We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheriton House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheriton House

Cheriton House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheriton House
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheriton House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

After treating my husband to day at Monkey World for his birthday, it was difficult to choose a B&B to stay in for the two nights. Cheriton House came recommended through the Monkey World website, from the start to the finish Tara was extremely helpful and friendly which help persuade me to book. Upon arrival we were met at the door by Tara and pleasantly surprised by how pleasant and friendly she is. Two good recommendations were made for the sailors pub and the dandelion in Lulworth cove for dinner on the two nights which we decided to try and both evenings were very enjoyable. I would like to commend both Tara and Andy on their children, they are very pleasant and to be honest we would not have known there was any children at the B&B if we had not met them. Breakfasts were lovely and certainly filling, We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone and would certainly look to staying in Cheriton House again. A very lovely, comfortable and relaxing environment to wake up in and to end a very busy day in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Tara and Andrew were very friendly, welcoming and helpful hosts.
We slept really well in beds that were extremely comfortable in very pleasant rooms with good bathroom facilities.
It was lovely to have fresh milk for hot drinks in the room and breakfast was very tasty with lots of choice.
Practically perfect in every way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at cheriton house for two nights and had the best time Andy and Tara made us feel very welcome , the room was very comfortable with big walk in shower, tea and coffee in room with biscuits. The breakfast was the best we have ever had just perfect and on the last day we were given home made muffins that were very nice which Andy wrapped so we could take them to the beach. It was very relaxing and we will be back one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at Cheriton House with the owners Tara and Andy for 3 nights. We were greeted at the door by Tara when we arrived who was very pleasant and welcoming. The house is in the lovely village of Winfrith Newburgh just five mins drive from Lulworth Cove and Dundle Door. Tara and Andy were always on hand if we needed them and went out of their way to give suggestions of places of interest to visit and places to eat in the evening. The room we stayed in was very tastefully decorated with a large on suite. Breakfast was served in a lovely large dining room with both cold and hot cooked breakfasts available. In our room there were tea and coffee facilaties with fresh milk available if needed. Our stay in Dorset was made even more pleasant by staying in this very pleasant guest house and we will certainly be rebooking with them for our next visit there. I would recommend them to anyone

Dee Mottram STAFFORDSHIRE

Room Tip: If you want service with a smile pick this beautiful bed and breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delilah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

A lovely welcoming bed and breakfast in a wonderful location in Dorset. Plenty of parking.
The room was beautifully decorated, with a clean, roomy ensuite, and comfortable bed and pillows.
A lovely selection of drinks on the hostess tray, and fresh milk if needed. I also had a whole packet of lovely dorset biscuits.

The owners are friendly and welcoming, and even stayed up late to let me in, as the recently painted door was sticking and they didnt want me to worry about not being able to get in.

Breakfast both mornings was served in a lovely large dining room, a selection of hot and cold, all beautifully prepared and cooked, and a massive choice.

I had a wonderful weekend and the friendly and welcoming owners made my stay really enjoyable. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I had a weekend at Cheriton House. It is a lovely house and the owners are so welcoming and friendly. They go out of there way to give a 5 star treatment. The house is about a 5 minute drive to the cove which has amazing views and a lovely village.
The bedroom we stayed in was perfectly done and extremely comfortable. It also had a lovely ensuite. Breakfast is that of high standards supplying you with cold and hot breakfast and has home made touches ( jams, blueberry muffins yum yum)
I cant praise Cheriton house enough, we felt like we had made new friends when we had to leave.
We would definately reccomend to any body who would like to stay here.
Darren Bedfordshire

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winfrith Newburgh
3.0 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#3 of 4 in Winfrith Newburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wynards Farm
Wynards Farm
#1 of 4 in Winfrith Newburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kemps Country House
Kemps Country House
#1 of 2 in East Stoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheriton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheriton House

Property: Cheriton House
Address: Water Ln, Winfrith Newburgh DT2 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Winfrith Newburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winfrith Newburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cheriton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheriton House Winfrith Newburgh, Dorset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing