We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem like heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 22 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We experienced a great hospitality through the Hitge Familiy and its staff. We got pampered to the maximum to make us feel at home. The cottages and the Country Lodge are so stylish, with so many lovley details an blend into nature. The view down to the citrus plantation ist breathtaking. It felt like never leave this paradise. We definitely will come back for a third time. It is fantiastic located near Addo Elephant Park, Scotia and Daniell's Cheetah Farm. It's more than the money worth.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hitge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 581 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2010

My little son and my family enjoyed it too. Was a great experience, especially the food and staff were nice and very helpful. Nice outlook and sceneray.

Hidden in a nice area - highly recommended.

All the best and great success with this service.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theman714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

A bit off the beaten track but once you are there it is an absolutely fantastic experience from your initial welcome to your departure - a truly personal touch from all the staff especially the wonderful Julia and the owner Archie. The views are gorgeous, the rooms spectacular some including an outdoor shower. The food was excellent and although the room prices are high the food and drinks costs when there are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treacletart6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Probably the best place we stayed at during our trip to South Africa.
Great lodge in a beautiful setting. The rooms are quite big, in individual huts and with great views. Staff was incredibly nice and friendly. Great breakfast.
Lodge is about a 15-20 minute drive from Addo National Park. The lodge has a restaurant (but we didn't have dinner there) and there are also a few restaurants about a 5-10 minute drive.
Wish we could have stayed longer...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Our 60th Birthday celebration at Hitgeheim with family and friends for two nights was fantastic. The personalised service from the owner Archie and the rest of the staff was superb. We occupied all the bedrooms which are well appointed, comfortable and spacious with amazing views. The food was delicious and never ending, starting with a lavish breakfast and ending with either a 6 course meal at dinner. Hitgeheim also have a well stocked wine cellar. It was a truly memorable experience and a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelcasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We spent 3 perfect nights at Hitgeheim, an extremely comfortable and relaxing Lodge, within easy reach of Addo Elephant Park and Scotia Private Game Reserve. The atmosphere was tranquil, the views were fabulous, the staff were wonderful and the food excellent. The bedroom and en-suite bathroom were spacious, and the Lodge gave one the impression of an elegant yet comfortable and homely country residence. We would recommend Hitgeheim to anyone wanting to unwind and explore the area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

From the moment we arrived the attention to detail was extraordinary. A welcoming drink, a cheery chat and all the help we needed with bags etc. The hilltop Lodge is beautiful with very private thatched cabins equipped with everything you could need, except -thank Heavens - phones and TVs. Our Room (2) had balconies on both sides, with a truly magnificent view over the orange groves and mountains that stretched as far as the eye could see. There is even an outside shower you can enjoy under the hot, African sun (it is all very private). The room had a large bed, beautifully netted (although we found no sign of mosquitos here), and the bathroom had a cast-iron-style bath in the middle of the room where you could lie and look out over the scenery. Owner Archie and his staff could not have done more. They were courteous, helpful and yet great fun. No stuffy nonsense here, just quality. And the restaurant was superb - they certainly know what they are doing. Our advice, go for 2 days and make some time just to chill out at the Lodge. It is wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addo hotels
4 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#7 of 22 in Addo
313 reviews
10.7 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
461 reviews
2.5 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
3.1 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
4.6 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Address: off Route R336 Direction Addo Kirkwood 9 km | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range: $202 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge and Eco Reserve is a 16 room owner managed, fully serviced, up market thatched lodge outside of Addo Elephant National Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing and wildlife experience in the Malaria Free Eastern Cape, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. This lodge was built bit by bit as our home and form part of our lifestyle. Our rooms are 3 x Superior Rooms, 2 x Superior Family Rooms (each with a double size fold out leather couch, not good for adults, only for children up to the age of 14) 3 Luxury rooms, 4 x Family units each with two full in-suite rooms with an inter leading door. Three of the 4 family units can sleep 5, extra carry in bed in the twin bed side of the two rooms. We do safaris to Addo Elephant National Park in our own open and closed safari vehicles specially designed for your comfort. We also transfer you for your own safety to enjoy Schotia Private Game Reserve, their Tooth and Claw Safari, a perfect combination with Addo Elephant National Park. We arrange this for you. We have two pools, one on the family side for kids and one on the old side for seniors and couples only. We also do fetch and return you for a nominal fee from Port Elizabeth Airport or any nearby destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing