We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brilliant Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodall Country House and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Of a number of places that we stayed while on holiday in South Africa, this has to be the best. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and special and nothing was to much to ask. The accommodation was fantastic, Private chalet style accommodation, with faboulous decor,big bedroom, sofa style seating area and also the bathroom included double indoor shower and bath. Outside tropical rainforest double showers housed inside high walled private garden not overlooked at all. In our garden was also our own private pool.
Food was excellent with taster menu on offer every night (7 courses) which cost very little money - nowhere near what one would expect to pay.

Room Tip: The way the houses and gardens are set out I don't think any of the rooms would be a problem as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howling_bibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 418 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

Fabulous room with 4 showers(2 outside in walled private garden), huge comfortable bed, large space totally private. The garden is full of beautiful flowers and the large pond is teeming with birds that swoop and display whilst you sip your sundowner. The food is not only more than delicious, it is an artistic triumph, each course draws an appreciative sigh from the diners. Breakfast has to be seen to be believed. The choice is easily the best I have ever seen. The staff were friendly and efficient, but discreet. .

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed one night at Woodall and what an experience! From arrival to departure you are made to feel extremely special - the staff are amazing, the facilities are 5*, the attention to detail is out of this world and the food is exquisite.
If you are looking for excellent value for money and are wanting to stay just outside of Addo Elephant Park, we can highly recommend Woodall Country House and Spa.
Thanks for a most enjoyable stay - will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FionaBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Woodall set amongst orange groves is a must to visit if you are travelling in South Africa. The owners and staff are so nice. The service was outstanding, The food was excellent( especially dinner, all 7 courses of it!) The villa we stayed in had a traditional African theme right through, massive bed, beautiful bathroom, double showers outside, private pool, complementary drink on arrival, complentary champange and fruit hamper in room. The owner James arranged an elephant back safari for us about a 2 hours drive from there, it wasn't that far away but the road was a dirt track up in the mountains but that added to the enjoyment of the day as the scenery was amazing and we were really out in the bush. Riding, walking with and feeding the elephants and also our 2 nights in Woodall were the highlights of our 2 weeks in South Africa. A very special place.

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The staff and owners of Woodall were great and we had a fantatic stay. We had great food, a super game drive in Addo on Sat and the most fantastic suite. Attention to detail is what made our stay special!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PlettVillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

After a two year break it was a great pleasure to visit Woodall again and to find our expectations were once again exceeded. The suite and its furnishings were the last word in luxury and the cuisine and personal service was really amazing, and I doubt whether it could be bettered. Management was very visible and one really felt that they cared. It was great to see the happy faces on the other guests and to hear them lauding this property. The staff, many of whom we recognised from our last visit, were dedicated and cheerful and ever-attentive. We cannot speak too highly about Woodall and have no hesitation in recommending it to the most discerning traveller. If you can spoil yourself at only one destination on your trip, this is IT.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GREEN15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The food is really excellent at woodall. The location is also very good for visits to Addo Elephant park. The villa's are OK, plenty of room, could however be updated.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alotofdots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addo hotels
8.6 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
484 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#7 of 23 in Addo
319 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
3.7 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
2.6 mi away
Addo African Home
Addo African Home
#5 of 11 in Addo
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodall Country House and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodall Country House and Spa

Address: Jan Smuts Ave | Woodall Farm, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Price Range: $158 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodall Country House and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodall is a beautiful property, situated on a peaceful citrus farm, 65km from Port Elizabeth and adjacent to the Addo Elephant Park. It is ideally suited for nature lovers, food and wine connoisseurs, as well as those seeking time out in the spa. Accommodation is private with exceptionally large rooms, especially the suites which have their own pools. There is a wide choice of relaxation areas, including indoor and outdoor sitting areas, library, sundowner deck and chill room. This award winning boutique hotel is the ideal base from which to explore the adjacent Addo Elephant Park, and nearby game reserves such as Schotia, Amakhala, Pumba, Kwantu and Elephant Back Safaris. Honeymooners are specially pampered in an environment of peace and privacy. Stylish, regional cuisine is served in the thatched dining room with views of resident herons, cormorants and rare waterbirds. The cuisine is inspired by the flavours of local ingredients and freshly picked herbs and vegetables. Complementing the menu is the Diner's Club Diamond award winning cellar, boasting a unique and comprehensive collection of fine South African wines, personally selected by the owner. The Citrus Spa offers a unique range of treatments, inspired by the surrounding orchards, and includes a sauna, hydrobath, steam room, Vichy shower and couple's therapy room and gym. Safaris to Addo Park depart daily Experience game at close quarters from Woodall's open Landcruiser. Five Star Country House (TGCSA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodall Country House and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodall Country House Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing