We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orange Elephant Backpackers
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2nights. Paid 1100 for 2nights, 'breakfast (no bread left @7am), lunch (cheese salad no meat), dinner (inedible chicken) tour of a reptile 'park', cool cheetah sanctuary, and OUTSTANDING guided tour of the Addo national park. ! He was so helpful and informative.
This place is very rural and expect to rough it out but feel safe. There is wifi in the bar only. the running water is brown and the house we stayed in was freezing cold due to no glass in the outer door.
We were left with a nasty surprise of an extra 1000 for the shuttle from PE (75k). it would have been nice to know this in advance.
Would not recommend unless desperate.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMargaretH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeEle, Owner at Orange Elephant Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hello Margret
i suppose I could have expected this after our discussion over the "discount you wanted, as there were five of you in the group. The shuttle price was discussed and @ R200 per person for 100km and not 75 km I feel you are misrepresenting the facts.
I remember the subject well as the discount you were looking for was the princely sum of 3 pounds 25!!!!!!!

As for the breakfast at 7am, You only arrived at 8am for breakfast. lol

Thanks for the compliments regarding the tours. I will pass them on to our guide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Orange Elephant Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 92 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Loved the people running the place, the location and the game drive they run. The large property is just outside the park making it convenient as a reasonably priced base. They offer a range of activities and we used them for a full day game drive. It was excellent and I recommend doing a full day over a half day for sure. They have a separate bar where they offer meals and, sometimes, free wifi (it was hit/miss during our stay).

We stayed in the main house in a large ensuite room. It was very large with heaps of closets and other storage. Although comfortable, it was in dire need of some TLC. The toilet ran for around 10 minutes after each flush and everything in the room was just showing it's age.

Despite this, the people that run the property are wonderful, the shared kitchen was well-appointed, clean and easy to work in and their three wonderful dogs are worth the stay alone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Clean, very friendly and welcoming hostel. The owners and staff will go out of their way to help you. Good selection of accommodation - from camping, dorms, doubles with shared bathrooms and even ensuite - so can suit a variety of budgets. Has the added bonus of a bar at the other end of the property from the accommodation which serves cocktails, beers, wines and hot food. Breakfast is choice of cereals and toast and coffee. Lovely garden for lounging and lots of comfy seats outside. Only 8km from the entrance of the National Park so very handy if you have your own car or if not, they will organise a guided tour for you. They are also good at advising what else to do in the area and assisting you with onward bookings etc. They do a shuttle to and from Bazbus or Port Elizabeth airport, which is handy too. Recommended +++

Room Tip: If there are two of you, the double rooms are only a little extra more, compared to two dorm beds, s...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDSDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very close to the Addo park. Good for a nights sleep. Interesting setting, friendly welcome from staff and other visitors. Bar with wifi. Clean kitchen with help yourself to coffee and breakfast facilities.
You MUST experience the showers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownOwlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We did a road trip through South Africa with 4 friends and stayed one night in this hostel. Originally we planned on staying two nights close to Addo, but this was the worst hostel on our trip so we only stayed one night. We had a room right next to the road. Every time a truck deove by we could hear it. The atmosphere was rather strange. Breakfast was included but it consisted of old cornflakes. In general I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

even better than we had imagined. The staff were friendly as were the other guests. We were 2 and asked for a non dorm room. We were given a clean, well decorated, spacious room which slept 4 and which had a shower. Situated very close to the Addo Park which made it the perfect place from which to explore. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeEle, Owner at Orange Elephant Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Hey Leanne
Thanks amillion and really glad you enjoyed your stay. Cant wait to have you guys back here at the OE again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The accommodation was quite nice. We stayed in a family room: 1 double and 2 separate beds. We had a private shower which was fine. It was clean, though the mattrasses could have been a bit better. The adjacent restaurant is run by a Canadian immigrant who's already living in SA for a couple of years (+10). It's really a pleasure to listen to the man. The homemade kudu (his wife is the chef) was delicious, as was their homemade bread.

Room Tip: If you're 3 or 4, go for the ensuite.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GioomD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
0.9 mi away
Addo African Home
Addo African Home
#4 of 11 in Addo
156 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
0.2 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#12 of 21 in Addo
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
7.3 mi away
Avoca River Cabins
Avoca River Cabins
#3 of 11 in Addo
492 reviews
6.9 mi away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Elephant Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Elephant Backpackers

Address: R335, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Addo
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orange Elephant Backpackers is a short 8km from the main gate of Addo Elephant National park. Our property is on a working citrus farm and borders the national park. On site is a restuarant with pub where you are likely to meet up with local farmers, game rangers, researchers. We have a variety of rooms - en suite doubles, doubles and twins with shared bathrooms, family rooms and camping. We are not a B&B but a backpackers/youth hostel ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing