We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay when visiting Addo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Ranked #1 of 22 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
München
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay when visiting Addo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Great hosts, very peaceful, no shops or restaurant. The setting is very nicely done - beautiful garden and my son loved the dogs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieOrla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    82
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
110
168
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St.Galler-Rheintal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights and unfortunateley there was no evening meal and no game drives. So we had to drive to Lenmore, were there was a small shop and a nice restaurant. The area of old drift is ok for relaxing in the garden or if the Addo-Park is fully booked. The owner couple is very nice and the breakfast was very good. We liked the dogs, they were very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Choose a room with cooking facilities. There is no evening meals and the next restaurant is 16 km to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margrit51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed four nights and had a great experience. Our room was very clean with efficient air conditioning. The breakfasts were well cooked and presented with lots of choice. The setting was restful with a nice garden and small pool. Breakfast was served in a central area. Recommendatiosn were made for evening restaurants and places to visit. However the "star" of our visit was a full day trip to Addoo Elephant park with Delano. Delano was an enthusiastic knowledgeable guide who used his experience to show us lots of different animals at close quarter. We did not see any lions but Delano did try very hard. We would recommend the full day which allows plenty of time to see the vastness of the park and enjoy the lunchtiime South African BBQ. Lize was also very friendly and helpful and their hospitality make this a special place.

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesA298a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the self catering, thatched bungalow which set the scene for our first game drive and we thought that both the accommodation and facilities available were of a high standard. This was our first experience with a mosquito net and yet we found that we did not need it and in fact sat outside without any problem until late every night. The nearest restaurant also has a deli attached and we found the food there to be both excellent quality and good value. On one night we ordered dinner which was delivered to the room, Boboti, absolutely delicious. The highlight was our afternoon out with Delano otherwise our choices would have been a shortened version with a park guide or driving our own car. His raised truck allowed us to get a much better view of the animals and he was able to use his knowledge and contacts to get us to the best spotting opportunities. That trip turned out to be one of his top 3 and his enthusiasm was infectious. In fact we got so close to lions, elephants, warthogs, buffalos and kudo that although we had left the next day free to do our own thing we sat by the pool because we felt the experience couldn't be bettered.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alkmaar,holland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and had a lovely room. Sitting on your own veranda and listening to all the sounds or take a swim in the nice pool is perfect. The highlight was the safari to Addo with Delano. He tried to give us the best of Addo.If you are here,do the safari!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulhofstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

De Old Drift farm is on the site of one of the oldest hotels in South Africa, at the lowest crossing point of the Sunday river. It is very convenient for Addo elephant park; perhaps a 15 minute drive. We stayed 4 days, which was fine for us, as we had time to relax after completing the Garden Route. Two days would be enough for most people, as the Elephant Park is about all there is to do. The accommodation was great-clean and well equipped. Dinner can be ordered if you wish to eat in the guests dining room / lounge, where, incidentally, I was also able to watch the cricket. There are other retaurants about 10 minutes away, but not as good as the food you get at the farm. Breakfast was very good, offering a good range of choice.The farm is a working citrus farm. Delano, the son-in-law of the owners, is a qualified guide at the elephant park, and he will take you for a bespoke half-day drive through the park. The downside of his tour is that he can't go to all the places the park guides can. The upside is that he knows his subject, and when he finds something that catches your interest, you can watch as long as you want, whereas park guides work to a tight schedule. He also has the contacts to find out where things are happening on the day you are there. We sat within 10 metres of a lone elephant, and saw buffalo at 20 metres and lions at 400 metres, as well as a host of other antelope and deer. The family are very welcoming, and can arrange laundry, car washing-anything you want, really. In all, it was a very relaxing and good value stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnLeightonBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Three of us stayed for 2 nights in the 2 bedroomed self catering lodge (thatched roof). This accommodation was basic but clean. the position of the lodge necessitated using the, provided, mosquito nets. the flies were definitely an issue especially in the evening.
The 'braai' was good and we used it each night.

The accommodation is rated as 3 star this, in my opinion, was correct for the nicely appointed B&B units. However, the self catering unit was, in my opinion, only 2 star.

We took the Elephant Park trip hosted by Delano, the farmer / tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. He knew where to go to see the most animals. the trip took a total of 6 hours. at first it may appear to be a bit expensive but the cost includes entrance fee to the park, a picnic style breakfast and the individual services of Delano - highly recommended.

So all-in-all De old Drift gives good value and, in the case of the 2 bedroomed self catering unit, gives a rural African experience.

Room Tip: If you want 3 star, choose a B&B unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penbay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
2.4 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
3.8 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
4.6 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
5.1 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
11.2 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Old Drift Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Old Drift Guest Farm

Property: De Old Drift Guest Farm
Address: De Old Drift | R335, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Old Drift Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COME AND RELAX IN OUR TRANQUIL ENVIRONMENT, WITH ONLY SOUNDS OF NATURE AT YOUR DOORSTEP... De Old Drift Guest Farm, a short distance from the little village of Addo in South Africa’s malaria-free Eastern Cape province and only 15min drive from the renowned Addo Elephant National Park, with its big Seven, and numerous other species. De Old Drift is a working citrus farm, one of the smallest but most peaceful farms in the area. Take a tour through the orchards and venture down to The Sundays river, only a short 2km away, where Njala, Kudu’s and Rooibok can be seen on the ridge of the mountain. Relax around the pool after a long day at the Elephant Park, or take a walk through the garden and orchards, when the trees are in blossom, the smell of citrus permeates the air. Enjoy our refreshing breakfast in our thatched roof lapa overlooking the garden and swimming pool area. Adventure, fun and games await children, where Pumba (Labrador), Timone (Jack Russel) and Mufasa (Bullmastiff) love to make new friends and play... a little paradise for all children. Your hosts Neels, Juanita and Steffi, will make sure that your stay will be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Old Drift Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing