We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Fish Hoek
1 review
“outstanding”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

when we arrived we were so impressed with the staff and the surroundings and the superior room with that bath was superb, we are just sorry that we did not have the time to take a walk around the estate.We have deceided that we shall definatly return next year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eileen And Robe... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    81
    25
    16
    1
See reviews for
119
333
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Hitgeheim Country Lodge for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The rooms are beautiful, very private, and lavishily appointed. Our bathroom was huge and had a large soaking tub that looked out over the Acacia tree on the deck. The gardens are beautifully kept, and decks look out over the mountains and apple orchards in the valley. The sunsets were spectacular. We especially appreciated the staff. They were so attentive and went out of their way to make our stay special (including setting up a table in front of the fire since we were alone that night for dinner). We let Hitgeheim arrange all of our side trips, which included a morning in Addo, afternoon at Scotia, and bush plane to ride the elephants the following morning. We loved every minute and highly recommend this place. Beware, its off the beaten path and you'll think you are lost - you're not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JBW56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The lodge is very comfortable & luxurious. Spacious rooms & lots of privacy: really relaxing. Our trip to Addo Parc was a real highlight - thanks to our excellant guide. Thanks also to the chrf de cuisine spoiling us with delicious meals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have been a Flight attendant for over 33 years and have had the privilege to travel the world both for my job and pleasure. Which leaves me with a lot of experience and knowledge of hotels everywhere and their value for their pricing. My experience staying at Hitgeheim Country Lodge now leaves it at one of my favorite places to stay. For its beauty, excellent staff and the value you get for your dollar.
I chose the Hitgeheim Country lodge from all the great reviews I read on my go to website for travel, Trip Advisor. Where I find people to be very honest saying the good and the bad. Which I so appreciate. Onceces again they could not have been more correct about the 5 Star reviews of the Lodge.
The Hitgeheim website does not do justice to the beauty of the rooms and the grounds. Archie the owner could not have been more helpful in the planning of my trip there with my two girlfriends. Not to mention his wicked sense of humor and wit. His knowledge and compassion for the animals and the people there in Addo has no bounds. He will always hold a special place in our 3 hearts. Along with his wife Marietjie who is more behind the scenes and truly keeps the place running! Don't let Archie kid ya on that one! Ha,ha....
We ended up doing everything he recommended that we could fit in during our 5 night stay. Trust Archie on everything he recommends for you to do. We could not have been more delighted with each Safari and excursion we went on. From Peter and all the information he shared. Tim and Ichna, two other Safari guides and all their knowledge, Rod the pilot who flew us into the Elephant riding Safari and Jeff who guided us once we landed. All were so delightful, knowledgeable and had a sense of humor which we so appreciated.
Now back to the lodge. Donald and Richard part of the staff could not have been more gracious or attentive to our every whim. Fabian and Kay the chefs food was to die for. Just looking at their presentation of each course would make your mouth water. I was expecting the breakfast that is included with your accommodations to be something very minor. Wrong I was. It was also incredible.

I have learned that no matter how beautiful the place is you stay at. The staff and in this case also, the owners Archie and Marietjie add or take away a star on the rating and make your trip truly memorable or not. I would give Hitgeheim Country Lodge a 6 star rating if I could.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Spent 2 nights here - loved it. Our room was awesome. Huge! Very well furnished, with double bath, double shower, hammock on the patio with drop dead gorgeous views over citrus farms below. Pre dinner snacks and a drink with other guests and Archie our host. Very interesting hour prior to a wonderful meal served by excellent staff. Richard looked after us throughout the stay in an exemplary fashion and is the best member of staff we came across in our 18 day tour of South Africa. We did a morning safari in Addo with Peter (excellent informative guide provided by the guest house) then an afternoon safari at Schotia which meant we saw the big 5 but in a less natural setting than Addo. The 2 experiences worked really well and we felt privileged to be there. Dinner in a lapa with open fire - quite an experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Amazing family holiday. Archie and his staff are amazing and we will definitely be back. Beautiful view from lodge overlooking valley. Rooms are spacious, beautiful outdoor/indoor shower. Attention to detail noted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacobus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stunningly beautiful location. We travelled from Cape Town so was a bit of a trek to get there but really worth it. Amazing views of the coast, mountains and sunsets all the way. Staff were so pleasant and helpful. Kids were served drinks at the pool much to their delight. Accommodation was luxurious. Four poster bed and huge sunken bath. Food was on the whole great, 4 courses, but would have liked something less formal on the menu too. The view from the restaurant at sunset had me truly awe struck.
We are a family of 6 and were the only guests. I don't think I would have felt too at ease with our kids fooling around in the pool with other guests around. However, all staff were so kind and friendly to the kids. We went on safari as part of our package. Peter our guide was brilliant with the kids and very knowledgeable and interesting. We saw families of elephants, kudus, eland, a puff adder and warthogs. We also dined with monkeys and mice at our feet, a little scary but strangely fun! It was expensive, we had to share the one room, so it was a little crowded but manageable. Food was extra and not always what I wanted on the menu but compared to other safari packages it was very good value. So glad we did it, a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
4.6 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
3.5 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
2.5 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
6.1 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
3.1 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Property: Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Address: off Route R336 Direction Addo Kirkwood 9 km | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6115, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge and Eco Reserve is a 16 room owner managed, fully serviced, up market thatched lodge outside of Addo Elephant National Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing and wildlife experience in the Malaria Free Eastern Cape, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. This lodge was built bit by bit as our home and form part of our lifestyle. Our rooms are 3 x Superior Rooms, 2 x Superior Family Rooms (each with a double size fold out leather couch, not good for adults, only for children up to the age of 14) 3 Luxury rooms, 4 x Family units each with two full in-suite rooms with an inter leading door. Three of the 4 family units can sleep 5, extra carry in bed in the twin bed side of the two rooms. We do safaris to Addo Elephant National Park in our own open and closed safari vehicles specially designed for your comfort. We also transfer you for your own safety to enjoy Schotia Private Game Reserve, their Tooth and Claw Safari, a perfect combination with Addo Elephant National Park. We arrange this for you. We have two pools, one on the family side for kids and one on the old side for seniors and couples only. We also do fetch and return you for a nominal fee from Port Elizabeth Airport or any nearby destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing