We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woodall Country House and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
170 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed at Woodall for 2 nights.
Room was huge and bathroom nearly as big.
Everything is fine and aimed at the top end market.
Only disappointment we had was no room service on the second night of our stay. Not really a big issue but we would have expected some help as we had had problems with the heating the night before.
One nice surprise was we had our own plunge pool and courtyard but too cold to use .
The food was excellent even for R295 PP.
The gardens are lovely and the service from dining room staff excellent.
Location 10k from Addo Elephant Park makes this an ideal gettaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OskarandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    36
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
64
258
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place in the amazing Addo national park. The staff are very friendly and really pay attention. Our room was huge and very comfortable with fabulous bathroom. Wonderful breakfast on the terrace overlooking little lake with swans made the start of the day just amazing...)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Unfortunately, we only spent one night at this glorious haven. Had we known beforehand how luxurious this working citrus farm actually is, we would have gladly stayed longer.
Our accommodation was superb, breathtaking actually, huge bathroom, private plunge pool, outdoor shower and beautiful sleeping area.
The restaurant has a great patio for eating breakfast, an adjacent library to have a quiet drink in the heat of the day and an outdoor pool and grassy areas.
The food was delicious and plentiful. Complimentary pre dinner drinks and snacks were served at 6 pm.
We did not go up to Addo because our next stop was Shamwari. However, when we return to the Eastern Cape, we will certainly visit Woodall Country House again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarpered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzaneen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I booked into Woodall Country House and Spa for a relaxing weekend. From the time we arrived until the time we said a very reluctant goodbye, the management and staff made our stay awesome. All the little touches - chocs on the pillow, the personalised welcome letter, daily world news update etc made the stay extra special. The food is out of this world. The staff are helpful and friendly and go out of their way to accommodate any extra requirements you may have. The rooms are magnificent and the bathrooms spacious and romantic. Brilliant!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenS015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Woodall Country House is a beautiful and luxurious hotel with excellent service and incredible food. It's a wonderful place to stay near the fabulous Addo Elephant park. The service could not have been more friendly and the rooms were gorgeous with fabulous bathrooms.

Room Tip: Book a family suite for two adjacent rooms and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My family and I stayed at Woodall Country House and we were very impressed by the attention to detail that the owners had achieved . The rooms were very spacious and the bathrooms matched the rooms perfectly. My children now teenagers (12 & 14 ) felt very special honored , there was a welcome note on their beds addressed to them specifically which set the tone for our entire stay.
The Woodall team looked after us very attentively and their meals were tasty and top class.The air around the estate was sweet with the smell of orange blossoms that time of the year which enhanced the experience.
If you in the Addo area and need a place to stay look no further and book in at Woodall Country House and Spa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Woodall is an oasis set in beautiful grounds ,our room was huge and extremely comfortable and we loved the outdoor double shower.

The service is excellent and friendly and the food in the restaurant is of a very high standard, my daily special on one day was the best breakfast in 3 weeks in SA and i love my breakfasts.

The team are all excellent and there to make your stay as good as possible.We had a couple of hiccups whilst there, neither of which was the hotel's fault ,and they dealt with them efficiently and professionally.

We also took the 3 day Safari package and both the morning game drive with Ruan(The Hotel Manager) and our day Safari to Amkhala were great. Amkhala was special as we had a game ranger to ourself for the day who despite rain made it memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badger49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
6.6 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 21 in Addo
285 reviews
8.6 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
1.4 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
3.5 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodall Country House and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodall Country House and Spa

Property: Woodall Country House and Spa
Address: Jan Smuts Ave | Woodall Farm, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodall Country House and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodall is a beautiful property, situated on a peaceful citrus farm, 65km from Port Elizabeth and adjacent to the Addo Elephant Park. It is ideally suited for nature lovers, food and wine connoisseurs, as well as those seeking time out in the spa. Accommodation is private with exceptionally large rooms, especially the suites which have their own pools. There is a wide choice of relaxation areas, including indoor and outdoor sitting areas, library, sundowner deck and chill room. This award winning boutique hotel is the ideal base from which to explore the adjacent Addo Elephant Park, and nearby game reserves such as Schotia, Amakhala, Pumba, Kwantu and Elephant Back Safaris. Honeymooners are specially pampered in an environment of peace and privacy. Stylish, regional cuisine is served in the thatched dining room with views of resident herons, cormorants and rare waterbirds. The cuisine is inspired by the flavours of local ingredients and freshly picked herbs and vegetables. Complementing the menu is the Diner's Club Diamond award winning cellar, boasting a unique and comprehensive collection of fine South African wines, personally selected by the owner. The Citrus Spa offers a unique range of treatments, inspired by the surrounding orchards, and includes a sauna, hydrobath, steam room, Vichy shower and couple's therapy room and gym. Safaris to Addo Park depart daily Experience game at close quarters from Woodall's open Landcruiser. Five Star Country House (TGCSA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Woodall Country House and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodall Country House Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing