We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hazel's Organic Restaurant - CLOSED

Hazel's Organic Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: African, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hazels is undergoing a name change as well as a change of venue. We are confident the new venue will provide a much more satisfying experience. the new name also reflects a desire to update and upgrade . Watch this space
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Thanks so much to Hazel and Randy for a great evening! Friendly service, amazing soups with home made bread, delicious meals (including vegetarian dishes not on the menu) and best of all, all the veggies came straight from the Permaculture garden right outside.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank evandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    59
    22
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great wild meat dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Kudu and eland well worth trying. Be prepared to share your table with other diners. A friendly dog keeps the kids entertained.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tasty and honest food, very good for vegetarians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

While we were in Addo we did not care very much to go to the restaurant inside the park where the food is so-so. In this part of South Africa we found it difficult to get good food, especially good vegetarian food. Therefore, reading about Hazel's we had high hopes - and we were not disappointed!

First of all, the atmosphere is great, very laid-back and familiar and we felt more like in a private home than in a restaurant. Even though the focus of the restaurant is on game meat, they also offer some good vegetarian options. Everything we had was excellent: fresh, well prepared, and with enough variety to go there several times. Make sure to reserve your table because it was very busy even off-season.

But there is more to Hazel's than the food, because this place has a mission, and it is not just to make money. Apart from cultivating their own organic vegetables, they also support children from the local village with much enthusiasm and dedication. I admire this initiative and wish there were more businesses like Hazel's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Was my pork fillet a health risk?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The beer was not cold ... a bad start on a warm day. My pork was very pink almost red ( my sister's looked rare). It was very tasty but I was worried that every mouthful was a health risk. We had been advised to not have the pork well done. The vegetables were varied and fresh but luke warm at best. The wine list is very Durbanville Hills orientated and the red wine is stored in less than optimum conditions as it was served very warm. I was left with the feeling that with a little attention to the basics the restaurant could be excellent if you like venison.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were really looking forward to eating at Hazel's having been told how excellent it was by our Addo guide. On arrival we found it to extremely noisy and un-organised. Our party of four were eventually seated at a table set for eight, we found it almost impossible to have a conversation without shouting. The host gave his "verbal" menu (no prices or cooking options), we ordered and then waited. The drinks eventually arrived, the beer the wrong selection and the white wine warm. Three starters arrived, we eventually had to ask for the fourth, the waiter had "forgotten" to bring it. Our main courses of were of Blesbok steak, cooked extremely rare and bloody and Eland steak, well done and tough. Friends later told me that the Eland must have been cooked from frozen due to its strange grey colour.
I have always believed that tipping should be a reflection of the meal, generous for a good experience slight for a bad one. The "gratuity" is added to the bill at Hazel's, although this is not mentioned by the owner, giving no option for the customer of tip. Overall a very disappointing experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hazel's Organic Restaurant also viewed

 
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 
Kirkwood, Sundays River Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing