We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and the personal touch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monkton Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Monkton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury and the personal touch”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at the hotel as I had a wedding in Honiton. It was luxurious and the couple running it couldn't do enough to help. I was allowed to check in late as I came straight from the wedding, there were no taxis in the morning so they gave me a lift to the station and all in all did all they could to make my stay perfect. The views and gardens are spectacular. I've stayed in posh chains (like Hilton etc) but because of the personal touch this far exceeded anywhere else I've stayed. Would definitely recommend a stay at Monkton Court.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandsworthTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    40
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
39
88
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My friends and I stopped to break our journey from Sennen Cove back to Hampshire. We got much more than we expected including a tour of some of the rooms which contained amazing antique beds and heavy 'quality' drapes. The enthusiasm with which we were shown round the hotel was second to none. The snacks we chose were wonderful and the chef took the time to speak to us at our table. I would highly recommend a stay or pit stop at this place if only because the staff are so friendly and attentive. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the food was excellent and we all felt very well looked after - big thanks to Michael for the tour, to Jo for the food and to Colin and Jenny ( the tweaker) for their hospitality.'

Room Tip: Ask to see the amazing selection of beds! Probably need to ask for a room facing to the rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A really delightful 1 night stay. Made very welcome, fires in the lounge (a cold May night!) and delicious food. Room beautiful and mattress very comfortable! Shower room plenty big enough.
Room at the front by the main road but you would never have known as adequate sound proofing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have dropped in for coffee or lunch on our way to the South West in the past and always enjoyed the break. This time we stayed for a couple of nights while we attended a family wedding in Devon. It was an excellent stay. A big comfortable room with a big comfortable bed. Everything spotlessly clean and everyone extremely friendly. It's a very quiet spot at night and we slept really well. Dinner and breakfast were both of very high quality and served very attentively. We'll go back and we'll recommend it to our own children as a great place to break the long journey to Cornwall and exercise their children in the huge and safe back garden. A very high class small Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Last minute booking
Everyone couldn't do enough to help made you feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble room lovely clean light and airy food second to none absolutely gorgeous will defiantly stay again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends
Thank you Jenny Colin Mike and Joe

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstienchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Kay and I stayed in room 5 this last Saturday night. This was our second visit. As before the experience was exceptional. The hotel has a warm and friendly ambiance and all the staff are cheerful and attentive. Kay has recently been diagnosed as coeliac (gluten free) and this was her first trip out. She had no need to be nervous as Jenny and chef Joe went out of their way to ensure that menus could be adapted for her. Joe even made special gluten free bread and rolls in white and brown so she did not miss out! This went way beyond our expectations and it contributed to a wonderful weekend. The room was comfortable as always and the bed was a dream to sleep in!! The slipper bath was very luxurious! We have our wedding reception here on 6th July and are very confident that all will go like clockwork. We cannot wait for our wedding guests to experience Jenny and Colin's hospitalty, the comfortable rooms and Joe's amazing cooking!! Thanks to everyone at Monkton Court - see you again very soon!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and have superb huge beds. We have stayed in rooms 2 and 5. These are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have past this Hotel on many occacions without stopping, however today my Husband & I called in on our way home for lunch.
On entering the Hotel we were meet with a very warm welcome by the very attentive staff. On a cold day the lovely fire in the bar was a welcomed site.
We were shown to some lovely comfortable furniture whilst we had our pre-luncheon drinks..... It was just like being at home.
The food was exceptional. Well cooked and presented to a very high standard. The staff were very accommodating to my dietary needs and nothing was too much trouble.
I will definatley be calling in there more often and highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton
4.0 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Lakeview Manor
Lakeview Manor
#4 of 5 in Honiton
288 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
629 reviews
5.6 mi away
Greyhound Country Inn
Greyhound Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fenny Bridges
183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barn Park Farm
Barn Park Farm
#2 of 3 in Stockland
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkton Court Hotel

Property: Monkton Court Hotel
Address: A30 | Monkton near Honiton, Monkton EX14 9QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Monkton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monkton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkton Court Hotel, Honiton - Restaurant with rooms - bed and breakfast - fine dining gourmet meals - bar snacks - 3 acre family beer garden - alongside A30 - large car park - open 7 days a week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monkton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing