We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Ranked #2 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“perfect stay”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

we booked 2 nights at the selfcatering unit for doing the addo elephant park and a safari at schotia private reserve. we even added one extra night at the old drift to relaxe a bit before doing the garden route, as we liked it that much there! breakfast was delicious and set up really lovely! the area of the farm is great to walk round and relax! the pool is small but really lovely, clean and refreshing - and there are always fresh towels ready to grab for the guests. the staff is really helpful and nice. the furniture at our room was lovely and the bbq spot just right with all the stuff set up, that could be needed for it. also we loved the dogs of the owners, which were always around, chilling in front of our door or in our garden! we would love to come back one day!!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    86
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
116
171
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a self catering unit. We had a terrace, small kitchen, nice bedroom and a large bathroom. Everything was very clean and lovely. There is a pool and nice pool area and since the farm isn't that big, the pool is never crowded. The setting and atmosphere of the farm is absolutely amazing with the small paths, the lemon trees, the river and the mountain.

The owners and staff (including the dogs!) were very warm, helpful and welcoming. We had dinner at the farm restaurant one night and got a great meal with meat, grilled exactly just we wanted it, and a good wine.

We visited Addo Elephant National Park and Amakhala Game Reserve while staying at the farm. They were both great for one day excursions.

We would love to return to this farm and will recommend it to anyone who is going to this area. It's simply amazing!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arwems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights and spent the old years evening there. Very nice rooms, quiet and peaceful place. The safari to Addo and Schotia they recommanded was great and impressing. The perfect place in the Addo area. Besides, I learned that a springbock is not only an animal but a very good tasting drink :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZebRa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

What a fantastic place! We had a great 4 night stay in the self catering cottage which was just delightful. The gardens are amazing, pool great. Addo was brill & the safari we did pleased adults and children would recommend this without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 686amandab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

As we booked one night in the old drift guest farm, we got contacted directly and they send us a list of things to do and tours we could book at Addo and Scotia. So we decided to book the tour directly with them that was very comfortable to us.
As we arrived we found our cottage freshly cleaned, with a large bathroom and a kitchen. The cottage itself is app. 50m away from the main house and pool. It was really quiet and we enjoined the beautiful surroundings. The place where you got served breakfast and the breakfast itself were also really great. We enjoyed our stay there, it's worth to spend more than one night at de old drift!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatGa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

What joy to spend time at this beautiful facility. The rooms were great (the shower way above standard), staff, food and general environment excellent and to conclude - we left with a "this must be repeated" because it was simply to good to do only once.

Room Tip: Be aware of the variety that's available - guest house, self-catering, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ernafour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We arrived on Sunday and we were straight away welcomed into the De Old Drift family, after a lazy afternoon we had a wonderful supper with one of the finest steaks on offer with great wine. The next morning a sumptuous breakfast awaited us before we embarked on a day of game drives in Addo and surrounds. It is an ideal base to explore this area and the staff led by Biancke the manager are extremely helpful. We loved the three friendly dogs Pumba, Timone and Mustafa. A real home from home, could not recommend it more. Thanks a Million….

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
3.8 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
4.6 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
5.0 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
8.7 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
11.2 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Old Drift Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Old Drift Guest Farm

Property: De Old Drift Guest Farm
Address: De Old Drift | R335, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Old Drift Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COME AND RELAX IN OUR TRANQUIL ENVIRONMENT, WITH ONLY SOUNDS OF NATURE AT YOUR DOORSTEP... De Old Drift Guest Farm, a short distance from the little village of Addo in South Africa’s malaria-free Eastern Cape province and only 15min drive from the renowned Addo Elephant National Park, with its big Seven, and numerous other species. De Old Drift is a working citrus farm, one of the smallest but most peaceful farms in the area. Take a tour through the orchards and venture down to The Sundays river, only a short 2km away, where Njala, Kudu’s and Rooibok can be seen on the ridge of the mountain. Relax around the pool after a long day at the Elephant Park, or take a walk through the garden and orchards, when the trees are in blossom, the smell of citrus permeates the air. Enjoy our refreshing breakfast in our thatched roof lapa overlooking the garden and swimming pool area. Adventure, fun and games await children, where Pumba (Labrador), Timone (Jack Russel) and Mufasa (Bullmastiff) love to make new friends and play... a little paradise for all children. Your hosts Neels, Juanita and Steffi, will make sure that your stay will be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your De Old Drift Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing