We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise....”
Review of Avoca River Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avoca River Cabins
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise....”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed for one night in one of the 'mud huts' on the river side and the second night in the 'b&b' shared house at the top of the hill. Both nights were unique, extremely comfortable and we had all we needed for a top nights stay. Dave and Judy were very helpful and their farm is absolutely beautiful. Would recommend this to anyone....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    157
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
254
123
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

One of the best places we found in SA. Nice rooms and cottages on the riverside on a beautiful farm area. The owners are very lovely, sharing their house (internet) and swimming-pool with their guests and they are very helpful and friendly as well. One can swim in the river or try a kanu for free and relax in the gardens, surrounded by beautiful flowers. It´s only about a 20 min. to Addo. A very recommented spot to stay in this area!!

Room Tip: The rooms are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the end of our trip to SA. Wish we had booked for longer. A variety of accommodation is on offer. We stayed in a riverside lodge with thatched roof. All equipment is available to self cater including BBQ.We had breakfast with Judy an Dave who are very friendly and helpful. Very convienient for Addo.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank city186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

this is the perfect place to stay and relax. Beatifully set on the banks of the Sundays river is absolutely quite and just wonderful. We stayed at a log cabin, bathroom is in the cabin and it also has a great balcony. Two cabins share an outside kitchen area, a huge braai area and a wonderul sitting area overlooking the river. The Kitschen area is fully equipped with all you need, just add the wood, the steak, the beer and/or wine and you are set for a perfect evening. Breakfast is server at the main house, also beatifully set overlooking the river. I've seldom stayed in such a nice and quite place. It was supposed to be just for a night and ended up adding a day just to relax and enjoy. And it's only ten minutes away from Addo National Park and far better vaule for your money. If you are visiting the park, don't stay inside, drive the ten minutes to Avoca and you'll have a wonderful evening/night there!
Enjoy. I will certainly stay there again should I be in the area.

Room Tip: take a log cabin - they are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TsavoDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Would highly recommend a stay here. We stayed for a couple of nights a part of a tour group while visiting the Addo (25 minutes drive ) and Scotia (45 minutes - well worth a visit to almost guarantee the big 5) reserves. Its about an hour's drive from Port Elizabeth.

There are a number of lodges on the hillside and other down near the river where we stayed about a 10 minute walk from the main house where breakfast is served (worth it) . The kids loved it and it was one of their favourite places on the garden route as it was right by a river with an adventure playground and trampoline. There were canoes to use on the river too. Best of all for the kids was that their beds were up in a loft under a thatched roof which made it all the more exciting. There were three mattresses up there. A fourth could probably have been squeezed in. On the ground floor was a double bed and a small kitchenette all nicely appointed

The owners were wonderful and very welcoming and the only thing stopping us giving a 5 star rating was the lack of heating in the cabin which made things rather nippy at night (warm up in the loft) as it was winter but that was equally a common issue with other places we stayed along the garden route. Would happily stay here again even without the safari as the main attraction.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamoftravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

A very nice place with various types of accommodation available. I had a room in the main house with ensuite. Cabins looked great too. Lovely setting on the river with a lot of bird life. Orange orchards. Working farm. Conveniently located near Addo. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysunderway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamperland, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in a chalet, and we loved it. So beautiful next to the river.
A great outdoor kitchen and braai area. Verry nich people and very helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marliesenmaurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addo hotels
7.1 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#12 of 21 in Addo
112 reviews
7.2 mi away
Addo African Home
Addo African Home
#4 of 12 in Addo
150 reviews
5.4 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
4.1 mi away
Gerald's Gift Guest House
6.2 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 21 in Addo
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca River Cabins

Property: Avoca River Cabins
Address: PO Box Summerville, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6107, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avoca River Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dave and Judy welcome you to Avoca River Cabins. Avoca, meaning "the meeting of the water," is situated in the beautiful Sundays River Valley. This citrus farm has self-catering Riverside chalets, a Tree House and Mud Huts in tranquil surroundings. We are 20 minutes from the Addo Elephant National Park. Take a plunge into the river, do some fishing, or paddle on a canoe. Ideal for nature lovers and birdwatchers! Children welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avoca River Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing