We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and perfect hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Addo Afrique Estate
Ranked #17 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location and perfect hospitality”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We spent to nights at Addo Afrique with to familys (4 adults - 5 kids), great location with wild animals on the area and just 10 km to the Addo Elephant Park. The rooms are perfect for two families and the best Moses and his wife take care of you with breakfast and dinner - great Braai and famous Tschakalaka. We can recommend for sure the Addo Afrique

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFeigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    25
    13
    0
    2
See reviews for
56
77
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here in feb 2011 after attending a wedding in the winelands, and were blown away. The beautiful location, the stylish chalets, we saw giraffes on the perimeter while sitting & reading just outside the house, we got spoiled by Moses (breakfast & braai, and were entertained by his stories & charmed by his very cute little boy) and were very good informed about tours etc. Very luxurious, very nice, everything we hoped for after reading the rave reviews. Definitely worth every cent ! A must do !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristienPeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my family. Had booked the Elephant logde which actually accomodates 8 persons (4 double beds), a bit big for us, but great. Booked it through hotels.com, were not aware it was so big.

Very nice setting in a little private park, not much to see there of wild animals, but a great view from the terrace. We saw 56 elefants passing approx. 300-400 meters from us. There are ostrich, monkeys and different kind of deer, + 3 giraffes.

A big TV in the living room, great for the kids. Beautiful rooms.

A small swimmingpool on the terrace, to cold water!! A lot of wasps there, the kids did not want to swim in the water.

What actually does the stay great are the two persons working there, Moses the butler and his wife. They are so nice and are taking very well care of you in all ways.

Moses is a great cook, love his food.

Since this is a rather expencive place it is a pity the owners a saving money by serving squash instead of fresh orange juice. We had a braai, but there were no beef sirlions etc, just meat not that expensive, good but still.

What makes the place very special are the two great staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llu001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AddoLes, Owner at Addo Afrique Estate, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your lovely review, we really appreciate it. Unfortunately February month is out of season for fresh oranges. The braai packs normally consists of Sirlion, chicken kebabs, Lamb chop and sausage, from the best Butcher in town. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards.

Bertie van Deventer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed at Addo Afrique for 1 night during our trip to South Africa. The accommodation is absolutely stunning, set in beautiful surroundings, its the perfect place to relax in luxury. Having a few cold beers under the starlit skies waiting for the moonrise was just incredible! Loads of room, outstanding service and ideal location, this place is an absolute MUST!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AddoLes, Owner at Addo Afrique Estate, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we really appreciate it. Hopefully you will be able to stay longer the next time to explore all the other stunning activities on offer in the area.

Kind Regards.

Bertie van Deventer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Staying at Addo Afrique was truly magical. The rooms were large with extremely comfortable beds and the decor was exquisite.

I was amazed at how close you are to all the wildlife. I was there with my partner and we stayed for 1 night and we seen so much including monkeys and ostrich.

Moses spoiled us by cooking up a delicious braai while we relaxed by the pool.

This truly was a luxurious and unique experience and we plan to go again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Migee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN FRANCISCO, Ca.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

After a great long driving trip of the Garden route we ended up at Addo Afrique Estate. It was great , great rooms, great food and great service, Thanks to Moses and Gladys (who always were there to help) we ended our african adventure on a high note. I have not been to Africa and this was our first time spending time at a game park so I cannot compare Addo Afrique Estate to anything else. Bertie and team were great and the lodge (Giraffe) was clean and comfortable for the reasonable price. 3 DAY PACKAGE was booked via the website.

I would recommend Addo Afrique Estate to anyone with a family or couple for a few days. Thanks Moses for making us feel welcome!

Room Tip: Get a upper floor room with the shower on the balcony .... something special
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Was in ADDO area and this lodge for 3 nights earlier in JAN 2012. We really had a fantastic time... everyone we met at Addo Afrique Estate was terrific. Moses Gladys were most welcoming and really enjoyed their company and help. We have two small children and we stayed at the Giraffe Lodge in a large upstairs room which was perfect for the four of us. The outdoor shower was all time watching the sunset over the savannah in a warm shower was a "were not in kansas" moment for my kids!

Moses was our butler and took fantastic care of us. The BBQ he orchestrated was great and his stories and knowledge were really helpful, and Moses seems to be all about making the guest happy. Addo Afrique Estate is a small special place who staff owner and price are all great. It was a perfect end to three weeks in South Africa. We met other folks there are three days who were from Holland, Brasil and Italy so it a great international cliental at Addo Afrique Estate. Moses was great with our children and when my son woke up looking for a snack , Moses was all too happy to help! We did the activities on the three night program and as mentioned everything was great and well priced the private reserve drive at Scotia with dinner was amazing, being 10 feet from a pride of lions is what this part of the trip is about.

One activity we loved was our private float down the Sunday River and sand boarding... what a cool thing to do... Bertie set us up on his very cool 'houseboat' and we spent 4 relaxing hours on the river and checking out the amazing sand dunes which are apart of ADDO Park. We had unlimited wine water, soft drinks and beer and Bertie mentioned please take back to the lodge what you do not use which we did and shared with the other guests. The room at ADDO was clean and well situated for 2 adults 2 children 6 & 8 .... Thank you Gladys Moses and Bertie for a memorable end to our South African adventure.

As a note we did check out and have the whole day to spend before our 6pm flight, with that said there really is nothing to do in PE ... so plan some adventure activities your last day if your flying out of Port Elizabeth late or you will be spending time at the airport.

Room Tip: The room with the outdoor shower is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJBSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
7.7 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
427 reviews
11.2 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
395 reviews
11.6 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
7.9 mi away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
318 reviews
16.4 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addo Afrique Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addo Afrique Estate

Property: Addo Afrique Estate
Address: Farm Addo Afrique, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Addo Afrique Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the natural bushveld in a private malaria free game reserve lies the luxurious Addo Afrique Giraffe Lodge. Guests are welcomed with a spectacular view over the Addo Elephant National Park, the only park in the world to conserve the BIG 7. Accommodation is offered in exquisite african style safari lodge in a tranquil and relaxing environment. Giraffe Lodge offers 3 en suite bedrooms on a bed and breakfast basis. The lodge has been furnished and equipped to the very highest standard with heating/cooling air conditioning in each bedroom and lounge, jacuzzi/spa bath in the main bedroom, outdoor showers and a private plunge pool and braai/barbecue areas providing some of the best Addo accommodation available in South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Addo Afrique Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing