We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lagg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lagg Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilmory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights while touring and will try to return in future. We could only book a budget room this time but it was quite adequate and, more importantly, was clean and comfortable. The staff were excellent, so friendly and helpful. The evening meals in the bar were very good and so were the breakfasts. We retired to the lounge with drinks each night after dinner and found a great atmosphere talking to the other guests in front of the wood fire. Guests with dogs are allowed to take them in the lounge and this provided a talking point which opened many conversations. It is true that there is a lack of phone signal and limited WiFi in the hotel but I feel that is not really a problem when staying here as it is the sort of place you would go to get away from all that. An excellent place to base yourself when touring Arran. Both the hotel and Arran are thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnTravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    83
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
118
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just returned from a short break at this hotel. Lovely old place with very good food and comfortable beds. Loved the fact we were able to take our dog with us. The young owners were very nice and hard working but would suggest that they may be take just a few extra minutes to speak to guests - I am sure it would be appreciated. We certainly would like to return again and would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Arran is a beautiful island and should be visited.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed in The Lagg twice this year for 2 nights each time. Rooms - stayed in room 12, overlooking the beautiful gardens. Good, spacious, clean room with good toilet facilities. Facilities - many 'nooks and crannies' - bar area has open fire and is spacious, also has a lounge, conservatory and two dining rooms. Free WIFI in reception area(can't reach anywhere else due to the thick walls). Staff - very helpful and very pleasant, esp. Mikie behind the bar. Owners Mary and Peter are very organised, helpful and dependable.Second visit was when they hosted my son's wedding - went flawlessly. Food - breakfast is very good and serviced to your liking. Bar meals/dining - mouthwatering. Truly first class. Will definitely go back here.

Room Tip: Room 12 overlooks the gardens,so I guess rooms 13 - 10 would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a family room with our 13 month old baby. From the moment we walked in we were met with a very friendly service. The waiter in the lounge bar was extremely polite and friendly and seemed genuinely interested in making our stay a pleasurable one. Brilliant customer service. The food was fantastic from the simple but delish breakfast porridge to the polished dinner menu. A good choice for vegetarians and the children's menu is definitely a notch above most restaurants.
The room was comfortable and clean with a great size bathroom. If I had one niggle, it's that the free wifi is really only accessible from the lounge and as we had no phone signal at all, it did leave me feeling a bit isolated. But the surroundings and staff more than make up for this. I can't recommend it highly enough. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHRMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were glad we arrived early for lunch as this charming old hotel ( dates from 1791) quickly filled up. The hotel may have been old but it was immaculate. We were greeted warmly by a very friendly waiter. The lunch menu was varied and good value for money. I ordered the quiche of the day which was brocolli and cheese - it came with a lovely fresh salad and a dish of piping hot new potaoes. The pastry was so light and the filling delicious. Hubby had the smoked chicken, chorizo and tomato panini - also served with a fresh salad. He loved it. The drinks were lovely and cold and the service extremely efficient.
An added bonus was free wifi.
The surrounding gardens and flower tubs were immaculate. There was the busy bar area, outside seating, an attractive restaurant, and a funtion suite which must surely be busy for weddings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happycamper154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a beautiful place. We stayed for 3 nights with 2 dogs and were made to feel very welcome. The owner Peter was excellent, and worked tirelessly to ensure all guests were looked after well. We ate in the bar every night and the food and service were very good

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JOPEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very good hotel, comfortable room overlooking the garden and river. We stayed 4 days and
it was very enjoyable. We dined each evening in the restaurant and the meals were
delicious and cooked to perfection. Compliments to the chef. Good Scottish breakfast
in the mornings, cereal, fruit juice, yoghurt to start. Pleasant dining room and
friendly staff. Quiet location, peaceful surroundings.

Room Tip: We were in room 14 at the back overlooking the garden and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_hetherington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmory
7.3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
9.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
14.2 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lagg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lagg Hotel

Property: The Lagg Hotel
Address: Lagg, Kilmory KA27 8PQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Kilmory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lagg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lagg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing