We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Square Rigger Is Still Our First Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Square Rigger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Square Rigger Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jacksonport
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Square Rigger Is Still Our First Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

It has been 12 years since we started staying at The Square Rigger Hotel in Jacksonport, Wisconsin. Door County has hotels that are newer...and probably nicer...but for the value, atmosphere, and overall customer experience, The Square Rigger continues to be our choice. Located on the east side of the peninsula, this hotel boasts well manicured grounds that lead directly to a nice, quiet beach and an outstanding view of Lake Michigan. There are two good restaurants within walking distance, but the whole peninsula is a short drive from this property. In short, if you like crowds and traffic, you probably want a different hotel. But if you're looking for peace and quiet, a chance to unwind for a week - or a weekend, The Square Rigger is worth visit.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have walk-out sliding doors and offer the best sunrise (and moonrise) views of La...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleSchahczinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Square Rigger was our choice for a quick end-of-the-summer getaway and we were not disappointed. Our room on the first floor (#3) faced the large white sand beach and Lake Michigan. My daughter loved the beach which was well stocked with sand toys and nice chairs and the swimming area was large and completely free of rocks which was a huge plus.
We signed up for the fish boil which was small and intimate ( the servers helped us debone our fish and came around with seconds for everyone). The boil-over impressed the heck out of my husband and daughter, both fish boil neophytes.

The rooms are very basic and come with a fridge, plenty of towels and air-conditioning. No coffee makers in the rooms but the Lodge does serve breakfast every morning.

Elizabeth and her staff were friendly and very helpful with directions, providing maps and booklets that helped us navigate the penisula easily.

The Lodge is very close to Whitefish Dunes State Park and Cave Point County Park, both of which are not to be missed.

The Square Rigger Lodge is the closest thing on the Lake side of the penisula to having your own private cottage...and is far more affordable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleDutchGirl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Beautiful motel and cabins on the shores of Lake Michigan. Kids will love this motel. There is a creek a short walk down the beach, where the kids was catch lots of critters in their fishing nets. Enjoys incredible sunsets and campfires on the beach. Great place for kayaking too.

The rooms are basic but always clean. With lots of things to do in Door County you will not be spending much time in the room. The owner is very helpful and Sweet:)

You will want to return every year. Great family vacation spot. It's safe place for kids with lots of space to play and explore.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTRS1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genesee Depot, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Nice place, good value. Friendly owner and staff. Didn't have the fish boil as we already had 2 on this trip but it looked good. Rooms are older but nice. 100 ft to the shores of Lk MI. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevators for 2nd floor if that is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Downtown42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet little spot to get away, this is the place. Nestled in beautiful Door County along the Lake Michigan shore line. Stroll the sandy beach just outside your hotel room. Just a short distance to the state parks to hike and bike ride, etc. and back to the Rigger for their nightly fish boil. We loved the food and friendly staff and owner Elizabeth made us feel right at home. Can't wait to come to come visit again next summer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohFinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

Though my group and I didn't stay at this intimate lodge, this was a fine selection for the fish boil dinner on our recent motorcoach tour to Door County. Elizabeth (the owner) and her cheerful, efficient and most helpful staff couldn't have been nicer to deal with! Though our group of 53 was a bit tight in their dining room, our dinner was wonderful and the servers went out of their way to make our experience here a good one! From the picturesque sandy beach out back, to the fun of the boil over, to the delicious dinner, to the wonderful cheerful service by the entire staff, our visit was absolutely delightful . . . I'll bring my Seniors back here again, and I'd recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mytourop81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Door County, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

Square Rigger Galley

July 08, 2009 - My Family and I have made an annual summertime visit to the Square Rigger restaurant for their fish boil.We have enjoyed the small intimate atmosphere, the outdoor deck over looking the lake, the appetizers and the fish boil meal.Sadly this summers (2009) visit was a great disappointment.It started with the fact that they did not have a bar tender.We gave up on our requests for simple mixed drink and ordered wine and beer.The appetizers were half of what the had included in the past.My semi confused 87 year old father was yelled at when he attempted to sit at a table following the outdoor boil over.Specific tables are assigned to guests yet not communicated where our party of six was to sit.(It would have been nice to be seated or told before or when we first arrived)The fish boil is followed by desert (cherry pie alamode) which was on par with a dated store bought pie.The staff refused initially to help us divide our bill when attempting to pay. Given the opportunity or if asked I would have shared my disappointment with the staff.My only advise is to seek a fish boil somewhere else in Door County, WI (as will I) and that the staff attend some hospitality training.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cmmDoorCounty_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonport
6.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
10.4 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
10.2 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Baileys Harbor Ridges Resort
Baileys Harbor Ridges Resort
#6 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
12.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
12.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Square Rigger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Square Rigger Lodge

Property: Square Rigger Lodge
Address: 6332 State Highway 57, Jacksonport, WI 54235-9546
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Jacksonport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jacksonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Square Rigger Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get ready to spark your nostalgia - and cox your kids into abandoning their video games (shhh... you don't have to tell them we have free WiFi!) Share all the ingredients of a classic American summer: 286 feet of shoreline for swimming, sailing, fishing, scuba-diving and sandcastle construction + a large, shaded yard perfect for napping, reading, and swinging to your heart's content. Located in the heart of Jacksonport, we wan you to enjoy the atmosphere of our small, quite village. Bring home sweet treats like Door county Fudge at Bley's grocery next door, pick up some fresh ingredients from the Tuesdays Farmer's market to create family memories around the open kitchen inside our cottages, or bury your feet in the sand while you cook kabobs at the fire pit. For the adventurous at heart, we have a historical sunken pier in the waters just off the beach and 3 shipwrecks in the National Historic Wharf complex. There are magnificent hiking trails nearby at Whitefish Dunes State Park and Cave Point County Park. Plus we have a wonderful lakefront beach park just a block away, the perfect summer stroll. Door County offer amazing scenery in every season. Daffodils are already popping up which means the cherry and apple blossoms of spring are sure to come soon. Join one of the many Spring Blossom Trolley tours, take a 45-minute hike around our favorite Jacksonport loop (free maps are available in your room), or take a DIY-trip around to the many lighthouses, orchards and festivals around the county. After your voyages, you can be back in 15 minutes to enjoy a nice glass of wine on the beach and watch the sunset colors wrap around the sky with a crackling fire. All the comforts of home await you with tvs, showers, baths and electric heat. Then wake up to a spectacular sunrise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Square Rigger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Square Rigger Hotel Jacksonport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing