We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location; Average Resort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harihareshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MTDC Beach Resort Harihareshwar
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Well, for the starters, Harihareshwar is around 200 kms from Mumbai so wanted to take a weekend break there. As compared to locations like Kashid, Ganpatiphule etc Harihareshwar is still uncommercialized. The drive from Diveagar to Harihareshwar is awesome

Checked into the MTDC hotel around 12 noon and found the resort quite average. The rooms were clean (We booked 2 Special rooms Non A/C@2600 per room) but looked quite old with basics only (bed, old Tv etc); The location of the resort is awesome overlooking a black sand beach and you feel id u are staying in a jungle property. But the property is not well maintained with pebble entrance road, dry leaves etc. The restaurant is run by a private caterer and is strictly ok. Lot of times the items in the menu were not available (basics like ice cream, biscuits etc were not there). The restrarant has no sitting area just two shady places with cane roofs overlooking the beach ( The location is good for eating if u dont mind being looked upon by lots of hungry crows, hens and dogs; They pounce on ur plate as soon as u get up); At night you need to order food 1 hour in advance and is mostly cold since the restaurant is far from the rooms

In short, do not expect very much from the resort. Enjoy the tranquility and peace of the location and carry good amount of basic food items

Room Tip: Book cottages as they looked a lot better from the inside
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank devbhushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for MTDC Beach Resort Harihareshwar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 152 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

We left Mumbai at around 7 and reached around 2. The road was not that good, specially the last few km. Anyways here's my actual experience with the resort.

After reaching we checked in our rooms, we had booked 2 deluxe most expensive rooms available. We went for lunch at their restaurant and after returning found that a snake has entered the light box and the electricity is gone. We waited for an hour outside our rooms for electricity to return but it didn't. Finally after 3 hours of waiting it returned but the AC's were short circuited in our rooms and they told they won't be able to repair it right now. They gave us 1 room to get fresh and as we entered the rooms toilet there were about 100 dead ants and mosquitos lying there.

Now they didn't had any more rooms to give us so we had to leave. Took a letter from the manager of the hotel about refund and submitted it next day to their Mumbai office. Till date we haven't received the refund. I have visited their office nearly 6 times and called up atleast 20 times but I get only one reply "ho jayega". I don't know I wil get a refund or not but one thing is sure I am never going in any MTDC hotels.

Also I was traveling with my wife and my 67 years parents hoping to give them a good weekend and this people just messed it up very badly. I will request all please never go to any of MTDC hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank keyur_foryou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This property has an amazing location and a huge dedicated beach. The beach also has options for doing water scooter and motorboat rides. Restaurant has huts which directly overlook the beach and on lucky days one can see dolphins jump while sipping beer in the restaurant.

We found the food from the restaurant to be good. The local fish pomfrets (called paaplet) preparations are great. There are limited options for breakfast and meals and one needs to give them the order in advance.

The deluxe cottage rooms are the best since they have the best location and views. The hill which has the cottages overlooks the sea and is covered with pine trees.

This is not yet a very commercialized place and is relatively isolated from the crowds. There is a lot of space for kids to play around and prepare sand castles. The propertly has ample parking and a kids play area with swings.

Room Tip: Select the deluxe cottage rooms. Choose the rooms which are far away from the road that goes to the...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paresh_peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The resort needs renovation. The room are spacious but arent in the best of conditions. there are frequent power cuts.
even though the resort is located on the beach,they havent made use of the location.
the restaurant cant be depended upon.the food is over priced fr the quality.it is advisable to carry some snacks and water along in case you reach when the restaurant is shut. you would be suprised to note that they dont serve malwani or konkani food and there is hardly any fish..
the approach road isnt the best either.

they can improve a lot on the quality of food and add some activities as the beach is lying unused and littered...

Room Tip: ranade brothers serve the most awesome fish thali...its fresh and home cooked....on the way to divea...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank koolraeesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The MTDC resort at Harihareshwar is located about 200 Kms from Mumbai and has got a great advantage , its location! It is situated next to a very serene and beautiful beach and the residents of this resort have got private access to it .We were two families and stayed in two deluxe tents . There are 5 deluxe tents with A/C and a private sit outs and a clear uninterrupted view of the sea/beach. The rooms are slightly in dilapidated condition but were very clean with clean sheets , towels etc . They had cane/jute curtains which meant hardly any privacy ( u can see through very easily through them!!!).The private sit out is an excellent place to enjoy breezy evenings with some beer .The water is absolutely clean and even though the sand is clean and fine , the down part is that its almost black and muddy . We could hardly see any persons enjoying themselves at the beach as you would expect at a beach . However the good part is that they have water sports there at reasonable rates , water scooter which is just too good at Rs 100 per person and a boat ride at Rs 100 per person . Both were worth the money and all of us really enjoyed the thrill of riding on a water scooter on the waves ! They had life jackets for the adults but no special lifejackets for the children ( adult lifejackets for kids too).They have a single restaurant , named Grasshopper . The sitting area is basically two shaded areas with a very good view of the sea and has plastic chairs . They seem to be understaffed on weekends . They have wide choice of food . The taste was okay ( nothing great to speak about) . The service was good , however they need to have more staff on the crowded weekends as well as improve the quality of the chairs and tables.They have their own poultry farm also and serve at the rooms at a nominal charge of rs 25.Even though the resort is a government property , the staff were caring and helpful.The place is quite green , with lots of tress next to the tents.Evenings/ nights specially become very quiet and deserted. There is a small kids play area with slides , see saws and swings . There is a famous Shiva temple in the town . We went there around 9 pm and were lucky to attend the aarti .There are some small shops and eateries on the way to the temple , selling everything from aam papad to toys .There is ample scope for improvement here but being a government property , its still a great deal . Do not go there with high expectations ( of 5 star amenities ) and you will be pleasantly surprised .

Room Tip: Book one of the 5 a/c deluxe tents for a terrific view of the sea .
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Abhishek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

As usual MTDC gets the privilege of the best property at any locations. The property is just next to the beach with a private beach access and around a km pristine beach with white sand and rocky beach. We stayed in the Delux tents which is just next to the beach with a very good view. It was very pleasant during the evenings.Sitting on Private sitout area and chilling was an awesome experience. Best part about the property was although being a govt. property, the staffs were very nice and co-operative. my special thnx to the incharge of the property Mr. Karanjee. Food served by grassopher inn was really good and we enjoyed all our meals. My son is 1 yr 6 months old, even he did not have any issue in having the food served by the inn (as per our requirement). The dining area was just next to the beach with a very good view and dining there was another experience by itself. The overall experience was really great.

Room Tip: Delux tents to be chosen as the view of the sea from the rooms are best. also the restaurant is near...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank soumya p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Just like every other MTDC resort, this one also has a Location advantage; it is situated right next to the sea with beautiful views and lush green surroundings.
We stayed in Tent House and it was a good experience. Clean Bed-Sheets, Bed and Toilets.
OK experience for a person with minimum expectations. The overall property is very good; however Food Quality, taste and variety in the Restaurant can be improved. Slightly expensive food items. The Restaurant sitting place is just too good (only location wise as there were just plastic chairs and a Table kept)
Even though the experience was satisfactory, I still feel that the property is underutilized and could be maintained better.

Room Tip: Please select a deluxe tent with a SEA view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank aap006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harihareshwar
15.6 mi away
Lotus Beach Resort
Lotus Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Murud
126 reviews
21.9 mi away
Exotic Home Stay
Exotic Home Stay
#3 of 8 in Dapoli
209 reviews
9.3 mi away
Whistling Waves Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Emerald
Comfort Inn Emerald
#1 of 8 in Dapoli
107 reviews
13.1 mi away
Exotica Beach Resort - Dive Agar
0.0 mi away
Tendulkar Beach Resort
Tendulkar Beach Resort
#19 of 25 in Diveagar
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Beach Resort Harihareshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Beach Resort Harihareshwar

Address: At Post Harihareshwar, Harihareshwar 410110, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Harihareshwar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Harihareshwar
Price Range: $20 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Mtdc Beach Resort Harihareshwar Hotel Harihareshwar
MTDC Beach Resort Harihareshwar Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing