We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orange Elephant Backpackers
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique spot”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place is awesome! We stayed in a room for 4, with a semi open bathroom ensuite. Very clean, lovely room, good food, very friendly staff, awesome location.
They even have an outside bathroom & toilet if you're feeling adventurous. Absolutely loved staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveleratheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    12
    5
    10
See reviews for
8
28
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed for one night in the dorm hut.

Pros
- did the 1/2 day Addo park tour - great time! Our tour guide was very knowledgable and entertaining
- lots of secure parking
- bar is nice and spacious
- staff is great and very helpful
- good restaurant about 5 mins down the road
- free breakfast of toast, cereal, tea, and coffee
- self serve kitchen is very clean
- had a fire going next to the bar during the evening

Cons
- if you stay in the dorm, you're not allowed to use the bathrooms inside the main building. You have to use the toilet and showers outdoors (which sucks if it's freezing out)
- no electrical outlets in the dorm
- free wifi at the bar but not the greatest quality

Room Tip: Don't stay in the dorms if you can help it. Book the private rooms, it's worth the extra mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeEle, Owner at Orange Elephant Backpackers, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hi Michelle

I am appalled to hear someone told you that you cannot use the other bathrooms on the property. I must apologize for that on behalf of everybody here.
Thank you for bringing it to my attention and I have dealt with the issue.

All our guests are more than welcome to use any of the communal bathrooms at any time here at the Orange Elephant.
I am really glad to hear you had a great tour in the Park and we could show you the amazing Elephants we have here in Addo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had booked the Addo 2 park safari tour, but since I needed medical attention (a nasty bug I caught at home required me to be on IV twice a day) I thought we would have to cancel the tour.
I asked John (the owner) for an alternative, and he got right on to it: he must have phoned every hospital, doctor and medical ward in the area so that I could enjoy the tour (did I ever!) and get the medical attention I so needed (he even drove me over and waited patiently).
The B&B in Cradock – if you take the 2 Park tour – is a lovely holiday cottage, very modern and comfortable.
Addo Backpackers is a home away from home and I just wish we could have stayed there longer: the owners and staff are super friendly. The pub/restaurant is away from the main lodgings (no noise at night, for the not so young) and all buildings are set in a lovely garden with vegetable plot, subdivised so that each pavilion is set in a secluded area.
We had a very spacious room (a free upgrade!) with bathroom, nicely decorated (there is definitely an artist in the house) with masses of wardrobe space and comfortable beds.
The tours are great: we saw lots of elephants (they come very close too), lions, cheetahs, rhinos and lots more. Incredible!
They offer a shuttle service to Port Elizabeth (and John – again – waits patiently if your bus runs late, for his motto is: you have the watch, we have the time).
Thanks to all of you at Addo Backpackers!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed in this backpackers whilst touring South Africa and can highly recommend it to anyone. This is a family run place that has a nice feeling the moment you walk in. The owners are incredibly friendly and willing to offer advice on almost anything, and will ensure you get the most out of your stay in Addo. In terms of location, it's just 8km from the park and there's a fairly decent restaurant just 5 mins walk from the place. I'd recommend spending a day in the park and also spending some time chilling at the hostel during the day with a good book. There's plenty of nice seating areas and one of the staff are bound to be around to provide you with company.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just come back from a fabulous trip to SA. Started off at the Addo Elephant Park staying at the Orange Elephant. John met us at the airport and made us feel very welcome. We had the ensuite room which was huge and very comfortable. The team arranged our trip to the Cheetah Santuary (recommended) and the full day tour of the Elephant Park which included lunch. Our lovely driver was knowledgable and managed to get us in the right places at just the right time for some fantastic elephant encounters! We were directed to the Reptile Santuary - just taken over by a lovely couple, who dumped a gekko in our hands almost as soon as we walked in. Great experience holding snakes and even a baby meerkat! The Orange Elephant team fed us in the evening and breakfast was available to help yourself or if you wanted something a bit more substantial you could use the large kitchen to cook your own food. Pub in the grounds serves great pizza and cold beer! Fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: Variety of rooms available - we had the one and only en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kckm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeEle, Owner at Orange Elephant Backpackers, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Always a pleasure to help. I am glad you managed to check in on your flight and if you do come back to this area we would love to host you here and show you folk true South African hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2nights. Paid 1100 for 2nights, 'breakfast (no bread left @7am), lunch (cheese salad no meat), dinner (inedible chicken) tour of a reptile 'park', cool cheetah sanctuary, and OUTSTANDING guided tour of the Addo national park. ! He was so helpful and informative.
This place is very rural and expect to rough it out but feel safe. There is wifi in the bar only. the running water is brown and the house we stayed in was freezing cold due to no glass in the outer door.
We were left with a nasty surprise of an extra 1000 for the shuttle from PE (75k). it would have been nice to know this in advance.
Would not recommend unless desperate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMargaretH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeEle, Owner at Orange Elephant Backpackers, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello Margret
i suppose I could have expected this after our discussion over the "discount you wanted, as there were five of you in the group. The shuttle price was discussed and @ R200 per person for 100km and not 75 km I feel you are misrepresenting the facts.
I remember the subject well as the discount you were looking for was the princely sum of 3 pounds 25!!!!!!!

As for the breakfast at 7am, You only arrived at 8am for breakfast. lol

Thanks for the compliments regarding the tours. I will pass them on to our guide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Loved the people running the place, the location and the game drive they run. The large property is just outside the park making it convenient as a reasonably priced base. They offer a range of activities and we used them for a full day game drive. It was excellent and I recommend doing a full day over a half day for sure. They have a separate bar where they offer meals and, sometimes, free wifi (it was hit/miss during our stay).

We stayed in the main house in a large ensuite room. It was very large with heaps of closets and other storage. Although comfortable, it was in dire need of some TLC. The toilet ran for around 10 minutes after each flush and everything in the room was just showing it's age.

Despite this, the people that run the property are wonderful, the shared kitchen was well-appointed, clean and easy to work in and their three wonderful dogs are worth the stay alone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addo hotels
0.9 mi away
Addo African Home
Addo African Home
#4 of 12 in Addo
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#11 of 21 in Addo
111 reviews
7.3 mi away
Avoca River Cabins
Avoca River Cabins
#3 of 12 in Addo
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
1.2 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
3.3 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Elephant Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Elephant Backpackers

Property: Orange Elephant Backpackers
Address: R335, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orange Elephant Backpackers is a short 8km from the main gate of Addo Elephant National park. Our property is on a working citrus farm and borders the national park. On site is a restuarant with pub where you are likely to meet up with local farmers, game rangers, researchers. We have a variety of rooms - en suite doubles, doubles and twins with shared bathrooms, family rooms and camping. We are not a B&B but a backpackers/youth hostel ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing