We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camp Figtree
Nearby Hotels
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$82
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
$56
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King Edward Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
$43
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Paxton Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
$87
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sir Roys At The Sea(Port Elizabeth)
$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishops Inn(Port Elizabeth)
$46
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Humewood Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Windermere by Mantis(Port Elizabeth)
$122
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveler rating
417
87
28
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
87
28
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszuurberg mountainshot waterluxury tentsfig treestunning viewsaddo elephant parkon stiltsamazing locationcolonial stylefamily suiteenjoy the viewdirt roadother gueststhe main lodgeperfect stayprivate poolout of this world
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 550 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Camp Figtree has a very special place in our hearts. We have visited several times each year over the last 10 years or so and take all our visitors from overseas to enjoy the ambiance, views, peace and quiet, great staff and tasty meals. The accommodation is spacious and comfortable with fantastic views down the valleys and across the mountains. The drive up to the lodge is real Africa and a great introduction to your stay. We highly rate Camp Figtree for a couple of relaxing nights.

Room Tip: Try for units looking over the valley
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We recently stayed here with a 3 year old and a 21 week baby!! The drive up to the lodge is on a dirt road like no other! Wow! Steep, potholes and the undercarriage of our car kept on scraping!! But once we arrived at Camp Figtree, the wonderful view and hospitality soon made up for the interesting drive!! Gift and Mike are both fantastic. A table was set up for us in our room for supper on both nights so that we could listen out for our boys. A wonderful touch! Breakfasts are amazing, even had freshly made muffins!! The generator going on at 5.30am is not ideal and no tea/coffee making facilities in the room is not ideal with a young baby when boiled water is necessary for bottles but the staff were so helpful in bringing water whenever it was needed. Highly recommend Camp Figtree even if you have young children. On a personal note, I think that the fact that Sir Percy Fitzpatricks descendants own the lodge, should be advertised! Jock of the Bushveld is world famous!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is an incredible place. Rooms - or rather tin chalets on stilts - hovver over what looks like rain forest and the bird song is extraordinary. Staff are lovely (especially our waiter Gift) but these was a feeling of everyone needing to be managed rather better than seemed to be the case. There was very little information about the place, and what was on offer, so we felt we might have missed stuff. But still a great place and good value too. Eating there is wonderful with every dish incredibly delicious. Overall, worth visiting.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TartanHornplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The location of this place is mind-blowing, and an entertaining half-hour drive from Addo Elephant Park. We found the staff to be very friendly and keen to please (especially Gift, who was charming), and the food was consistently superb and great value (although dinner is additional to the room tariff, which isn’t particularly clear on booking), as was the wine selection. The rooms have fantastic décor, and are spacious and uncluttered (the panoramics section on the hotel’s website gives a very good impression).

There are a couple of things that we think would improve the guest experience greatly:-

1) a proper welcome pack. Our folder had only leaflets for other activities, where what we really wanted was a reminder of all the timings on electricity, meals, etc, information on local wildlife/geology, information about AEP (e.g. opening times and prices), details on Figtree’s own game drives, a history of the place. It’s a very remote spot and can feel isolating to arrive and have no information. For example, only on our last day did we discover that there were umbrellas available, after several soakings (it’s on a high mountain ridge, so be ready for some cloud and rain in November/December).

2) somebody on the reception desk holding it all together. There wasn’t anyone manning reception at any point, and certainly no host – we had to go and find someone and pull them away from their duties if we wanted anything done, and we had to wait at least 20 minutes to check out because there was no one there at 9am, and we had to ask twice to have someone do so.

The only time the staff were pro-active was when they wanted to upsell experiences with partner companies in the area. We knew what we wanted to do, and got a little annoyed with this.

We felt it was a good example of a great hotel, but lacking an anchor-person to hold it all together, ensure staff are focussed and ensure guests are looked after on their own terms. For now, as another reviewer says, expect to have to be pro-active in getting the service you want.

Finally, it’s not clear in advance whether there’s wifi here – there isn’t (although there’s good phone signal). If you need wifi, Orange Elephant Backpackers on the road back to Addo will provide access for a small fee.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms don't seem that much more expensive than standard, are vast and seem to float out into space above the valley below.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SherpaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The setting is fantastic.Food excellent.Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank War15768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews