We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend trip”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Runach Arainn

Interior of one of our luxury Yurts
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Interior of one of our luxury Yurts
Stable door style yurt entrance Yurts are lit by solar powered lights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Interior of one of our luxury Yurts
Stable door style yurt entrance
Yurts are lit by solar powered lights
Each yurt has a wood burning stove/cooker (firewood included)
Yurts are set in a small orchard
Torrylinn beach - 15 minutes walk form site
Goat Fell range of mountains and Brodick Bay
Goat Fell range of mountains
Sunset over Mull of Kintyre from Arran
Kilmory Parish Church
Loch Garbad, Eas Mor, Isle of Arran
Sunset over Lagg wood as seen from our site
Holy Island from Arran
A couple of 'neighbours'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yurt -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kilmory, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kieran B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great weekend trip”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

6 of us stayed in the yurts for 2 nights over a scorching weekend in May. The facilities are great - fire pit (bbq), kitchen, showers, wood-burning stove etc and all within walking distance of the beach. Andrew and Pippa were really welcoming. Thanks for having us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emdenny88
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic 3 night stay, the fab yurt perfect for 4 sisters to catch up, in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed May 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Arran is a beautiful island, Runach Arainn is a perfect base and easy to find. Fab cosy but spacious yurt perfect for our sister catch up. Very clean, efficient stove/fire, lovely to see the stars whilst in a comfy bed. Immaculate bathroom, (shower and composter loo! ) Pippa and Andrew were friendly,helpful but unobtrusive. Lovely wild beach short walk away where we watched otters fishing and playing in the sea. Definitely would recommend and we will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Thanks for the lovely review and pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roadrunne...
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A big step up from a tent!”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The yurts are very well presented and the facility is managed to a high level. The circular, one room layout is ideal for for friends and family who want to spend time together. Each yurt has its own bathroom, in a separate heated building. There is also a communal kitchen / laundry room. Hot water comes from a central biomass boiler and is plentiful.
The format works well - highly insulated walls and a simple wood burning stove keep things warm indeed.
No mobile signal but you shouldn't be reading email.
Andrew + Pippa run the place to a high professional standard and it shows.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2017
Thanks for the review Andrew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
16Hm116
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique adventure for little ones”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Fantastic 4 nights in a clean, spacious, cosy yurt. Everything needed was provided including wood for the fire/stove (takes a while to get hot enough to cook on but is functional). Easy to find. Perfect for my 2 and 5 year olds, chickens, ducks, rabbits on site. Games provided kept them entertained.
Stars shining through the roof at night was just MAGICAL.
Having a car was huge benefit but buses seemed to pass the bottom of the road frequently. Friendly hosts. The only thing that I can think to improve and I'm being incredibly fussy now would be to have liquid soap dispensers in the bathroom and utility area - having said that fairy up liquid was in the utility area and a bar of soap in the bathroom, I guess it's the staff nurse in me coming through and I could have got my own when in one of the island shops but kept forgetting. As for the island - loads to do, a pure gem!! Thanks to Pippa and Andy for a wonderful stay. Will defo be recommending to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2017
Pleased you had a good stay on Arran. We'll look into sorting out liquid soap dispensers for the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A
Aberfeldy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A unique glamping experience.”
Reviewed April 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great fun, warm, comfortable yurts. Two families in two yurts. Cooking dinner on the open fire and scrambled goose eggs cooked on the wood stove for breakfast. Good to have our own loo/shower. Little kitchen very handy. Endless firewood. Ideal if you like the outdoors but like a comfy warm bed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2017
Hi Dave and Emma, Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you can return again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emz1980
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful cosy stay”
Reviewed February 13, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a great two night stay in these wonderful yurts. Despite the cold February weather it was toasty warm inside within 20 mins of lighting the fire and our friendly hosts provided everything we needed.The kids thought it was a great adventure, we would definitely come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2017
Thanks Emma, glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meander65...
2 reviews
“Excellent getaway!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My partner and I spent a great long weekend on Isle of Arran in the beginning of October.
We stayed in a yurt at Runach Arainn which was great. Such a unique experience. We both like camping, being outdoors and exploring new places. I booked a yurt as a surprise birthday present for my partner and he loved it.
It was very easy to find the place with the directions given by Andy and Pippa. We had our own shower room/toilet, and shared kitchen. There was plenty of wood provided at the yurt to keep us going for the weekend. The fire place warmed up the yurt quickly and we even managed to make pizzas in it. It was great that we could watch the stars from inside the yurt :). Everything was provided that we needed (plates, mugs, cutlery, etc.) and we even found some board games in the cupboard.
We'll definitely go back to Runach Arainn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked everything about our stay, couldn't choose just one thing.
Liked least: There's nothing bad about our stay that I could think of.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2016
Thanks for the review. We're delighted you had such a good stay and would love to see you back on Arran next year.
Thanks
Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing