We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woodall is for the Inner Man”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodall Country House and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Woodall is for the Inner Man”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

james and debbie miller owned a citrus farm just a ten minute drive from Addo Elephant Park main gate.So, as the government ploughed money into upgrading Addo, of course they opened up the old farmhouse and outbuildings as a B&B at the luxury end.Their USP is gourmet cooking. Both owners are keen on food and Debbie has ensured that all the locally recruited cooks are well trained and supervised.

The result is food which is always pleasant and interesting and sometimes really touches amazing heights.

They must have upgraded us for our three night stay. We had a large bedroom with sitting area, a hall and dressing room, a bathroom with not just two wash basins but also two showers and a separate WC.And our own delightful small garden with perfectly adequate swimming pool.Luxury indeed-even without a TV. !

Of course all is not perfect. The water in some taps is temperamental.There may be a few cobwebs around in dark places.And the restaurant has one wall which is kept open to the elements and since it is by a small lake ,you will sometimes share your meal with some of the local wildlife.

But all these are minor .

All the staff seemed young, pleasant and only too eager to help.The gardens were beautiful and the pool heavenly.

It is easy to get too being about 30 minutes from Port Elisabeth on a tarmac road with only the last half kilometre being gravel.

If you are a celebrity and someone else is paying the bill, then you should go just down the road to Shamwari where you can join the other international wanner be jetsetters.

If you are a bit more sensible then go around the other corner to Gorah where you will find better value and more normal people.

But if you are really in the know, want luxury peace and quiet, good food and friendship,then go to Woodall.

But keep it to yourself. They only have 11 rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    36
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
65
259
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This was my first trip to South Africa and Woodall was the first accommodation in which we stayed. During our 17 day trip, nothing came close to meeting Woodall's standards. From the moment that my partner and I arrived after a very long journey to be greeted by the owner, James, and his lovely dogs, Merlot and Shiraz, we felt cocooned in luxury. The suite was beautifully decorated and huge - from the enormous bathroom, fabulous bedroom, sitting room and private deck with plunge pool. Every night we returned to find personal notes on the pillow with leaves from a different tree or bush explaining what they were - how special is that. The restaurant with its open verandah, situated by the pond teeming with birds and waterfowl, was wonderful and I could have sat here for hours with a cocktail watching the birds. The staff, without exception were polite, friendly, and attentive without being intrusive. The food was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented - amazing gourmet dinners and fab breakfast. We had a wonderful private game drive into Addo with Ruan who did such a thorough job of explaining the various animals' habits, the flora, etc. and did his utmost to see that we saw as much game as was possible. He also had a great sense of humour. I only have two regrets - we were so busy going out on various game drives (make sure you do the Claw & Tooth one in Schotia where we got very close to lions) that we never had more than a couple of hours to relax in the beautiful gardens and by the pool. My second regret is that 3 nights wasn't long enough - next time I will return for a far longer stay!! Woodall is absolutely superb and more than fulfilled my dream of what an African country house would be like.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fearnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener Waterloo
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

As a family of 8 - we were hesitant about our choice of Woodall for the last 3 nights of our 3 week South African adventure. This place was absolutely perfect! The 3 rooms were large and every detail was looked after - having a private outdoor shower after a game drive in 41 degree heat was pretty awesome.
The presentation of the delicious taste testing menu was as good as we have ever seen anywhere.
What really made Woodall stand apart was the excellent personal service from the staff. Every single person was warm and friendly to all of us - and we had 3 young (6,3&1) children with us.
One night the 3 girls found little teddy bears on their pillows at bedtime. How special is that?!
I am so glad that we did not book one of the more expensive lodges right inside the park-

Woodall had everything to offer foe a wonderful Addo experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSPKitchenerWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Woodall should be perfect - the house and gardens are lovely and the food is good, but the management were lazy and and attention to detail poor. When we left, no-one seemed to care about whether we had enjoyed our stay and our bill featured a number of drinks that we hadn't had. Once is a mistake, but twice is just sloppy. Seems like the owners have become complacent and should take more of an interest in how their hotel is run. Despite the lovely room and setting, this wasn't worth the high price tag.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We booked a two night safari package which included an evening game drive (run by the Park so on a bigger vehicle) , a private full morning game drive in Woodall's own vehicle and two dinners. It was first class from our arrrival being met with cold facecloths to when we left being given chilled bottles of water to take in the car.
Woodall is only some 7km from Addo main entrance so v convenient.
Our accommodation in a suite with a private pool was superb ,and the food both at breakfast and dinner was excellent.
If you are going to Addo and want to treat yourselves to a real luxury experience Woodall is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

A short distance from the Addo Game Park, Woodhall is approached down an unpaved road and the past a citrus plantation. Inside the gates the buildings are laid out around the attractive lawned garden with each room very private and furnished with elegance and with excellent en suite modern bathroom. The main building houses the restaurant and a patio overlooking the lake which contains a large bird population which assembles for feeding at 5 o'clock. The five course gourmet dinner is rightly famous and a bargain at R285. We were there on 14th February and the kitchen pulled out the stops in the presentation of the dishes to reflect the romantic nature of the occasion. Well done Woodhall. I would highly recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjg4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We chose this place for a bit of luxury during our 2 week fly drive of SA, and were not sure if it would live up to its rating or cost.
We needn't have worried - it delivered everything and more, and is good value for money.
All the little extras and attention to detail that transcend a place from a bog standard hotel to somewhere where you are made to feel special - from the little ferns placed on the pillows to the sorbets brought to you at the poolside!
Food (gourmet tasting menus in the evening and mega brekkers spread) and accommodation superb, and the friendly staff cannot do enough for you. The guide who took us on safari (Ruan) was chatting to customers in the dining area in the evening when off duty and even went to his room to get some fieldbooks to answer a question we asked him later in the evening.
Even the dogs are friendly, and anyone who calls their dogs Merlot, Shiraz and Bubbles is bound to be on our wavelength!
This place really does what it says on the tin (or its website, which doesn't even mention the lake teeming with birdlife that the dining veranda overlooks).
Nothing bad to say - go there!!!

Room Tip: They are all great, but have different themes - ask when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
6.6 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 21 in Addo
289 reviews
8.6 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 12 in Addo
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
1.4 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
24.4 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodall Country House and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodall Country House and Spa

Property: Woodall Country House and Spa
Address: Jan Smuts Ave | Woodall Farm, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodall Country House and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodall is a beautiful property, situated on a peaceful citrus farm, 65km from Port Elizabeth and adjacent to the Addo Elephant Park. It is ideally suited for nature lovers, food and wine connoisseurs, as well as those seeking time out in the spa. Accommodation is private with exceptionally large rooms, especially the suites which have their own pools. There is a wide choice of relaxation areas, including indoor and outdoor sitting areas, library, sundowner deck and chill room. This award winning boutique hotel is the ideal base from which to explore the adjacent Addo Elephant Park, and nearby game reserves such as Schotia, Amakhala, Pumba, Kwantu and Elephant Back Safaris. Honeymooners are specially pampered in an environment of peace and privacy. Stylish, regional cuisine is served in the thatched dining room with views of resident herons, cormorants and rare waterbirds. The cuisine is inspired by the flavours of local ingredients and freshly picked herbs and vegetables. Complementing the menu is the Diner's Club Diamond award winning cellar, boasting a unique and comprehensive collection of fine South African wines, personally selected by the owner. The Citrus Spa offers a unique range of treatments, inspired by the surrounding orchards, and includes a sauna, hydrobath, steam room, Vichy shower and couple's therapy room and gym. Safaris to Addo Park depart daily Experience game at close quarters from Woodall's open Landcruiser. Five Star Country House (TGCSA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodall Country House and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodall Country House Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing