We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend trip to Arran”
Review of Kilmory Haven

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilmory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilmory Haven
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend trip to Arran”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is the third year we have organised a group trip for 50 foreign students to Arran and we feel very lucky to have found the bunkhouse. It is excellently equipped with good quality appliances and kit. The rooms are well maintained and furniture high quality. The hall is excellent for having extra people to sleep, for having evening entertainment such as a ceilidh or dancing or having it set out with tables for meals. The location is beautiful with a short walk to the beach which is in an excellent location for having a bonfire and watching the sun set over the Kintyre peninsula. Looking forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty_Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a full bus of 50 international students. We were offered the entire 23 beds in the bunkhouse plus the remainder were allowed to sleep on the hall floor. The price was very reasonable and kept the trip affordable! The two en-suite leaders rooms in the Bunkhouse allow flexibility and having two well appointed kitchens made cooking haggis, neeps and tatties for 50 people easy. Dishwashers and crockery were an added luxury! The beach is just 5min walk and has stunning views across to Ailsa Craig. Overall the accommodation offered our group flexibility, space and affordability. Communications prior to the visit and service on arrival were of a very high standard and very welcoming. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meu04118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Kilmory Lodge bunkhouse was ideally located at the bottom of arran for our cyle tour. As a bonus it was great value for money, comfy and clean. The 'staff' were very helpful and the location was stunning - path tho a beatiful wood to a stunning coast view/beach.
would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We booked a family room (two bunks with en-suite shower room) very last minute. A little concerned when it seemed to take an age to drive here, but very happy when we saw the room. It is run by the community and the rooms and kitchen/dining are above the village hall. Very much no frills/ikea furnished, perfect for what we needed, a bonus that we had the place to ourselves. A short 5mins walk down the hill is the Lagg hotel, we had a fantastic meal, although a little pricey for some (£120 for 4 starters, 4 mains and wine).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph_and_Mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South103
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We had a great time at the bunkhouse as we were travelling with ten young children and wanted somewhere with plenty of space so that we wouldn't disturb the neighbours! There is a children's playpark and a short walk to the beach. The Lagg Hotel is just round the corner for a lovely dinner or just a drink!
We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank South103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmory
7.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Lochranza Youth Hostel
Lochranza Youth Hostel
#2 of 3 in Lochranza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kildonan Hotel
Kildonan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildonan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
13.9 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmory Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmory Haven

Property: Kilmory Haven
Address: Kilmory House A841, Kilmory KA27 8PQ, Scotland (Formerly Kilmory Lodge Bunkhouse)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Kilmory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kilmory
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilmory Haven is situated in the South of the Isle of Arran. It is community owned holiday accommodation with all profits going back to fund the running of the community hall and many other projects. The bunkhouse sleeps 23 in 2 en-suite rooms and 2 8-bed dorms. We take groups of all sizes and single travellers. The Haven is especially popular with school groups and walking groups. With the added bonus of the attached hall this is the ideal place for an informal wedding or family get-together. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing