We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal with good beer”
Review of Red Lion Winfrith

Red Lion Winfrith
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great pub, very handy from camp site, great value pub grub, scampi and fish and chips good value and pipping hot. Good atmosphere and very friendly staff. Beer excellent!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank stevepettyfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Standard pub food - nothing to write home about. My wife had the curry (hotter than expected which she enjoyed - but perhaps not to everyone's taste?) and it came with half and half! I had the Salmon with jerk dressing, it was very nice but the salmon was slightly overdone. Service was slow, simply not enough front of house staff. Thankfully there's a sign outside looking for staff so it's a known problem.... but the two lads behind the bar were rushed off their feet on a busy Saturday (14/09/19) evening. They were not only behind the bar but also waiting all the tables and clearing up. These two deserve recognition as they were working their socks off, always polite and managed to maintain a smile!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DZ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

Brought a pint of kronenbourg shandy and a pint of coke zero. £7.60
Followed by cheesy garlic bread to start then Ham hock pie and Lamb shank £29.00.
Nice enough ambiance,
We swapped for each others mash and chips as the pie was fairly dry and definitely needed the gravy!
The lamb shank was really nice and is served on a bed of greens and mash ( vague description of greens, a couple of pieces of undercooked cabbage)
Frozen chips have to be a no no with handmade pie, all that effort to make a pie and chuck frozen chips with it. Disappointing.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank squ1ffy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

If like us you’re in desperate need of somewhere for lunch, don’t stop here, keep going and you’ll get to a garden centre which has to be better
We sat in the garden surrounded by chain smoking leathery, pro Brexit voters and a dog which did a sh*t by our table, the food was distinctly average - we had a couple of bland salads, greasy fish and chips and an over cooked jacket potato, the cucumber was nice.
Toilets are disgusting; there was a massive turd in the ladies.
The staff were nice so this review is no reflection on them but avoid this pub at all costs

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank EWLondonN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised that there were 3 vegan main options. The portion size was generous and the food was quite nice. Overall I would recommend if you are in the area, its certainly a nice place to sit outside in the sun.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 932ellam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Winfrith also viewed

 
Dorchester, Dorset
West Lulworth, Dorset
 

Been to Red Lion Winfrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing