We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little thought and the meal would be excellant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Mill

The Old Mill
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“a little thought and the meal would be excellant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The pub as you went in was lovely so first impressions were very good.The staff were very friendly and when the starters of tomato soup and home made pate came they both were excellent.In fact my husband said it was one of the best pates he had had for a long time.things at that point were looking very good.Unfortunately from the time we sat down until the time we got our main course was one hour and ten minutes.One of the staff did come up and say there was a problem with the bell from the kitchen.When the meal arrived it was one of the best sunday lunches we have had,the only thing that was wrong was.............the plates were stone cold.......why oh why would you want to cook something and put it straight on to something cold.Will we be returning ....yes but will be requesting our food on HOT plates this time

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank merilyn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldmillnewton, Manager at The Old Mill, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We are sorry that you had an unsatisfactory experience. This was an unusual occurrence and was due to a problem with our service lift. The problem has now been solved and this situation should not reoccur. Our kitchen staff are now making sure that food always arrives at the table on hot plates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had lovely lunch yesterday, sat out in the garden which is a delight & the hanging baskets are gorgeous. Beer well kept & service very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracie345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Weekend Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just spent the weekend here and had a very good expreriance. Its a small free house with 5 rooms we were in room two on the top floor. Clean and tidy with everthing you need for a few nights stop. Bed was comfy too! The Pub itself very nice traditional Pub single bar with a very helpful and pleasent staff. Black Sheep bitter was in fine form. Breakfast was very good as was our Evening meal on the Saturday and Sunday Roast was very good too. Very well priced and good value we are a happy couple of customers!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food & good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went with relatives, 6 of us in all. A varied Oder but everything came reasonably quickly and all of the food was excellently prepared & good very tasty. Normally a couple of good real ales on tap too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MK46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great pub grub and nice atmosphere.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a local (in nearby village) that I have visited on number of occasions and eaten on rare occasions because its normally "just and a walk and beer" for us... but this time we decided to eat.
As always the service is friendy and warm, good locals bar and you can eat in their if you want but we choose to sit in restaurant area
I had the chicken/mushroom sauce very pleasant and wife had beef and ale pie off the specials board - both under a £10 - good service even though the restaurant was "almost full" - have to say I now wish I had the fish and chips (saw them on other tables and they looked wonderful! :-) ) nonetheless very happy with quality and price of food and table service - clearly some waitress training going on but done with good overseeing from landlord who also came back to table to check on our food.
Recommended for a good value pub food and warm welcome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fatherofthechapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Mill also viewed

Turvey, Bedfordshire
Turvey, Bedfordshire
 
Clifton Reynes, Milton Keynes
Weston Underwood, Olney
 

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing