We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time Around”
Review of Frontier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Frontier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bridgend
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd Time Around”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last year and had a great time, and promised I would be back, and guess what it was even better this time, there is a new chef and the food was excellent, the other half had a steak which he said melted in his mouth. The staff recognized us and made us feel like family. Looking forward to my next trip already.

Room Tip: A double room is always a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ela3410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
16
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stopped off one Sunday fir a bite to eat thought it was a good idea as we had 2 children with us and there seemed be a play area at the rear. More like a death death trap loose flooring etc, as for the food it was terrible i had chicken g which were burnt silly and my friend had a black n white dish which was just tasted like cream. Luckily the children had potatoe and veg which was fine. was not impressed.Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abc123400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontier H, Owner at Frontier Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I was very disappointed to read the review dated 3 Sept. the comments made on my hotel which did not show the hotel in a good light. Firstly I would apologise for your bad experience at The Frontier Hotel, however the dish in question has not been on our restaurant fare for the past three months. I feel that the problem should have been raised to the staff at the time of service, so that it could have been dealt with rather than three months later. As we at The Frontier Hotel strive for perfection and customer satisfaction. I also noticed that our accommodation / facilities were graded although there was no overnight stay. Hopefully this puts it into prospective and we look forward to offering our customers a warm welcome to The Frontier Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bridgend hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

i stayed with my family last friday & saturday night last and i must say the hospitality i received was outstanding. we were met by a wee lady called karen ( later i discovered she was the proprietor of the establishment ) , she checked us all in and proceeded to inform us of dining times and that they were running a hula hula cocktail night on the saturday. we ate in the main bar that evening and the following evening and i must say the food was excellent. the rooms were comfy and cosy and may i add very clean ! spotless to be exact. the cocktail night was brilliant with a various selection of cocktails on the menu and the atmosphere was brilliant . i must say the staff were very attentive and courteous and i am definitely coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vitaraboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Derry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2011

8 of us spent a night at the frontier hotel for a wedding located in the area and were very impressed. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, comfortable and well looked after. The restaurant/ bar had a brilliant atmosphere and the food was fantastic. Overall the hotel is excellent value for money, we would recommend it to anyone and will definately will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateCoDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Spent two nights at the frontier hotel , a great family run buisness,so helpful and friendly stayed at the weekend so there was a live band and a great bit of crac with the locals.rooms were lovely and the staff made it feel like home from home.will be back soon

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frances12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchill. Co Donegal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have travelled extensively over the years. This is a great little hotel. We had a quality meal at an unbelievably low cost. The service was first class and the staff had that sparkle that you only get from people happy at thier work. Our room had very comfortable beds. I woke up after the best night sleep i had had for ages. This hotel is very well located for Donegal, Derry, and the inishowen area. Too many little towns and beaches to list here, all within easy reach of the hotel by car.
Great little play area for kids too, in this hotel.
I really like this hotel and will use it again.
Oh! i nearly forgot the perfectly poured pint of Guiness best ever worth the stay alone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gianni248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and were very impressed. The room was very clean, with a great shower. Breakfast was great and the staff lovely, the bar had live music on the saturday night which was fantastic. The staff were really pleasant and very helpful, we only paid 70 euro per night including breakfast (about £60.00 stg) for the room with breakfast and free wireless WIFI . I would strongly recommend this hotel.

The hotel is situated on the main Derry/Buncrana, which made it very handy to travel around the Inishowen Pensinsula and to the Maiden City.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ela3410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
2.0 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
656 reviews
14.0 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,110 reviews
6.8 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
294 reviews
13.3 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Hotel

Property: Frontier Hotel
Address: Bonemaine, Bridgend, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frontier Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frontier Hotel is situated in Bridgend, Co.Donegal and nestles on the edges of the Inishowen peninsula. Renowned for our 3 star accomadation, fine dining and friendly staff we also offer live entertainment every weekend. The frontier hotel also has a function room for those wishing to celebrate birthdays, First Holy Communion, Comfirmation, anniversaries and much more.With a warm welcome guaranteed and a great service provided, The Frontier Hotel is well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Frontier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing