We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodall Country House and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful country house, with amazing rooms and service. Food was very good, though quite simple for being marketed as gourmet (but maybe we have high standards since we are italians!). Also, there was also only beer in cans, which didn't fit very well. In any case, we definitely recommend it!!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank raisonperdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 404 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Woodall Country House Hotel is a gem hidden just outside Addo Elephant Park in South Africa. We have travelled the world over but have rarely seen such excellent, friendly and prompt service anywhere! Also the rooms are decorated stylishly and are spacious and impeccably clean. Our Christmas dinner was superb and all that for a highly reasonable price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were lucky to be able to spend two nights of our honeymoon here. We booked the Safari and Spa Package and were treated so well. Our room was upgraded to one of the more private rooms. The food was excellent. By night two I was still full. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. Ruan, our guide to the Addo Park was excellent and we managed to see 3 of the Big 5 and many elephants close by. This was a very special stay for us and would love to come back again one day to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrousA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had an amazing stay in Woodall farm.

Driving up to woodall, the surroundings does not show very promissing, but once arrived the place is like an oase. Upon arrival we dropped our lugage and enjoyed a delicious lunch on the terrace overlooking the pond.
The rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated. We very much enjoyed the bathroom and the outdoor shower.
Every night a personal note was put on our pillows which is an indication of the high level of personal service.

Dinner was wonderfull as well.

I actually recommended this place to a friend of mine who booked this place as part of his honeymoon trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivos86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as we wanted to visit the Addo park and we were really amazed. The best hotel we have ever been to. From the beautiful gardens, to the great gym facilities, the friendly service, great rooms everything was perfect. You can have a light lunch for excellent prices (salads & sandwiches) for around 30-40 Rand. The little surprises every night waiting in our room like lot candles really topped it off. We did the sundowner tour in Addo & the Scotia tour with dinner - A MUST. We saw 4 of the big 5.. And so much more. It's only a 45 min. Drive from Woodall. Our little own guesthouse with small jacuzzi pool was unreal. The bathroom & outdoor shower really topped it off. I couldn't imagine anything better - thanks for a great time & thanks to Luvouyu for his friendly service.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lovesworldtravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent two nights at Woodall. Overall we can only confirm the compliments other guests have raised. Wonderful garden, very spacious room with individual outdoor jacuzzi. The restaurant area, which we used for breakfast and one dinner is open towards a roof topped balcony area. The dinner at the restaurant was excellent, no surprise with the recommendations given. Great variety of wines. Little downside was the service. We were missing the warm guest house atmosphere we faced in other locations. Don't get us wrong: It was good but maybe we were expecting a bit more personal conversation. However, we would definitely recommend Woodall. Maybe not for travellers who don't like singing birds in the lake / parc in front of the restaurant, really noisy... ;))

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hakscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on honeymoon on route to kariega. The accomodation is located a few km outside the village of Addo. As we were driving down the bumpy lane way to the house we were a small bit nervous as to what would await us but we need not have worried. This really is a luxurious hideaway. Grounds were fantastic with a lovely pool area. When we were brought to our room we were blown away by the size of it and the facilities with in. It was huge!! We ate in the restaurant that night and the food was fantastic and service excellent too. The restaurant was looking out over a small nature lake and you could sit back, relax and enjoy the many birds that were flying around. We had a delicious breakfast the following morning after which we received a treatment in the spa which again was out of this world. The staff, service, food and accomodation were of the utmost quality and we could not but recommend this property for a stay. Our only regret is that we only stayed here the one night.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Engynumber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
8.6 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
439 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 22 in Addo
305 reviews
6.6 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
24.4 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
345 reviews
1.4 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodall Country House and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodall Country House and Spa

Address: Jan Smuts Ave | Woodall Farm, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Price Range: $145 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodall Country House and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodall is a beautiful property, situated on a peaceful citrus farm, 65km from Port Elizabeth and adjacent to the Addo Elephant Park. It is ideally suited for nature lovers, food and wine connoisseurs, as well as those seeking time out in the spa. Accommodation is private with exceptionally large rooms, especially the suites which have their own pools. There is a wide choice of relaxation areas, including indoor and outdoor sitting areas, library, sundowner deck and chill room. This award winning boutique hotel is the ideal base from which to explore the adjacent Addo Elephant Park, and nearby game reserves such as Schotia, Amakhala, Pumba, Kwantu and Elephant Back Safaris. Honeymooners are specially pampered in an environment of peace and privacy. Stylish, regional cuisine is served in the thatched dining room with views of resident herons, cormorants and rare waterbirds. The cuisine is inspired by the flavours of local ingredients and freshly picked herbs and vegetables. Complementing the menu is the Diner's Club Diamond award winning cellar, boasting a unique and comprehensive collection of fine South African wines, personally selected by the owner. The Citrus Spa offers a unique range of treatments, inspired by the surrounding orchards, and includes a sauna, hydrobath, steam room, Vichy shower and couple's therapy room and gym. Safaris to Addo Park depart daily Experience game at close quarters from Woodall's open Landcruiser. Five Star Country House (TGCSA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Woodall Country House and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodall Country House Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing