We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lodge in a citrus farm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Ranked #2 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely lodge in a citrus farm”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have enjoyed our stay in the De Old Drift Guest Farm as we have been warmly welcomed by Steffi and staff working there! We stayed in the self Catering unit which was very clean and quite big and very well equipped as well. There is even a big bbq facility! It was close to the Addo Elephant park but a car is required as it is set in a quiet nature place and the next village is a few km away. If we ever go back to Addo we will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    86
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
114
171
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beernem, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we were very, very, confortable in the self catering unit. Also the owners, let us feel extremely, that we are very welcome and did the most possible, to make us cosely and confortabel...
we enjoy it there very much : the view, the garden, the house, the BBQ, and the stillness...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neirynckantoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our little Family spend 3 nights in this lovely place. We had the best time at the Guestfarm from our hole four weeks vacation in South Africa. Everybody been always helpfull and did everything to make our stay just perfect. If we ever go again we would definitely stay there!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana_HDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a casual guest farm where you immediately feel at home. We were greeted by Steffi who was very helpful indeed. The owners also made us feel very welcome and we very much enjoyed the wonderful bbq they organized for all the guests. The location is ideal if you want to visit Addo National Park and they go out of their way to help you with organizing your trip to the parks in the vicinity. This is an ideal place to either stay with families or as a couple. Clean accommodation and lovely to stay at a working citrus farm. Breakfast is also very good.We will certainly return next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrisVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a 2 night stay in this very peaceful and beautiful guest house, very close to the the main entrance gate for Addo. We were very comfortable in the delux self catering unit and the hosts were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrynarbor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just spent 3 nights here after a recommendation from friends, thank you to them. The farm is in a lovely setting very near the national park, we walked around the citrus trees down to the river which was delightful. We stayed in one of the B & B rooms, which had everything we needed and made a very comfortable place to stay. Everyone was very friendly & helpful, Juanita, Neels and Steffi were charming and nothing was too much trouble. We ate there 2 nights, one night we were by ourselves, the other night food was a braai, Neels hosted this very well and all the guests mingled well, the Amarula helped! Breakfasts were very good too.
Special mention has to be made of the 3 dogs, I could have taken them all home with me, delightful characters all of them. They disappear quickly enough if you do something else, so if you are not a dog lover, do not be put off.
We went from here on a tour with Crisscross into the national park, Chen was our guide, highly recommend doing this and asking for him.
We hope to visit De Old Drift again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We would definitely recommend this Guest Farm. The self-catering cottage we stayed in was spotlessy clean with everything we required and a stunning view. All this and inexpensive as well. The staff was very friendly and efficient and we had a fantastic weekend. Will definitely visit again. Being animal lovers we loved that the 3 dogs visited us every day and the Jack Russel even accompanied me on a walk down to the river!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addo hotels
3.8 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
4.6 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
2.4 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
8.7 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
4.7 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 21 in Addo
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Old Drift Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Old Drift Guest Farm

Property: De Old Drift Guest Farm
Address: De Old Drift | R335, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Old Drift Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COME AND RELAX IN OUR TRANQUIL ENVIRONMENT, WITH ONLY SOUNDS OF NATURE AT YOUR DOORSTEP... De Old Drift Guest Farm, a short distance from the little village of Addo in South Africa’s malaria-free Eastern Cape province and only 15min drive from the renowned Addo Elephant National Park, with its big Seven, and numerous other species. De Old Drift is a working citrus farm, one of the smallest but most peaceful farms in the area. Take a tour through the orchards and venture down to The Sundays river, only a short 2km away, where Njala, Kudu’s and Rooibok can be seen on the ridge of the mountain. Relax around the pool after a long day at the Elephant Park, or take a walk through the garden and orchards, when the trees are in blossom, the smell of citrus permeates the air. Enjoy our refreshing breakfast in our thatched roof lapa overlooking the garden and swimming pool area. Adventure, fun and games await children, where Pumba (Labrador), Timone (Jack Russel) and Mufasa (Bullmastiff) love to make new friends and play... a little paradise for all children. Your hosts Neels, Juanita and Steffi, will make sure that your stay will be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your De Old Drift Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing