We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views, great food and tranquility.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finca el Tossal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finca el Tossal
Ranked #1 of 3 Bolulla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Navenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Amazing views, great food and tranquility.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We had a thoroughly enjoyable 6 days. Our single complaint is that there is not any proper hanging space, just 4 hooks behind the door. That aside, this was a beautiful place to stay. The location is stunning, and although it is a little tricky to locate first time it's OK after that but the lcoal roads demand concentration at night. The rooms are wonderfully decorated and, hanging space aside, very spacious but the bathrooms are slightly on the small side. The pool area is fantastic, as is the public terrace with stunning views and the atmospheric dining room. Breakfast was really good with great coffee! That said, fresh orange juice would have made it perfect. Dinner is provided 5 nights a week and was very good indeed. Drinks are 'bought' on a trust system and are always available. You simply pay the tab at the end of your stay. Sonia and Thorsten have created a special place to stay and we would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the Costa Blanca for which Finca el Tossal is ideally situated.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar, apart from the 'cottage' which is smaller but has a small kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    34
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
47
124
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hathersage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

We've just returned from a couple of fantastic days at the Finca el Tossal and can highly recommend staying there for as long as your holiday allows.

The place was really accessible from Alicante airport and easy to find from the directions we were sent when we booked but feels a world away from the ‘madding crowds’ of the Costa Blanca. We got a lovely welcome from Thorsten who gave us fantastic recommendation for an amazing drive through the high mountain roads, through untouched, authentic villages and down to the coast.

The Finca is beautifully built, tranquil and set amid a dramatic landscape of pines and orange trees. All the rooms have fantastic views all the way down to the coast. Our room was comfortable and stylish with a sitting room and balcony to watch the sun go down. We loved the pool and the gardens and the fact that we could be as sociable or as private as we liked – an honesty bar tops it off so you can help yourself to drinks and take them to the pool, the garden or to your room.

Breakfast is an absolute treat. Hot bread from the oven with a great selection of meats and cheeses, yoghurt and fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice that you can imagine has only just been picked from the trees below and good strong coffee made individually to your liking by Thorsten (whose time in Italy means that the coffee is made with freshly ground beans and is as good as any we’ve ever had!).

We highly recommend eating in when the Finca is offering dinner in the evening. Lots of locally sourced and quality ingredients for a very reasonable price, cooked perfectly and well presented – not fussy, just delicious.

We headed out to explore Altea (can recommend La Capella for lunch), to Denia (brilliant seafood at Le Mera just 2km outside Denia) and some walks to the completely undeveloped little bays near to La Grandella between Moraira and Xabia (Javea).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWurstlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed here for a week. Very nice accomodation: Breadthtaking panoramic views, large and clean rooms, nice facilities and very personal and sincerely friendly owners. Thank you, Thorsten and Sonia!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

One of the best Bed and Breakfast places we have been. Only seven rooms is a meditarranian ambiance house, hidden between orange and lemon trees at the foot of the hills. A quiet place to spend hours reading at the side of the pool. The ideal place to discouver the land behind the costa's and close enough to the sea to go and eat fish in a beach restaurent. Very friendly owners who speak Spanish, English and German who can advise you where to go for a hike in the mountains or a bikeride or a nice place to dine. Great breakfast! Thanks for a great week.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jannine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

We had our wedding at this incredible retreat. Words will never be complete in describing our experience - only that is changed our lives. Sonia and Thorsten have put their love and magic into the Finca and it showed. We had an intimate wedding of 10 people and it couldn't have been more perfect: the rooms, the views, the food, the energy, and the people made it the perfect spot for the most important day of our lives.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackandDalia103010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2010

First off the couple that owns Finca made us feel at home from the very beginning. This is the type of place for those who enjoy a community/family feel with the magic of the European countryside. Besides its beauty its completely unique. Our group took over the place, we each had a room and while they all had the same amenities they all had their own characteristics. This was the tenor of the place, attention to detail, built by the owners with care and happiness to share that with us. We really felt part of something, especially when they fed us endless European breakfast and indulged in the phenomenal dinner they prepared. All in all this is the type of place for the traveler who wants a real experience away from the typical cookie cutter hotel experience. And what a bargain for such a beautiful place.....Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zay54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

We had an incredible stay here and everything was perfect. Sophia and Torstan we're incredible hosts for the first wedding at the Finca el Tossal. All of the guests in the party really enjoyed the service and attention to every detail. The food was fantastic, rooms beautiful and very clean.

Make sure you have the directions from the hotel and not from Google or you'll be driving around the mountains for hours.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devinmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolulla
5.9 mi away
VIVOOD Landscape Hotels
VIVOOD Landscape Hotels
#1 of 1 in Benimantell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Abaco Altea
Hotel Abaco Altea
#1 of 8 in Altea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
21.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Sierra de Alicante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Alahuar Hotel
Alahuar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Benimaurell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
8.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
11.2 mi away
Hotel Swiss Moraira
Hotel Swiss Moraira
#1 of 4 in Moraira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca el Tossal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca el Tossal

Property: Finca el Tossal
Address: Ptda la Foya 5, 03518 Bolulla, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Bolulla
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bolulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca el Tossal 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our retreat Finca el Tossal, a picturesque retreat built in Italian style with breathtaking views over the valley, the mountains and the sea. All rooms are large (34m2) with bathroom, safe and fantastic views. On the outside, the retreat is surrounded with beautiful gardens, a large pool and many inviting corners, ideal for relaxing and rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Finca el Tossal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing