in the world. I cannot fault anything about this experience. I wish that I was staying in the area longer to enjoy another fabulous meal at this place.
Thanks to all the staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blair_n_Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysDonal, Manager at Harry's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Ok Blair_n_Lisa,

This MIT be our favourite ever Tripadvisor review!! Thank you for every mention of the food, atmosphere, cider and service! The Stonewell Cider is a big hit around here and glad we converted you. If ever you are in is part of the world again we would love to spoil you again, do make sure you let us know. Meanwhile, thank you & happy to say David got a good laugh from you thinking he was Scottish! He's from the city of Derry beside us here!

Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Buncrana, County Donegal
 

Been to Harry's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing