We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monkton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monkton Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Monkton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton
Level Contributor
137 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Above average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

I can only comment on the food as we have only been for a Sunday Lunch. The food was excellent and well above average. The bar and dining area were more than adequately furnished but the lounge area adjacent to the dining area looked extremely dated. The hotel is on a busy road and it does not look very welcoming from the outside. However, staff/owners were very friendly and welcoming.I am sure that they have every intention on making it even better.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    38
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
87
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Addicksforwver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

If it had not been for the ash cloud over the UK we would never have found this place - so every cloud does have a silver lining!!

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are assured personal attention from the proprietors and their staff. The rooms are all individual, nicely decorated and a very comfortable bed. The rooms at the back of the hotel overlook their extensive garden.

The hotel also accepts non residents so don't think that you have to be a resident to sample the wonderful food served in the restaurant. The hotel is well located for visiting the area with many places of interest and National Trust properties within reach.

The food is excellent with something to appeal to everyone. We are not generally burger eaters in restaurants but we were tempted by the Venison burgers which are sourced from a local farmer - they were delicious!! On the dessert side I had the Apple and Sultana Charlotte which is baked to order and again was delicious. These are just two dishes served from a very varied menu.

When it comes to breakfast, a full English breakfast is served or alternatively you can opt for the cured Salmon and scrambled eggs served on toast which is superb. An added bonus is that the scrambled egg is made with double cream.

They have a full selection at the bar including hand pulled ale. The ale is clear, tasty and it is obvious that the cellar is well kept. The wine selection is good and whilst it is not the cheapest wine that you will find in restaurants it is certainly the best value wine that I have had in restaurants. Many hotels and restaurants will charge you £12+ for a bottle of mediocre wine. The Monkton serves good quality wine from £16.50 a bottle.

This is certainly a hotel that we will stay at again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Addicksforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

We chose this hotel based entirely on such good reviews, and were so relieved to find it more than matched up - such a welcome, so comfortable and clean, friendly and lots of really good advice for our house-hunting. The bed was so comfortable my husband insisted we buy similar pillows to take home! Enjoyed the open fires and the fresh flowers and especially the food. Once we've moved to the area, we shall certainly be returning for meals. Very convenient location and unexpectedly quiet. Thank you Colin and Jenny for treating us like friends.

Jill & Neil

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Jill-Hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Broughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

I stayed at Monkton Court Hotel for two nights. Colin and Jenny are superb hosts who make you feel at home immediately. My room (7) had a four poster bed and in the bathroom ,a roll top bath. Very comfortable....both the bed and the bath. On the Wednesday night the hotel was quite quiet but every guest that I met had time to chat in front of the coal fires in the bar and the lounge area. The piece de resistance was the food in the restaurant. Just outstanding. Well cooked and well presented. As good as any restaurant that I have eaten in, thanks to the Hungarian chef. (not a sign of goulash anywhere though! not that I minded)
Hi speed internet access was free and was fast. It meant I could work in the evening effectively.
On the Thursday evening the hotel was busier and yet all the guests spoke to each other. Many were obviously previous guests and treated like friends by the staff.This hotel is really like a home from home and friendlier than anywhere I have stayed before. Once again the food was outstanding.
It is a shame that I did not have any chance to enjoy the grounds, but if I return to this area I would certainly stay at Monkton Court.It is the sort of hotel that I would be happy to take my wife for a relaxing weekend break.
Thank you Colin and Jenny for making my short break so enjoyable. Steve Watson,Derby.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotsman1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giddyhoniton, owner at Monkton Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2010
Thank you so much for your great review, we look forward to welcoming you again when you are passing this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.0 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Lakeview Manor
Lakeview Manor
#4 of 5 in Honiton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
8.9 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wellington Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkton Court Hotel

Property: Monkton Court Hotel
Address: A30 | Monkton near Honiton, Monkton EX14 9QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Monkton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monkton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkton Court Hotel, Honiton - Restaurant with rooms - bed and breakfast - fine dining gourmet meals - bar snacks - 3 acre family beer garden - alongside A30 - large car park - open 7 days a week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Monkton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing