We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$82
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
$56
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$41
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King Edward Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
$43
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Paxton Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
$86
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sir Roys At The Sea(Port Elizabeth)
$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishops Inn(Port Elizabeth)
$46
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Humewood Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Windermere by Mantis(Port Elizabeth)
$123
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (627)
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveler rating
491
87
28
19
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
87
28
19
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerwine cellarhis teamowner archieaddo elephant parkoverlooking the valleyviews are spectacularcomplimentary sherrysundays river valleyschotia game reservefood and winemorning safariprivate reserveguided tourcitrus farmshuge bathroomtwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 627 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2012

An amazing location and excellent staff. Our cottage nr. 3 looked out over the valley, stunning views. Huge space, 2 balconies, huge bathroom, all very nice. But the carpets looked a little worn and the chairs were a little old. So 4 stars would be more appropriate. Also the presence of a huge spider against the wall when returning after a perfect dinner lowered the star rating....

Archie, the owner is very friendly and helpful and can answer all questions. Every member of the staff tries to make your stay as nice as possible. So overall, you have to go there when visiting Addo and Scotia parks.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvwylick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

After some eight years of visits to Hitgeheim Country Lodge, we once again had a delightful overnight last week. Even though the weather was rainy - which adds a pleasant dimension to the valley - we had a grand time visiting and enjoying the accommodations. Food was wonderful and the hospitality excellent, as usual. We look forward to another visit with family from Canada in the next weeks.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are our favorites with a view across the valley towards Addo Park
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldjohns945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We are a family of 5, two parents with a 24, 22 and 13 year old. Hitgeheim was a little piece of heaven for 3 nights over Christmas 2011. On booking we were promised a Christmas to remember and we were not disappointed. The ambience, style and quality of this accommodation was stunning and left us feeling jealous of the life style, ease of living and the quietness was quite remarkable. Hitgeheim is situated in the remote eastern cape of South Africa, on the outskirts of Addo National Park. Archie, the owner of this lodge and his great staff have a unique way of knowing how to accommodate all tastes. Safari to Addo was just as described and a great time had by all of us. We didn’t expect the wet and cold though!! We had a fairly full itinerary which was arranged for us, with time included for relaxation at the pool. You won’t regret heading towards Hitgeheim, it is a special place. Our kids rated it 10/10... that's good going in our house.

Room Tip: Rooms no 3 and 4 were beautiful!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrodNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hitgeheim Country Lodge for 2 nights in mid-September 2011 on our honeymoon. It was amazing - very private and luxurious. (Need to shower? You have the option of using either the indoor private shower, or the outdoor one... or the bathtub!) I could have spent an entire week just living in the cottage. The highlights would be the beautiful cottages, the food, and the amazing views. Another favourite part were the excursions that Archie's team set up for us - we went to the Schotia tour as well as the Addo Park tour. There are also zebras and some other animals right on-site. If we ever go back to South Africa, we will definitely revisit the Hitgeheim Country Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed with our 2-year old son at Hitgeheim and can recommend this lodge to anyone (including kids). The rooms are luxiorious and spacious with great views over the valley. Service is superb and friendly. The family run business is flexible in arranging trips and transport to and from airport, Scotia or Addo elephant park. The ever friendly owner Archie took us himself through Addo which was great with our son as well. With his background of a farmer he had hundred's of stories to tell. The facilities are well positioned with a great gathering place where you can share stories with other visitors or just enjoy the view and have a cold drink. The restaurant again has a great view but also a great chef that uses local herbs and meats cooking the dinner. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it a lot!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKooistra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews