We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would go back”
Review of The Old Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Mill
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Just got back from a very enjoyable overnight stay in the Old Mill. Lovely room(3) twin beds. Up in the eaves so would not recommend if tall! Meals great. good basic pub food in the evening.and good selection at breakfast. Only one little criticism and that was the coffee at breakfast, cups were only half full and was not very warm, might help if had warm milk to top it up with. but gave fill up when asked. 5 star service and would go back again.

Room Tip: If tall do not request room 3 as has low beams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Norma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 61 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

Breakfast was fantastic,staff were brilliant, room was very comfortable, brilliant village location.

5 star break!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We are one of many couples who evidently took advantage of The Old Mill's Groupon offer, and we're glad we did - this was one of the nicest 'personal' hotel stays we've ever experienced, and the staff were still very friendly despite having to cope with all the hordes of Groupon cheapskates !

Can't fault the food - we had an excellent value evening meal, and the breakfast was superb too.

If we had to point out the one niggle, it would be the passage from the bar to the stairs up to the rooms takes you past the pub toilets which were not smelling at their best !

But the room was lovely, with great attention to detail throughout including the excellently-written visitors manual full of useful information about the hotel. And despite the weather (it rained heavily the whole time we were there) we could see the village was truly lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillAndRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed here on a Groupon voucher and were very pleased. Reception was courteous and attentive, the room was spacious and well-equipped, bathroom very pleasant. Nice touches: fresh milk in the mini-fridge, flat screen TV, confortable bed. Village is quiet and picturesque, thatched cottages. Beware: room door (#2) does not open wide enough and tall folk could scrape their head. Niggles: no carpet on the stairs making them noisy, dust on the TV stand and some light bulbs had blown - all easily solved.

Room Tip: see my note about room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJPinBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed for one night, Rooms recently refurbished and very pleasant.
No food available when we arrived told we could have crisps, so had to drive to the nearest town for something to eat, it was at about 2.45 but it meant that we ate and drank somewhere else, when a sandwich would could have been offered.
Had an evening meal, which was pub quality ok but nothing special.
Breakfast was very good.
Staff very pleasant and room very nice, let down on lunch and evening meal, so food really

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverleyb276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I booked this via the Groupon deal for the hotel - 1night stay for 2 B&B £29 which was a great price!

Myself and my partner stayed here Friday 17th Feb 2012...the village itself is very quiet with The Old Mill being the main attraction. Upon arrival we walked in to a very busy country pub and were wondering if we were in the right place.. after standing at the bar for service we were shown our room..and what a room it was. It was clear the hotel had just had a refurb as everything was immaculate a very spacious room with a large double bed and a sofa with a flat screen tv (showing all free view channels) and a very modern en-suite. The room has tea & coffee facilities and a small fridge with complementary chocolates, champagne, milk and bottled water - nice touch!

We had dinner booked for 8 and again the bar and restaurant were equally as nice as the room, the service throughout dinner was great the food was lovely and very large portions only fault not a huge selection but quality over quantity was apparent.

Although the hotel so far was superb it did have its fault - the noise , this you expect in a small hotel but we could actually hear the conversations taking place at the bar below..word for word so my advice would be to ask for a room on the higher floors

But don’t let that stop you booking again full English for breakfast was fantastic and we really did enjoy our stay

Room Tip: higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roisinmcgreevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My partner and I received a warm welcome. Staff were very polite and friendly. We enjoyed an evening meal and breakfast at the hotel. Good quality food and excellent service. The bedroom was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The building was packed with character and felt very homely with a log fire and lots of charm.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray_faye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill

Address: Clifton Road, Newton Blossomville MK43 8AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Newton Blossomville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Blossomville
Price Range: $109 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country pub in the charming village of Newton Blossomville, between Bedford and Milton Keynes, only 10 minutes from M1. Rooms all have en-suite facilities; comfortable beds; flat-screen TV; kettle and mini-fridge with fresh milk. Free Wifi throughout premises. The Old Mill has a traditional bar and restaurant serving real ales and home-made food. Lovely garden. Ample parking in Clifton Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Newton Blossomville
The Old Mill Newton Blossomville, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing