We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely lodge”
Review of The Elephant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant House
Ranked #7 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A lovely lodge”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is build in colonial style, the staff is very friendly nothing is to much for them. The lodge is very close to Addo elephant park which makes it attractive. There is not a lot in the surrounding so you have dinner in the hotel, which is no problem at all, the food is a fixed menu and cooked with love, never had so good food for such a small cost.
Our room was on the first floor(stable cottage), the wooden roof makes the room smell different but it was a nice experience, we had a lovely terras for ourself and could relax there easily. The hotel has all kind of seperated areas which make it look nice. Very well decorated.
We loved it and would recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welletjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    71
    26
    9
    11
See reviews for
67
167
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schwarzenfeld, Germany
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Elephant House is located 7 km from the main entrance of the Addo Elephant Nationalpark. Port Elizabeth is 1 h away from the hotel.
The colonial style of the hotel with two pools in the nature is amazing. You can book trips to the Nationalpark or to the privat game reserve "Schottia". I would recommend the privat game reserve, because you will se more animals like in the other one.
The owners of the hotel are very friendly. You have the main building and some small other houses in the "garden" of the hotel.
The rooms in the main building are furnished in a african style.
I´m looking forward to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Elephant House in April of 2012 and completely loved it. When you arrive, after a somewhat eye-opening drive from Port Elizabeth, you come into a different world and a different time. Large, open porches and big colonial style settees are everywhere, along with at least two pools and lots of loungers.

The staff, particularly Crystelle, were really helpful and our room was delightful. We asked for at least two rooms, so our daughter could be in a separate one. The perfect solution was to turn a couch into a bed for her, while we had the main bedroom.

Dinner is served every night, if you want it, but it's a choice of one or two menu items only. That's fine, as both nights we ate in, the food was fantastic, even for the 3 year old.
Crystelle also helped us book a private game safari at Schotia, which was super.

All in all, I would love to go back. It was definitely one of the best hotels we stayed in during our entire trip.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank toryp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

place was very restful with colonial style big settees . We got put in the stables which were very spacious but would prefer to be in main house although they were smaller. The nice thing was to go on the safari organised by the hotel using the own vehicle and driver, What you see depends on the day , and although you can drive around youself you cannot get to all areas. The meal was nice but limited menu. They move the tables around depending on weather and how many eating either inside or outside. Really recommend it.

Room Tip: stay in main block not the stables cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012. The setting is delightful with a number of charming outside seating areas, and two pools. Our room was in the grounds of the hotel itself and was spacious and clean. The staff were charming and helpful (we were the only guests there for one night). Breakfasts and supper were good. The only negative as far as we were concerned was that it was rather cold (the day after we left it snowed for the first time in years)! The gas fire in our room didn't work, but we were given an extra heater, so that helped. But the dining room could have been warmer Indoor sitting room was fine, with a warm gas fire. We would definitely like to visit again in the summer! We did a very good hotel organised drive in Addo Elephant Park with Aubrey who was a super guide. We also did a afternoon/night drive at Schotia Private Reserve which was a great success.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouringTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Check in was at the Elephant House and the cottages are set in the gardens opposite. They are very spacious with a huge bathroom decorated in a shabby chic style.
We went on their organized safari drive to Addo Elephant Park in the afternoon which was very good although we felt we didn’t see any more than if we had driven ourselves.
The evening meal was taken over at the Elephant House and very good. Breakfast was at the wine bar/cafe closer to the cottages and was also good. Staff were very friendly.
A relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Unable to rate as I gave up before I even got there.

Got three incorrect invoices for rates and for the deposit, no apology, "just that our System".

Finally when I tried to eft funds, their banking details were incorrect, got told no one else has a problem, however the correct details followed in spite of being assured that I would be called with them, no hint of an apology, took this as an omen, so cancelled.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
0.8 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
2.7 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
300 reviews
6.6 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
4.2 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
1.6 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant House

Property: The Elephant House
Address: P.O Box 82, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Elephant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant House Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing