We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming accomodation and hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gerald's Gift Guest House
Ranked #4 of 22 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

positives -----*fabulous gardens and very spacious rooms
*terrific service -----car washed every morning and complimentary sherry and port
* charming staff and hosts

*excellent cuisine and very good value evening meals if required .

*negatives----no TV or fridge in the room which we would have expected at these prices

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fishes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 196 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Gerald's Gift for the weekend of the Addo Rose Show. We loved this guest gouse and recommend it very warmly. The spacious, immaculate bedrooms, which all open onto the large manicured garden, are very private. The hosts are charming and discreet and the general organisation and the attention to detail reflect their hands-on management. This is a really special place and we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Visited Geralds Gift again with family.This has ben one of many visits here . This is is certainly a great place to relax and unwind to enjoy the peace of the garden and nature Walkerd their walk around the farm fed the horses and donkeys Went to Addo Elephant park and saw well over 350 elephants Awesome experience the hosts are wonderfully hospitable and helpful with tours and advice on the area .Delicious breakfasts

Room Tip: Do schotia Safari as a option for game viewing and go to south part of Addo park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foresthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We spent two night here before going to Addo park. Lovely views and gardens. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely we also had dinner there on our second night very nice. Would recommend this BB.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runninglady97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

A lovely place to stay to visit Addo Elephant Park which is only 20 minutes away. Exquisite gardens. Nice rooms. Nice hostess. Lovely breakfast. An idylic place to stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caidenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We spent one night here before going into Addo. Hostess Sue was very welcoming and helpful. The room was comfortable and well-appointed and our breakfast delicious. The grounds are magnificent and if you are a dog-lover then Jack is an added bonus. We enjoyed the guest lounge where we were able to enjoy our own bottle of wine but there is also a well stocked honesty bar. We would definitely return if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickypen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My wife and I had an absolutely great time and can't wait to go back. It's just a beautiful place and run by wonderful people. Sue and Hilda gave us great and objective advice on what to see and do in Addo and we are still talking about our trip. If you are going to Addo, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addo hotels
4.7 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
2.4 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
1.1 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Addo Wildlife
Addo Wildlife
#4 of 11 in Addo
16 reviews
3.3 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#11 of 22 in Addo
129 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#7 of 22 in Addo
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerald's Gift Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerald's Gift Guest House

Address: R336 Kirkwood Street | Between Selbourne and Sunland, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range: $95 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gerald's Gift Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty and tranquility of this charming 4 star Guest House which offers luxury accommodation in the heart of the Sundays River Valley and is 15 kms away from, the malaria free and world renowned, Addo Elephant National Park. Gerald's Gift is situated in a beautiful and well-manicured park-like garden on the banks of the Coerney with an abundant variety of bird life in the adjacent reeds and riverine bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gerald's Gift Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing