We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT RECOMMENDED”
Review of Kwa Nokeng Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sherwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kwa Nokeng Lodge
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This lodge is absolutely disgusting. It is owned by a local family but it seems to me that the staff own it. They are unfriendly, lazy and unaccommodating. We stayed there for 3 nights as we had car problems. We had no choice but to eat there and were served the same "badly cooked" beef and chicken stew every night. The chalets are nice and comfortable but DSTV was not working on the one nights we stayed. The only person who knew how to fix it was the maintenance man who was not there as he had taken guests on a Game Drive. WHAT DOES A MAINTENANCE MAN KNOW ABOUT GAME VIEWING. The ablution blocks were so dirty I had to shower with my shoes on, the taps were loose and broken and the toilets were not cleaned for 3 days while I was there. There were dead insects and spiders' webs everywhere. The buildings are not maintained and looked like they had not been painted in years.
The staff entertain themselves in the bar area and while guests are trying to have a conversation their loud voices drown out any conversation. The louder you talk the louder they get. There is no manager and no supervision whatsovever and the staff do as they please and make no effort whatsoever to please their guests. They sit in a the bar area and watch their "soccer and soapies" on the TV and have no regard whatsoever for the guests. Don't run a tab at the bar because they cheat and add on drinks you did not have and if they come and take a drinks order at your table you are lucky. We had to go to the bar counter to order our drinks. There was no ice and the drinks were warm. The trucks are noisy at night and keep one awake. On the whole the lodge is conveniently situated and the chalets and grounds are quite nice but the general "I don't care" attitude by the staff is unacceptable and the food is quite disgusting for the price. I will never stay there again. I would rather travel for another hour to Palapye in Botswana or Lephalele in SA and be treated with respect as I am a paying guest. The owners should really catch a wake-up and employ a manager to control things. The venue is not bad and they can really make this place exceptional with the right management. The place is overpriced for what you get. I do not recommend this lodge to anyone crossing the border. This is the first impression of Botswana for tourists coming from all over the world and its definitely not a good one.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all. Find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 68 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

Just on the border, location is all this place has to offer.

We camped here, and could hear the trucks at the border all day and night - the border is just 100mtrs away.

The campsite has all the amenities, electricity, water, ablutions, restaurant and swimming pool. You get what you pay for, so don't expect 5-star cleanliness and service. Everything is run-down which is a shame, because with just a little TLC it could be a great place. Just cleaning and fixing what needs fixing. As it is, it is a useful stopover, nothing more.

Room Tip: don't take a tent, they're filthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mischa_zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Camped at Kwa Nokeng Lodge on the way back to South Africa.
As it's very close to the border crossing, you get to the border nice and fresh and ready to face the perils of an African border crossing. (Our border crossing through Martins Drift turned out to be the easiest one we have ever done).
The camping is basic. There are no dedicated sites, and it's quite small. There was a couple of overlander trucks which took up a lot of room.
The amenities were clean and adequate.
Camp ground is next to the road, so you do hear some truck noise at night, but no problem after a big day on the road.
Had breakfast at the restaurant which was very nice.
Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As this Lodge is right on the border it makes sense to stop there as you don't know how long it will take you to get through the border. The infrastructure of the Lodge is good but little things like the deck and furniture weren't clean and the taps in the bathroom were loose kind of disappointed. It has a well stocked bar but the food was very disappointing. Then the noise of the trucks going by till very late made sleep very difficult. But the beds were comfortable, the water was hot and the room was secure. But the kicker in this one was the reception staff. They didn't have a clue about what they were doing. Getting an invoice was completely impossible and guests were working out their own bills. Three women standing around looking completely lost!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed there 5 times , once voluntarily , the other times forced to as no other place in Martins Drift ...

If you want to get absolutely no value for money , to avoid any form of luxury , to eat the same tough bony stew dinner on every visit , to have some very large rats running over you in your luxury priced chalet or tents , if u want the noise of 20 trucks revving in early hours of morning , rude unfriendly arrogant lazy unwelcoming staff ..who even take over the crappy bar tv watching their own personal preference , faulty Aircon and faulty hot water geysers, ...if u want rough accommodation with no hint of any luxury at ' luxury ' prices , with non existent owners / management , ..if u want to be bored out of your mind , no cable ( Dstv ) tv , no wi fi , surrounded by concentration camp style fencing , to be double charged at the nearby fuel station on your way out ( owned by the lodge ) , then by all means pls pay this lodge a visit ... :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chabwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

After a long drive we deceided to splash out on a chalet instead of camping. The Chalet was a little expensive but nowhere near as pricey as Zim. Rooms were clean and comfortable and all self catering facilities and kitchenware were present and clean. We had the buffet which was simple but wholesome. The lodge had a nice feel about and staff were happy. Recommended overnight stop with an array of accommodation options.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RENSHAWWELSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Comfortable stop over in Botswana. Easy days drive from Jhb and Northern Botswana. Rooms basic but comfortable with airconditioning. Very pleasant deck area overlooking Limpopo river for sundowners.
Food very basic but adequate with little selection on buffet and quite expensive. Next time we'll make the effort and self cater.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kwa Nokeng Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwa Nokeng Lodge

Address: Martins Drift Border Post, Sherwood, Botswana
Location: Botswana > Central District > Sherwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Sherwood
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Kwa Nokeng Lodge Botswana/Sherwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing