We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say - loved it all!”
Review of Camp Figtree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camp Figtree
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What can I say - loved it all!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Access was interesting and u might need a 4 x4 if wet otherwise a 2WD is ok. Food was fabulous - staff were great esp. Chen. Rooms and view over Valley is stunning. Safari into ADDO Park was wonderful - don't do it in yr own car. Chen has x-Ray eyes for spotting wildlife. Stay min. 2 nights and ride the elephants bare back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank roXxy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    76
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
85
282
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had our honeymoon at Camp Figtree (Luxury suite). It was excellent!
The staff are friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us, and the food is the absolute best!
Great views from the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H_J_W_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagu, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

With so many beautiful places to stay in South Africa, making a second visit to any guesthouse or hotel speaks for itself. As with our previous visit, we loved the atmosphere, the fantastic views and sunset, and the excellent catering. We have seen several improvements since our last visit. This is a remote place, a very long way from the nearest supermarket, so it is particularly important to emphasise any special dietary requirements such as vegetarian meals well in advance and to send a reminder just before the visit. Also, bring a torch as the generator is switched off during the night. This is a mountainous area, quite high above the plain and if you are unfortunate to be there during one of the rare rainy days it will be cold-come prepared with something warm and your Kindle. Camp Fig Tree is close to the Zuurberg section of the Addo Elephant Park, which has none of the big five and so is safe for walking and we were pleased to see an improvement in the signposting in the area. As is often the case with walks in South Africa we think the time estimates are probably offered by athletes or military recruits-it is advisable to allow more time than is stated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xairu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The atmosphere of Camp Figtree is nothing short of »Out of Africa«-Feeling. You wouldn't be suprised if Meryl Streep, Klaus Maria Brandauer or Robert Redford would come around for a sundowner. It was just a pity that we had such a bad weather during the two nights we stayed. It was raining cats and dogs the first night and the one gas heater was hardly enough. My wife is feeling cold quite easily while I am more hardboiled, but even I must admit: It was simply a very cold first night. But probably this isn't a problem most of the time. The location in the Zuurberg Mountains is spectacular, it is a very quiet and peaceful place and not far from the main gate of Addo Elephant Park. The Game Drive with Mike was very nice (despite the cold weather on that day) and dinner and breakfast in the Restaurant (with Waltzer music) were very very good. We will definitely come back to Camp Figtree - at a different time of year and hopefully with more sunshine.

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the Suites - the view into the mountains is simply brilliant. And you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christophneuschaeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Wonderful location up in the Zuurberg mountains, close to Addo but secluded and peaceful. Very friendly staff and a great game drive. Rent a 4x4 to get up the tricky dirt road on the way, but well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Often pictures are taken of establishments, and when you arrive, you are slightly disappointed. Well, at Camp Figtree, it is exactly as you see it on each photo. Magnificent views, beautiful surrounding, peace and quiet.

On arrival we were greeted by Mike, taken to our room, Nr 6. Unfortunately my husband was not well, and all was done to help us to be made comfortable. Barlow was assigned to bring the dinner to the room, and how concerned he was.

The overall experience right dow to the little details, was superb. We can highly recommend this beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Camp Fig Tree is among the most beautiful places I have ever stayed -- definitely a highlight of our two weeks in South Africa. The best description I can find for the atmosphere is "rustic luxury". Staff was incredibly hospitable, rooms were well-maintained and appointed, food was good and the peacefulness of being in such a remote place was invaluable. Not a bad thing at all but important to note that electricity runs off of a generator, so it's not available throughout the day and night. A place would like Camp Fig Tree in Europe or North America would be booked solid months in advance, and likely prohibitively expensive, so this is a South African gem that is worth making time for while in the Addo area.

Room Tip: Although the luxury rooms are a little bit wore expensive, they are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
18.4 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
336 reviews
4.6 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
432 reviews
8.6 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
10.8 mi away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
328 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 21 in Addo
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Figtree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Figtree

Property: Camp Figtree
Address: Zuurberg Road R335, Addo, Sundays River Valley, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Figtree 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Camp Figtree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing