We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Addo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chrislin African Lodge
Ranked #4 of 22 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for Addo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We loved staying at this lodge. It's cheaper than staying in the actual Addo Elephant Park and more comfortable. The food and service was excellent. Highly recommended. Only a fifteen minute drive from the game park and close to a few good restaurants, although the dinner served at the lodge is outstanding.

Room Tip: As for an Orchard room, slightly more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    119
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
91
202
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked 3 days and 2 nights while visiting our daughter, who is working in Lesotho, to take her on a wildlife excursion in Addo National Park. The staff was incredibly warm, accommodating, and helpful from the very first e-mail. They arranged transport for us from Port Elizabeth and back again, so we did not have to worry about forgetting to drive on the "wrong" side of the road. We felt like we really learned a lot about the country because the staff was so willing to tell us about the history of the family farm on which the resort is located, and current events. We booked two "huts" that are a marvelous combination of historic construction and modern amenities. The huts were spacious, comfortable, and complete with refrigerator (which the kitchen & wine steward will stock), hot water kettle (coffee, tea, SA cane sugar, etc.), hair dryer, furniture, dressing room/closet, and a luxurious bed. We had only booked dinner at the lodge the first night, but it was so incredible that we also ate at the lodge the second night. The food and wine and atmosphere were stupendous. I wish I had taken a picture of the dining area because it was so clever in the way that it commingled a sense of eating outdoors with a warm coziness; collegiality yet privacy; rustic yet classy. It was similar to the way the staff treated us like royalty, yet were so warm and approachable that we felt almost like we were visiting family. Breakfast was delightful. (How can you go wrong with fresh squeezed OJ?) I highly recommend the all-day CrissCross Adventures tour of Addo Park. (Chen was our guide, but I'm sure they are all good.) Also recommend the Addo Raptor & Reptile Rehab and Education Centre. The only thing I can think of to fault was that the free WiFi was a pretty weak signal that my tablet had trouble holding onto, but I did not go there to check my e-mail anyway. It was a fabulous three days! I should have said more about the food. Thank you Staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VarleyFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrislinafricanlodge, Owner at Chrislin African Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I've shown it to our staff and they were all delighted.
Good news is that we have identified the problem with weak WIFI signal, and it should all be sorted out in the next week or so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

great experience to stay there. The location is not in the neighborhood of anything, but have diner there! Delicious home made dinners, compliments to the chef. Breakfast also great. No fridge or tv in your room, but who needs it when you stay in a locatio like this. Wifi receiving only weak at the swimmingpool. Great safari with crisscross adventures (ask for Chen)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeroen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrislinafricanlodge, Owner at Chrislin African Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'd just like to point out though that each of our units do have a fridge. We apologise for the weak signal that you experienced with our WIFI. Fortunately, we have identified the problem and we should have a much stronger signal in about a week's time. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Comfortable lodging with delicious, homemade breakfasts and dinners. The staff accommodates any dietary restrictions, and the huts are situated among orange trees! You can't beat waking up to the scent of orange blossoms. It can be a little tricky to locate the first time, so I recommend driving in during the day light.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked for 2 nights but extended for an extra night. We were made to feel extremely welcome. The room was great, the breakfast really good with freshly squeezed orange juice from the farm. A member of the family operates Crisscross tours: we did an excellent all day tour in the Addo National Park game reserve which included a delicious braai lunch. Chris really knows his animals and birds. The following day we spent 3 hours in the Sunday river. Although we didn't see much bird life on the river, it was a great way of seeing a different aspect of the area. Highly recommended, both the lodge and the tours

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night and enjoyed our stay. Since we were the only guests, we had dinner in a nearby restaurant - a nice change from always having to stay at the lodges for dinner since there is never a restaurant nearby.
The cottages are nice and have what you need. Breakfast was great!! There are dogs roaming the property, so if you are scared of them let the owner know.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amnsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrislinafricanlodge, Owner at Chrislin African Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks so much for the nice review, we promise that our two dogs are really friendly and love people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgilphead
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

What a fabulous night's stop over we had at Chrislin. Bernadine and staff were so helpful staying on late into the evening to welcome us when we were held up on our drive from Cape Town. They were so welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. The huts themselves were magnificent with all the facilities you could expect from a reputable B&B or good hotel. The setting amidst the citrus orchard was a bonus.
Breakfast in the morning was more than we could have hoped for and catered for all tastes.
An ideal stop over or base to visit the nearby Addo Elephant Game Reserve!!
The access road is a bit rough but worth the effort in getting to this beautiful setting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanMacD369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
2.4 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
1.4 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
1.0 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#9 of 22 in Addo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
9.0 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
6.3 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrislin African Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrislin African Lodge

Property: Chrislin African Lodge
Address: Off Valentine Road | Hermiston Farm, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chrislin African Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true African accommodation when staying at Chrislin African Lodge in traditionally built mud huts located on an eco-friendly farm, just 12km from the main gate of the Addo Elephant National Park.The tranquil setting is described as paradise by nature and bird lovers. If not exploring one of the nearby game reserves, time can be spent relaxing along side the pool or in the lounging lapa. Being a family run lodge, emphasis is placed on friendly service, comfort and delicious South African food. Meals can be served on request during season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Chrislin African Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing