We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by locals”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Red Lion
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Recommended by locals”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had a meal here on a Thursday lunchtime, our party of three all opted for the Fish and Chips, my son's and mine was fine, albeit with lots of batter though plenty of fish inside, my husband's was all batter and very little fish. However, they replaced it with no quibble, and were very apologetic about it

I thought the interior was lovely, the staff very professional and polite. The tollets were very clean as well.

Would definitely visit this hostelry again if staying in this area. A local lady at a garage recommended this pub, as was originally looking for a tea-shop, but the only one she could recommend was near Wareham.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_Ouzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlion123, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thankyou for your positive feedback.

Our fish and chips have become incredibly popular and we now do them to take away. I've since tried the fish and chips again since your comment and the chefs have been making the batter a little too thick and we've asked them to thin it out a little so all should be ok with the meal once again.

We have a great friendly team who are working hard to not only deliver great customer service but maintain high standards of cleanliness

the red lion team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    38
    17
    13
    7
See reviews for
53
57
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Disappointing... Friendly barman, but the interior of the pub was very old, tired & frankly grubby.
Filthy carpet in the lounge bar, sticky table, dirty unswept fireplace where the beer mats were piled up to be used as firelighters.

I ordered the Chicken Curry which was nice, tender chicken in a tasty sauce. My partner had a Pork dish which was pleasant, although the veg appeared to have been left over from the midday carvery.

Overall, although the food was reasonable, it was not cheap considering the surroundings. Disappointed by the grubby, dusty shabby interior of the pub.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 760PLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlion123, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
we find these comments very difficult to believe as we have just been given 5 out of 5 * from the environmental health officer.

the pub was refurbished two years ago with new flooring throughout and a lick of paint... the pub has its character and we want it to remain this way.

our sunday carvery vegetables are batch cooked throughout the sunday service, it is also different veg to what goes on our main menu dishes and there is never any veg left at the end service.


thanks
the red lion team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

have just recently popped in for a lunch time meal and found the selection for a vegetarian very good, when I have more time I will return to try one of the main meals. very pleasant staff and good service reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emily h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlion123, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you. We recently changed our menu to accommodate more choices for vegetarians as we know that providing a better selection for them is equally as important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed overnight at the red lion with my niece. She loved the play area and the animals, she had a great time. for the evening meal there was plenty to choose from, I had one of the burgers and my niece had the chicken curry, the burger was very nice i also sampled my nieces curry and that was delicious too. the staff were very friendly, attentive and polite,and the pub has a lovely warm atmosphere with friendly locals. our room was lovely, very comfy bed and had a brilliant nights sleep, very reasonable rates. We will definitely back. Thanks for a wonderful stop over.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number two, very good sleep and very comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaynesheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlion123, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Visited this pub a few times over the years, but the food served by the previous management was really disappointing!!!however today having not been able to get in at another pub we tentatively thought we will give it another bash....and oh how pleased we did...staff and food was absolutely fantastic...definitely going back again and the shepherds huts look great fun...well done hope the summer brings great business....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlion123, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you....just the sort of feed back we like to hear. Thank you for trying us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had previously been to this establishment when under its old management; this was very successful if a little costly visit. I chose to return on Easter Sunday 2013 for a meal with my family. Our experience was a grave disappointment. We decided to have a carvery, two of us opting for Chicken. Both chicken meals were sent back due to the meat not being properly cooked. I was also surprised that the 'chef' manning the carvery used kitchen towel to wipe down his carving surface and then carve a different meat on the same surface with the same utensils. Woops!
The veg were drying under the heat lamps. I would not recommend booking an early lunch on a Sunday. The rest of the meal passed muster and the Beetroot & roasted pepper soup was a pleasant surprise both in taste and colour. The staff are attentive and polite and we were offered a change of meal/ new meat and finally they agreed to take the price of the two adult carverys off the bill. A bill which also caused a sharp intake of breathe. To be fair, the new managers had not yet had their official opening so these could just be teething troubles but I do hope they observe Food Health & Safety regulations more closely. Now there are seven of us who won't be returning any time soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlion123, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. As we informed you the chicken was cooked correctly what you saw was the occasional blood vein of the bird found near the bone and not as you described as incorrectly cooked. The chef has been reminded about the boards although this is 'best practice' to have different boards. The veg does tend to dry up under the lamps that is why we batch cook small portions.........
The soup is made locally and is made with natural ingredients with no additives which is why I am surprised about your comments about the colour?
The bill was adjusted and yet you make comment about the final price being extreme??? however our prices are clearly marked on the menu's
We are sorry to hear that because you have had this poor experience you will not be returning any time soon, maybe you should, we believe we do offer an excellent service and good quality, value for money food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Visited The Red Lion on Sunday 14 April. We had the Sunday carvery which was excellent - the choice of meat on the carvery was beef, pork and chicken, we were offered two meats if we wanted, I had beef and pork as did my husband. The meat was delicious and not carved wafer thin as you can get at some places, the vegetables were all cooked well and there was lovely home made thick gravy. The staff were very good and attentive and we got talking to the landlord who said they had taken over about 6 weeks ago and were working hard to get everything just right. When we are that way again we will definitely call in for Sunday lunch. If you had a carvery you were offered a pudding for £2 - unfortunately we were too full to eat anything else but it was a good offer. There is also a play area for the children and a pets corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JEL219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlion123, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winfrith Newburgh
3.2 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.2 mi away
Frome Dale
Frome Dale
#2 of 5 in Wool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lulworth Cove Inn
Lulworth Cove Inn
#3 of 13 in West Lulworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cheriton House
Cheriton House
#3 of 4 in Winfrith Newburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Countryman Inn
Countryman Inn
#1 of 1 in East Knighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: Winfrith Newburgh DT2 8LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Winfrith Newburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winfrith Newburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel is a family run pub situated at the heart of Hardy’s beloved countryside; our aim is to provide an authentic west- country pub experience. Our doors are open throughout the year, regardless of season: winter brings warming log fires whilst the summer invites al fresco dining in our pretty pub garden. So, whether it’s delicious food, award winning ales, open fires, quiz nights or just a natter, you need look no further . Close to the world renowned Jurassic coastline and surrounded by popular spots like Weymouth, Durdle Door, Lulworth Cove, and well visited attractions such as Corfe Castle, Monkey World and The Tank Museum; you’ll find the hotel the perfect base for exploring the surrounding area. We hope you love The Red Lion as much as we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Winfrith Newburgh, Dorset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing