We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a long way to the top”
Review of Camp Figtree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camp Figtree
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's a long way to the top”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We arrived on a grey day from Knysna and after a longish drive really appreciated a friendly welcome and a cold beer. Some might find the 14km drive along a bumpy gravel road a pain but believe me it's well worth it, the views are incredible.
The staff were all very friendly and we really appreciated the late lunch the rustled up for us. We were in the Boardwalk suite and the in laws were in the luxury suite. Our room was amazing and the lux room just ridiculous!
Mike the manager/Ranger took us to Addo in the camps Landie and we had an amazing time seeing loads of Ellies and enjoying his broad knowledge of the surrounding flora and fauna.
We were really impressed with the beautifully prepared 3 course dinner and lovely breakfast.

We'll definitely be back as 1 night isn't enough, we really need to spend a day lying in the pool and enjoying the views.

Room Tip: Luxury boardwalk suite as it not that much more and is just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zing75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    75
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
84
274
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family of six had an incredible three days here. An incredible view, great food, incredibly friendly staff and we immensely enjoyed the educational walk and safari lead by the Camp guru, Mike. Old colonial feel, great location. Close to Addo National Elephant park which was great. Child-friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issy95_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern england
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This very special guest house absolutely took our breath away. It must be one of the best locations for any hotel in the world. And the old colonial feel of the place adds to the feeling of an old outpost from many years ago. We were lucky enough to bag the family suite - even though it was only for my husband and I! With views both North and South and our own private swimming pool, a drawing room, bathroom, separate shower room and 2 small extra bedrooms, dinner and breakfast included it has to be the best value around. Our grown up sons had a fabulous room too with small extra room, separate Loo and bath/shower room, all worked excellently with masses of hot water (albeit brackish but who cares about that?) and the lack of air conditioning was simply not a problem - we all opened the windows and nobody came in!
The open terrace with its comfortable armchairs and coffee tables fashioned from old camp beds was the most charming we saw in South Africa. The swimming pool almost hanging over the hill with shady terrace and look out post was beyond stunning.
The staff bent over backwards to help and served a delicious dinner around the fire. The stars and birdlife were wonderful too. We were certainly warned about the lack of electricty after 10pm but funnily enough it didn't happen and we were asleep by 10.30 so didn't know about it if it had!
The drive up was absolutely fine in a normal car, don't be put off. OK so no wifi but thats part of the charm.
Everyone was delightful and helpful - nobody seemed to be in charge......it didn't seem to matter to us but perhaps might to others.
Would certainly recommend it 100% to everyone. Fabulous.

Room Tip: Go for the big suite - its hardly more expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3sisters3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Görlitz
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2012

At the end of a bumpy and partly steep road we reached our destination the Camp Figtree. The camp is situated on the top of a mountain and we had stunning views over the Sunday River Valley. Our cottage had enough place and a terrace to feel well. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Food and service were very good. Our trip with the manager Mike to the Addo Park was very interesting and we watched Elephants, Kudus, Zebras, birds and other animals. A really great experience amid pure nature.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horst B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in a huge, luxury suite, with large verandah overlooking (in fact overhanging) miles of steep valleys and high hills. The staff are first rate - helpful in every way, the food very good and the atmosphere informal and relaxed. The access road is no problem - we had the smallest grade of hire-car. Our stay made a lovely contrast to the coast, and a useful base for Addo Elephant Park.

Room Tip: Choose a luxury suite for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownhills, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We turned up without a reservation but were welcomed and fitted in. We stayed for two nights and loved every minute of it. The views are magical, the rooms are very large and clean, the beds are comfy but what makes it even more special is the very personalised service given by the staff. Literally nothing is too much trouble! Although the camp is at the end of a bumpy track, it can easily be nogotiated in a regular car. The eco-lodge credentials also mean lights are out at 10pm for example, but it all adds to the charm of the place. Pretty solar powered lantens are supplied to all guests - just in case. As the lodge is so popular, I recommend making a reservation beforehand, you really do not want to miss out on this place!!

Room Tip: The cabins on stilts at the end of the boardwalk are definitively the ones to go for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstridandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, but really wished we could have stayed longer. The camp is at the end of a long and bumpy track, but the views and ambience make it worth every twist and turn. We were greeted warmly by Gift, who showed us around, and had many interesting conversations with him and with Mike, the manager, both friendly, gentle, and knowledgable, and tolerant of our children...

The rooms are located in a variety of bungalows, some stilted so that they appear suspended over the valley. Our rooms had a stunning view south towards the coast, across miles of open countryside, but the views from elsewhere in the camp took in mountains near and distant, as well as the surrounding valleys. Our bungalow had a living space, a huge master bedroom, two smaller bedrooms, both with bunk beds, and two bathrooms, as well as a private garden and plunge pool (it was too cold to use it sadly), all very stylish and understated. We saw lots of birds from the terrace, as well as buffalo and vervet monkeys.

The main house has a large sitting room, cosy dining room, and spacious terraces covered with squishy sofas and armchairs, perfect from drinking in the views. There is a communal pool and various terraces and viewpoints. Open fires were lit in the evenings, and wonderful meals were served both for dinner and breakfast. The electricity is switched off overnight, but solar lamps are provided and it's no real hardship to turn in at 10pm after a busy day's sightseeing. We had trouble getting hot water in our bathrooms, and despite his best efforts Mike could not fix the water heater, maybe a sign that more regular maintenance is needed?

The camp is about a 30-minute drive from Addo Elephant Park, so it was well-positioned for a day trip into the park, but far enough away from the relative hubbub of the park and its surrounds. Addo was an excellent place to start our love affair with African wildlife - you can see so much so easily and in comfort.

But the best thing about Camp Figtree was simply being there and being privileged and lucky enough to experience the peaceful and beautiful surroundings. It is expensive, but worth a splurge. We would love to go back some day...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
4.6 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
431 reviews
18.4 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
331 reviews
8.6 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
10.8 mi away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
324 reviews
4.9 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Figtree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Figtree

Property: Camp Figtree
Address: Addo, Sundays River Valley, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Figtree 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Camp Figtree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing