We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lodge with Great Rooms and Excellent Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodall Country House and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lodge with Great Rooms and Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent two nights at Woodall. Overall we can only confirm the compliments other guests have raised. Wonderful garden, very spacious room with individual outdoor jacuzzi. The restaurant area, which we used for breakfast and one dinner is open towards a roof topped balcony area. The dinner at the restaurant was excellent, no surprise with the recommendations given. Great variety of wines. Little downside was the service. We were missing the warm guest house atmosphere we faced in other locations. Don't get us wrong: It was good but maybe we were expecting a bit more personal conversation. However, we would definitely recommend Woodall. Maybe not for travellers who don't like singing birds in the lake / parc in front of the restaurant, really noisy... ;))

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hakscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    36
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
65
259
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on honeymoon on route to kariega. The accomodation is located a few km outside the village of Addo. As we were driving down the bumpy lane way to the house we were a small bit nervous as to what would await us but we need not have worried. This really is a luxurious hideaway. Grounds were fantastic with a lovely pool area. When we were brought to our room we were blown away by the size of it and the facilities with in. It was huge!! We ate in the restaurant that night and the food was fantastic and service excellent too. The restaurant was looking out over a small nature lake and you could sit back, relax and enjoy the many birds that were flying around. We had a delicious breakfast the following morning after which we received a treatment in the spa which again was out of this world. The staff, service, food and accomodation were of the utmost quality and we could not but recommend this property for a stay. Our only regret is that we only stayed here the one night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Engynumber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

What an incredible experience!
As others have stated this is as good as it gets.
The food, the service the wine, the staff, the room were all perfect
My wife's and my only regret is that we could only stay 2 nights.
We don't normally post reviews but in this case we had to help get the word out.
We will be back for a longer stay!
Truly the highlight of our trip to South Africa!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were here as a family of 6 people and had a great time. Very gentle and nice people, a great warm hospitality and really extraordinary food - made by a local cook. The Country House is surrounded by beautiful nature. We had beautiful birds building their nests directly in front of our bathroom. Additionally we had a great safari trip with the Wodall guide. We were deeply impressed and would love to come back sometime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soenke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Merlot and Shiraz (two Rhodesian Ridgebacks), homemade lemonade and freshly baked muffins welcomed us, along with friendly staff, on our arrival. Whitey, who maintains the beautiful gardens and even washes all the visitors' cars each morning, says he has worked there for 21 years and his employers are tops. And it shows, in the loving detail everywhere and the very high level of warm friendly service: large, lovely rooms with beautiful bed linen and decor, aromatic oils burning in the bathroom as you return from dinner; outstanding gourmet dinners that change daily; a daily summary of international news inserted in the breakfast menu (in German and English the two days we were there); 22 different preserves awaiting our morning toast; personalised letters in our rooms; myriad ducks, swans and weavers going about their business in the pond next to the verandah, and much, much more. I never even made it to the spa but I bet that would also be outstanding. Situated on a working citrus farm, just 7 km for Addo National Park, this is South African hospitality at its best. Well done Woodall!

Room Tip: Looking out over the main garden, with big bathrooms and outside shower (lovely)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieking2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE TOWN
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Only two nights was not enough - we could have stayed for a week! The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful - each and every query is met by a ready smile and charming assistance. The gardens are a colourful haven in a fairly arid landscape and the rooms are designed with the guest's every wish in mind. The attention to detail is incredible and starts immediately on arrival in the car park where one is met by a smiling receptionist and continues throughout the stay. The huge verandah is a perfect spot from which to bird watch and the lounge and library are beautifully furnished and very inviting.All in all a superlative example of South African hospitality at its very best.

Room Tip: Rooms leading onto the garden are magical - surrounded by glorious flowers and water features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed at Woodall for 2 nights.
Room was huge and bathroom nearly as big.
Everything is fine and aimed at the top end market.
Only disappointment we had was no room service on the second night of our stay. Not really a big issue but we would have expected some help as we had had problems with the heating the night before.
One nice surprise was we had our own plunge pool and courtyard but too cold to use .
The food was excellent even for R295 PP.
The gardens are lovely and the service from dining room staff excellent.
Location 10k from Addo Elephant Park makes this an ideal gettaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OskarandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
6.6 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 21 in Addo
289 reviews
8.6 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 12 in Addo
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
1.4 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
24.4 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodall Country House and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodall Country House and Spa

Property: Woodall Country House and Spa
Address: Jan Smuts Ave | Woodall Farm, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodall Country House and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodall is a beautiful property, situated on a peaceful citrus farm, 65km from Port Elizabeth and adjacent to the Addo Elephant Park. It is ideally suited for nature lovers, food and wine connoisseurs, as well as those seeking time out in the spa. Accommodation is private with exceptionally large rooms, especially the suites which have their own pools. There is a wide choice of relaxation areas, including indoor and outdoor sitting areas, library, sundowner deck and chill room. This award winning boutique hotel is the ideal base from which to explore the adjacent Addo Elephant Park, and nearby game reserves such as Schotia, Amakhala, Pumba, Kwantu and Elephant Back Safaris. Honeymooners are specially pampered in an environment of peace and privacy. Stylish, regional cuisine is served in the thatched dining room with views of resident herons, cormorants and rare waterbirds. The cuisine is inspired by the flavours of local ingredients and freshly picked herbs and vegetables. Complementing the menu is the Diner's Club Diamond award winning cellar, boasting a unique and comprehensive collection of fine South African wines, personally selected by the owner. The Citrus Spa offers a unique range of treatments, inspired by the surrounding orchards, and includes a sauna, hydrobath, steam room, Vichy shower and couple's therapy room and gym. Safaris to Addo Park depart daily Experience game at close quarters from Woodall's open Landcruiser. Five Star Country House (TGCSA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodall Country House and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodall Country House Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing