We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat stays never dissapoint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chrislin African Lodge
Ranked #4 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Repeat stays never dissapoint”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times now, the first time was with my husband in 2004 when they were only new. We had no booking, but came across them in a brochure so went to explore.
Then in 2006 I returned with my inlaws and they too enjoyed their stay.
And my 3rd visit was with our 2 young children and my parents and brother. There had now been further rooms built, still with the same charm including thatched roofs and ensuite bathrooms. All the family members I have taken there over the years have been really impressed with the quiet location, the food offered, the rooms and most of all with the friendly service offered by this family run business. I would highly recommend to all ages, they even cater for conferences and weddings - something for everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    123
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
92
206
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have extended family in South Africa, so my husband and I have stayed at nearly 20 Bed and Breakfasts and hotels in the area. This was our favorite stop. It gave a real "feel" of Africa but was also clean, had friendly staff, and a nice price. Definitely make it to breakfast and taste fresh squeezed OJ and jam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LloydRMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We (my Mom and I) had a fantastic stay at Chrispin African Lodge this weekend that will leave us with a lovely set of memories for a long while to come.

The rooms are clean, spacious, humble and chic at the same time. Various woods set a warm welcoming ambiance. Eco friendly, traditionally African, water wise dwellings are comfortable and very well insulated.

There were some very nice teas such as ethical tea farmed in Sri Lanka and coffee in the room that also has a fridge.

With all that peace and tranquility, I slept like a log. :)

There are a lot of cool local things to discover such as the Reptile and Raptor Park, so much fun! I learned a lot here, it was great.

This is just next to the top class Lenmore shop and restaurant off the main road. Food and service fantastic! From A la carte to home cooked food. delicious, value for money experience, in a lovely setting. Kiddies menu and wood fire cooked pizzas are a large plus too.

The shop has lots of lovely goods from fresh cake to kudu steak. :) To many things to mention go look :) Lots of fresh local veg and meat to delight.

Anyway this was a magical weekend I would do again any time.

Peace< love >Blessings:
To the Pickles family, Thank You Very much for wonderful visit to your lovely place as well as and too your lovely staff for a stunning time!
Thanks Conrad and the PE Weight Loss Challenge for making this possible.

:) :) :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have stayed at a number of local places, and this one is always tops - the best overall experience when you consider price, location, amenities and nearby venues etc.

It is one of the friendliest, cleanest and most hospitable places to stay at in the Addo region.

The food is excellent under the Lapa, breakfast is a mix of local breads, with all the usual breakfast amenities.
Dinner is a MUST - local flavours and great scenery at the Sneezewoods Dining area.
We also saw them setting up for a wedding there, and I must say the couple made an amazing choice!! the venue looked superb!

The rooms are super clean and cozy, done in the Rondawel/wattle and daub style and are super cute!
If you are looking for a simple yet elegant, friendly and tasty getaway for a few days, the family run lodge is an absolute must, Linda, David and Margaret went out of their way to make our stay amazing and it was with great regret that our stay here came to end - will happily recommend this amazing hideaway that is a great base to explore the Addo !

We will definitely be seeing you again soon!

Room Tip: They have rooms at the pool that are close to the Lapa where meals are served, and the free wifi is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

it is all in the title! there was really nothin much to add to that, we had a lovely stay there , hostess was great and our room nicely decorated in a lovely contryside! we also had a dinner there, we were septical at first but we were very surprised food and service were excellent!! i am a vegetarian and i had a special ( and delicious) course! it is a great place to stay, clean, lovely, and peacefull... also very close from the addo! free wifi in the pool area!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kassnoisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a lovely family run B&B that acts as a good base to explore Addo National Park. You can get picked up from the B&B by CrissCross safaris and taken around the park. Rooms are spacious and clean. In house restaurant food is excellent in the evening. Elvis, the chef, puts on a great spread. Will happily recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_B33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Enjoyed staying here for a couple of nights at part of a family trip in South Africa. Its a nice base to explore Addo and staying in a luxury mud hut was fun after a week in more conventional B&Bs. The huts are spacious and comfortable, with an en-suite shower room. The food was excellent, and the staff went out of there way to look after us. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatboytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
2.4 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
1.4 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
2.4 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#7 of 21 in Addo
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
306 reviews
6.3 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
3.1 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrislin African Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrislin African Lodge

Property: Chrislin African Lodge
Address: Off Valentine Road | Hermiston Farm, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chrislin African Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true African accommodation when staying at Chrislin African Lodge in traditionally built mud huts located on an eco-friendly farm, just 12km from the main gate of the Addo Elephant National Park.The tranquil setting is described as paradise by nature and bird lovers. If not exploring one of the nearby game reserves, time can be spent relaxing along side the pool or in the lounging lapa. Being a family run lodge, emphasis is placed on friendly service, comfort and delicious South African food. Meals can be served on request during season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chrislin African Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing