We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, good food”

Harry's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Good value, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Had an early dinner here on sunday, heard good things about Harrys and did not disappoint. Roast dinners and desserts were excellent and very good value. One gripe would be that we were served complimentary bread that was completely stale, pity as the butter that came with it was lovely. Service was efficient and very friendly, we will definitely be back again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lacatush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    61
    26
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“As Good As It Gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Mix local produce with a skilled chef - what do you get - Harrys

This venue has gone through many changes and owners and I had not eatten here for some time, wont be leaving it as long till Im back.

Now it did get off to a bad start - we had to change a starter and a main as the produce was available or the full choice wasnt couldnt be offered - but then thats what you get when your offering your customers fresh produce!

I would highly recommend the fish plate starter, the trio of lamb and trio of fish for the main and for afters the mousecake and icecream

The wine list is limited but good wines.

You can get your usual roasts or turkey/ham if that floats your boat but seriously you cant visit a restaurant like this and not be tempted to experiement the good was that good

A starter and main would set back about £20/25.

The quality of the food is excellent value for the price. And the staff are also very professional

All-in-All a definate YES

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh and local food - By far some of the best in Ireland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Dines at Harrys with my family on Saturday past and were blown away with the quality of the food and service. Make sure you have the cottage pie to start and then let your taste buds wander through the great fish and steaks. Really encouraging to see someone trying to source produce from their own region. Buying directly from the fish co-op is a great idea too. Who else could offer a Halibut main course for €20?

One waiter had been sticking his tongue out at my daughter all night which we only found out about at the end of the meal. This was a great way of engaging my 6 year old throughout the meal. Well done to all at Harrys!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysDonal, Manager at Harry's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Thanks a million for a great review GoBelfast
Delighted you took the time to visit & thrilled to see you enjoyed Harrys so much. We are all about great local food, but also in a relaxed environment for the whole family, young & old.
Would be delighted to see you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyshannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Will definitely return when in that neck of the woods again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Service and Staff - excellent - friendly and efficient. Food was delicious and the presentation was excellent. The price was ideal and that is another reason we returned for the third time in one week when we were staying in Aileach View in Burt - a lovely house to stay with a family.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inishowen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysDonal, Manager at Harry's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Delighted with your review. Everyone here gets a great lift to see people really appreciating the quality of our local food, good value & good service. Many thanks for visiting & taking time to post such a great review. Hope to see you soon in Inishowen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramelton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A night out to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We have visited this restaurant many times but the food and service on Monday was the best ever! We decided to dine from the main menu having experienced the Early Bird Menu on previous visits, and we were not disappointed both in terms of quality and overall price.The organic Saddleback Pork was outstanding as was the Serloin steak. Words cannot possibly describe the flavour of both dishes It is easy to see why this restaurant has won several awards as it not only sources the raw ingredients locally but takes great pride in how the food is presented to the customer. The front of house staff were very professional despite being extremely busy. Thanks to everyone for a great night out!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryrRamelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysDonal, Manager at Harry's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thanks Harry! Even monday nights have been busy this year which has been great. Even better than the food still matches our high expectations when it is busy!
The Organic Saddleback pork plate is outstanding, just one of the many great local ingredients we have discovered here in Inishowen. Thanks again for great review & for bringing people our way. Its much appreciated & so important for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Buncrana, County Donegal
 

Been to Harry's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing