We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
216
44
12
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
44
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush cabins guest farm outdoor shower lovely hosts luxury chalet self driving small pond open fire closest restaurant special guest house main entrance magnificent view breakfast and dinner the reserve stayed here for nights sa trip booked dinner
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 278 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

We only had time to stay one night in this beautiful place. The owners Magna and Rob were very attentive and friendly! They took great care to give us recommendations to make the most of our short visit. Fresh from the plane from Europe, an hour after our arrival we already joined the sundowner tour in the park, starting at 17h. The next morning Rob plotted us a route through the park to drive on our own with the latest info on where to spot the animals. And we did! Even three sightings of lions included.
Also Magna also helped us with getting our lost bag delivered by British Airways in time.
Nice breakfast with a beautiful view.

Highly recommended - we‘d pick it again without any hesitation.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hannes E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addodungbeetlegf, Manager at Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Dear Hannes,
Thank you for your comments and hope to welcome you back with us again.
Kind regards
Magna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

This place was by far our favorite place during our trip in the south this time. We (father and two kids) had one of the chalets with the most amazing view from our front porch.
The guest farm was fully booked, but it never felt like overcrowded nor full.
The guest farm is located literally in a citrus farm and my daughter and I had a great walk amidst the orange-trees.
The breakfast is simple, but tasty and fresh!
Luckily I had, the day before, read a few of the reviews of the place and also checked out the web-page.
By doing that, I didn’t have the same negative experiences that some of the other guests had during their stays.
Yes, you have to book dinner two weeks in advance (a little strange that it has to be THAT far ahead), there is not much of room-service (which is totally fine as long as you know about it), the Internet was ok in our chalet (it had to be reset while we were there), but the 3G reception was very good.
The service was friendly and good and the place was very child-friendly.
The pool (a natural pool?) will hopefully get an upgrade sooner rather than later, but again, it fits the style of the place.
Location to the park is excellent and Addo National Park is a lovely park to visit!
Staying at this place is highly recommended, but do the homework and read/prepare a little before going, that can make the difference between a frustrating stay and an excellent stay!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Erlend J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addodungbeetlegf, General Manager at Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear Family,
Thank you for your kind and honest response.
Reviews like this one is highly appreciated.
Kind regards
Magna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2018

Very friendly and helpful staff, delicious food. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. The manager gave as some very good advise concerning our next station. It does not take more than 15 minutes to one of the gates of Addo Elephant Park. Comin back soon! :-)

Room Tip: Close to the restaurant, so you don't have to go walk far. :-)
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addodungbeetlegf, General Manager at Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback and hope to welcome you back with us soon.
Kind regards
Magna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018 via mobile

Great reception although off the beaten track down a rough lane. Shown to our dung beetle lodge that was great. As only there for 2 nights we were happy with the basic set up but we knew that before leaving UK. Rod is so so passionate about his job as a ranger, the animals and the ecology of the place that we could have chatted to him for hours.
Breakfast was great as was our day self driving round the reserve. Saw plenty of animals, lunch at the restaurant followed by a sundowner game drive then evening meal at the reserve.
All in all a fabulous two days made extra special by Rod, his wife Magna and the fabulous staff. Hats off to you all. Thankyou

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addodungbeetlegf, Manager at Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thank you for your mail, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will tell our staff to keep up the good work.
Kind regards
magna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018

Dung Beetle Bush Cabin
We stayed for 2 days. At check in we where advised that for any requirements we could go to the Lapa there (quite some distance up and down the hill) somebody would assist us after arrival we went every 1.5 hours 3 times there never to find anybody.
Only after return from the Addo Elephant Park on the 2nd day we realised that there is absolutely no service not even the bed gets made up.
At check out I complained about that only to get an argument from the lady at reception.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fredstrauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addodungbeetlegf, Manager at Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thank you for your reply.
This is a pitty that you could not find anybody as we as Host and Managers stay on site and that Saturday did not leave the premises.
The receptionist only corrected you and we never service the bush cabins/bungalow as we do not want to disturb the ambiance of the bush cabins with out side toilet and out side showers to avoid an uncomfortable situation.
Kind regards
Magna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews