We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super friendly service”
Review of The Lagg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lagg Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilmory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wark, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super friendly service”
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We found the service to be excellent , and the food was top quality - highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eskimozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    83
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
119
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Stayed at the Lagg with my wife. The hotel is st in beautiful grounds with a lively stream next to the gardens. The hotel is old and has real character, log fires even during June add to the atmosphere. We stayed twice and both rooms were very comfortable with good shower/bath. We took dinner in the friendly bar but there is an option to take dinner in the more formal restaurant.. Food was very good, the cullen skink was new to me but excellent.

The owners of the hotel, Peter and Mary, were very welcoming and made our stay with them a real pleasure. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast included fresh fruit salad which was great, although one morning we were a little late and it consisted mainly of apple.

There is a lovely walk from the hotel to a huge deserted beach on which we saw sea otter, lots of plovers and oyster catchers, 2 or 3 buzzards and only 3 other people. You need to be aware that there are no shops etc around this part of the island, the Lagg local shop closed some time ago, it is much quieter than Lamlash or Whiting Bay but that is part of its attraction.

In summary we will definitely be back; its too good to miss.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocks_Water_Ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

I got married at the Lagg Hotel in April. The day would have been perfect regardless, but the owners and staff at the hotel did everything they could to make it even more wonderful.

We stayed at the hotel for a few days prior to the wedding. As the wedding was small (just the two of us) we relied on Mary and Peter (the owners) for back-up on far too much.

However they effortlessly and cheerfully dealt with all our needs and helped out with everything from taxi bookings and paying the photographer to dealing with lost keys, sporran deliveries and messages from all round the world. They were even our witnesses at the wedding (along with their dog Campbell).

We had stayed at the Lagg Hotel a few years ago and it was great to see the changes and improvements that Mary and Peter have made since they took over. Having grown up in a small hotel in Scotland it's easy to see the difference that a bit of love and affection can make to a place like this.

If you want to stay somewhere sterile with no kids, no dogs, no chat and no charm then you would be better off somewhere bigger, in Brodick. However, if you want to stay somewhere warm and personal, where the owners know your name, care about your stay and engage you in conversation like a human being then the Lagg is the place for you.

My one criticism would be that the dinner menu was a little ambitious for the chef at the time that we stayed there, but if you're planning a trip to Arran you're probably not in search of a Michellin star. The good news was that the ambition of the wine list matched the ambition of the menu.

I've been to Arran a few times now. Something about it brings you back. When we go back again we'll definitely stay at the Lagg Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LightyPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We were on a walking holiday around Arran.
I found the meals to be delicious and was the best part of our stay.
The hotel is an old coaching inn and has bus stops outside on the main coastal road.
The setting is pleasant and a stream flows past.
The public areas are comfortable but the floor uneven.
Staff were reluctant to show me the bus timetable and the tides table.
The bedrooms are well furnished, but do not open your window or the midges are liable to swarm in.
The price of alcohol was extortionate and the service slow.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — attacked by midges
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dosscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Spent a lovely quiet weekend with my partner at this hotel. The room was lovely with the comfiest bed ..had the best night's sleep I have had in ages! There really wasn't anything we can moan about..we loved the cosy bar, the peaceful candlelit sun lounge at night, the food was great, the owners and staff were all very friendly. We would definitely recommend it to those wanting a nice quiet weekend away.

  • Liked — very clean, tastefully decorated and welcoming staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tainite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We were disappointed with our stay at the Lagg Hotel, Arran. It promoted itself as having great cuisine, it didn't. The menu never changed, the food was either over cooked or cold and the restaurant had no atmosphere at all.
The two resident dogs had the run of the public areas of the hotel and lay on all the chairs and sofas. The garden had dog pooh lying around.
Our towels were neatly folded on the bed, but were soaking wet from the day before!
The setting was beautiful and the overworked staff very friendly, it should have been wonderful, but it wasn't. We shall not stay there again EVER.

  • Liked — sunlounge
  • Disliked — dog pooh in garden
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterScotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Stayed for one night, on the only day we did not have a downpour on our holiday. As a result of the positioning of the hotel, the garden was a suntrap, and plenty of people were taking the oppertunity of enjoying the conservatory and gardens.

Although the hotel is old, the rooms have been refurbished and are comfortable and well appointed. I would be happy to go back for a longer stay next time we visit Arran.

  • Liked — Great position
  • Disliked — Peacocks making noise quite late
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmory
7.3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
9.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
14.2 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lagg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lagg Hotel

Property: The Lagg Hotel
Address: Lagg, Kilmory KA27 8PQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Kilmory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lagg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lagg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing