We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service , great hospitality , great area....it's all great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chrislin African Lodge
Ranked #4 of 22 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great location, great service , great hospitality , great area....it's all great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Its more then a month ago that we have stayed there. It is a very nice and good place. Would suggest to book their elephant tour and you will have a geat experience you must enjoy! Ow, for the staff....i love the great superpower kid (i promised to write it). Hope to stay there again sometime for a few days :) Jiren and Patrick

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatJir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret P, Manager at Chrislin African Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Patrick, thank you so much for your review and kind words. I shall never forget your super power stint and how you'd heard of Tristan all the way from the Kruger Park!! You made our little man's day! Please come again, anytime! Season's greetings, from all at Chrislin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    119
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
91
202
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Decent lodges on a beautiful location, nearby the Addo elephant park.
Beautiful breakfast and dinner facility,
If you are looking for a quiet and romantic location near the Addo elephant park, this is absolutely an accommodation to pick.
The only disadvantage is the lack of restaurants in the neighborhood. The dinner served at Chrislin was good.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NielsvG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Among the best food we enjoyed in South Africa!
Very friendly staff.
Authentic and clean rooms.
Ideal for a trip to the Addo Elephant Park. They have their own tour for day-trips to the park. We highly recommend this lodge and would visit again anytime.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lukas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret P, Manager at Chrislin African Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Lukas, thank you for your recommendation for Chrislin African Lodge. Do come back and dine with us! We are all sad today as Madiba has passed away, such an amazing icon in this wonderful country. I'm sure Elvis may honour the dinner tonight to this great man! Christmas greetings from all at Chrislin African Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

A lovely spot in the Eastern Cape with all the charm of both the citrus farm and the bush setting. A beautiful African sunset, a wonderful evening meal, excellent service - the perfect way to end a day of extraordinary elephant viewing in the Addo Park. Thank you to a super friendly team for a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizandMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Chrislin for two nights (18-20 November 2013) and were more than happy with our choice.

Everything was enjoyable and to our satisfaction, including the half day tour with Criscross (a company run by a family member as well) to The Addo Park.

To be mentioned in particular are the two excellent dinners we booked on top of the breakfast which was very nice as well.

Certainly not overpriced for what you get. But dor us one of the more expensive lodges on our Garden Route trip.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bierir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuurne, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

we stayed here with 2 young children (3and 5) and had a great stay! Lovely little house, the kids could sleep in the same house behind a wall, easy. We also enjoyed a wonderfull dinner, they asked what they could serve for the children that was really lovely.
Very tranquil area, nice with the orange trees and the swimming pool.
Surtenly to be recommended!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank greet d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret P, Manager at Chrislin African Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Children are always welcome, Greet! We are delighted that you all had such a good time and hope you return one day to share another African experience. Season's greeting to you all, from all at Chrislin African Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were welcomed very friendly, the guesthouse is on a beautifull orange farm, everything well organised and clean. We had a very nice diner and breakfast. The staff aranged a great game drive for us in de Addo park with Crisscross Adventures which was one of the highlights of our trip. Definetly would recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janneke M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
2.4 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
1.4 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
1.0 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#9 of 22 in Addo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
9.0 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
6.3 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrislin African Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrislin African Lodge

Property: Chrislin African Lodge
Address: Off Valentine Road | Hermiston Farm, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chrislin African Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true African accommodation when staying at Chrislin African Lodge in traditionally built mud huts located on an eco-friendly farm, just 12km from the main gate of the Addo Elephant National Park.The tranquil setting is described as paradise by nature and bird lovers. If not exploring one of the nearby game reserves, time can be spent relaxing along side the pool or in the lounging lapa. Being a family run lodge, emphasis is placed on friendly service, comfort and delicious South African food. Meals can be served on request during season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Chrislin African Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing