We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel on Arran!”
Review of The Lagg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lagg Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilmory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel on Arran!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I visited this hotel on the 12th May this year for a week whilst playing golf on the Isle of Arran.
It was the third time I had visited and I have to say the welcome we got from Peter and Mary, the hosts was fantastic. The food is wonderful with a good selection of Scottish fayre for both breakfast and evening meals. The rooms are comfortable without being over the top, I felt at home immediately. Situated on the southern end of the island it is quiet and peaceful. Red squirrels bound around the gardens and hares bounce along the road !
I have no qualms in recommending this hotel and we will be back again next year!
The rates are very good, and the locals make you feel right at home.
If your tipple is of the Scottish malt variety, try the top shelf, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and clean, I only stayed in the single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    85
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
50
127
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Really enjoyed our visit to his hotel. Very good food all cooked on the premises. Great accommodation. Very helpful and willing staff with a great welcome. Very good choice at breakfast.Deserves being supported.

Room Tip: Ask the owners and they will advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed at the Lagg for two nights in early May.

We couldn't fault the hotel. The service from Mary and her staff was great as was the food.

We were part of a large group (about 30) for dinner and the service and quality were excellent.

The gardens back onto a river and are immaculately kept. It's also only a short scenic walk to a 5,000 year old burial mound and a little bit further to the beach.

We'd highly recommend the hotel and Arran and we will certainly be back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Back to the Lagg Hotel. Always a fixture when we are in Arran. This time we had lunch and it didn't disappoint. Sensible lunchtime portions, freshly made and obviously home made. Quiche excellent and vegetables beautifully cooked. Friendly service from a very efficient waitress. Olde world charm in a picturesque setting.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesandrewmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel and loved it.
Truely a trip back in time,old style furnishings et but felt very comfortable and at home.

Service was outstanding and food wonderful
No phone signal which maybe a problem for some people but a great relief for us, but the hotel has wifi.
Great location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppetjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Visited Lagg Hotel again -such a lovely peaceful spot . We had tea and scones last Sunday in front of roaring log fire in the bar area - great scones and owner very friendly . Highly recommend you stop and sample the friendly atmosphere , home baking and beautifully tended gardens when in Arran !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

What a great hotel. This was our second visit in 12 months and it has not changed. Peaceful, excellent food, lovely atmosphere and wonderful hosts. The staff are warm and friendly and always have time to talk. The bar is well stocked and a whiskey in front of the log fire is a must.
Highly recommended if you want an hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Brodick. Arran is so beautiful and away from it all. Minimal traffic although the roads, in places, leave much to be desired......... but who cares! Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try a room overlooking the burn. The water bubbling is peaceful and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmory
9.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,159 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
566 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
747 reviews
6.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
74 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lagg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lagg Hotel

Property: The Lagg Hotel
Address: Lagg, Kilmory KA27 8PQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Kilmory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lagg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lagg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing