We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My escape!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Ranked #1 of 23 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Thank you to Neels and Juanita! Perfect hosts and 100% there to make sure that you enjoy your stay! Lovely breakfast! The best place to stay in Addo. You have it all! Spacious rooms, neat, everything you need in the kitchen and the lovely outdoors with trails to the river! I will stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 381 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had 4 beautiful nights at the old Drift Guest Farm. The rooms we had were big and comfy with a private terrace. There is also a clean pool with loungers an towels for swimming. We enjoyed the three dogs that belong to the farm and welcomed us every morning or joined us for a walk on the farm. The breakfast is good and you can get a sandwich anytime during the day. In the morning you can choose if you want dinner in the evening. We had dinner only once but this was really great. Neels the owner barbecued the meat for us and our vegetarian friend became her separate meal. Biancke, the manager, prepared the rest of the meal and it was delicious. Especially Biancke did a great job trying to make this stay special. This is a really peaceful and relaxing place to go and you are close to Addo and other game reserves.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

This place is a gem. We took the self catering room which has a kitchenette and Braai/BBQ area.

The whole place is really nice and tranquil. The farm and surrounding area is very well maintained. The rooms are clean, modern and homely.

I highly recommend going to a pick n pay in Port Elizabeth (especially if you are vegetarian) otherwise there is a petrol station with convenience store (3km) and Lenmore (12km - fruit, veg, bakery) where you can get coal, firelighters and food from.

They have 3 very friendly and obedient dogs. My wife is some what scared of dogs and commanded them to sit and they were very friendly and do not bark or bother you. The small one is cute and will walk around with you and likes a nice game of catch with sour lemons that have fallen off.

The place is close to Addo and the owners are very friendly and will give you lots of local advice if you need it.

Highly recommended and wish we stayed longer.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VeggieLondoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This guesthouse located in the middle of a citrus farm is a very relaxing place to stay. The self-catering units are well equipped, also to have your own braai (BBQ) on the private deck. The three dogs are very well trained and love to be petted. Close to Addo Elephant Park. Great breakfast and pool area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABCDE87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This guest house is in a quiet location, situated on working citrus farm and very close to the Addo Elephant Park. The B&B rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. We arrived well ahead of check-in time, but were allowed to pick up the key to our room so that we could go into the Park for the rest of the day and simply come back later when we were ready. We really appreciated this as it allowed us to make the most of our limited time in Addo. A special thank you to all the staff for an excellent stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank GillP2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This Guest House is situated on a small working Lemon Farm out in the countryside about 5 km south of Addo. There are individual small "houses" dotted around the attractive gardens. A pool & loungers & towels were very welcome. Our house was large & the bed & pillows were very comfortable. There was a selection of cerals, cakes & a cooked option for Breakfast which was more than adequate. The guest house is about 25 mins drive south of the Addo Elephant Park. Of the nearby restaurants for dinner, I would recommend Lenmore, about 8 km north of the guest house, on the main road. Dinner is also available at the farm. There are 3 very friendly dogs that wander around. Clean & Comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BELMONTIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Located in Addo, the beautiful guesthouse is a 20 minutes care ride from the Addo Elephant Parc away. Biancke, the Manager, was a perfect host a friendly Person. The area with pool and lanvender everywhere was super neat and beautifully cultivated. I loved the sweet Dogs and the relaxing time at the pool. I would definitely book again as soon as I am in that area again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addo hotels
3.8 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
4.6 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
2.4 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
4.7 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#7 of 23 in Addo
321 reviews
1.7 mi away
Happy Lands B&B
Happy Lands B&B
#6 of 23 in Addo
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Old Drift Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Old Drift Guest Farm

Address: De Old Drift | R335, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range: $108 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Old Drift Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COME AND RELAX IN OUR TRANQUIL ENVIRONMENT, WITH ONLY SOUNDS OF NATURE AT YOUR DOORSTEP... De Old Drift Guest Farm, a short distance from the little village of Addo in South Africa’s malaria-free Eastern Cape province and only 15min drive from the renowned Addo Elephant National Park, with its big Seven, and numerous other species. De Old Drift is a working citrus farm, one of the smallest but most peaceful farms in the area. Take a tour through the orchards and venture down to The Sundays river, only a short 2km away, where Njala, Kudu’s and Rooibok can be seen on the ridge of the mountain. Relax around the pool after a long day at the Elephant Park, or take a walk through the garden and orchards, when the trees are in blossom, the smell of citrus permeates the air. Enjoy our refreshing breakfast in our thatched roof lapa overlooking the garden and swimming pool area. Adventure, fun and games await children, where Pumba (Labrador), Timone (Jack Russel) and Mufasa (Bullmastiff) love to make new friends and play... a little paradise for all children. Your hosts Neels, Juanita and Steffi, will make sure that your stay will be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Old Drift Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing