We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
216
44
12
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
44
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush cabins guest farm outdoor shower lovely hosts luxury chalet self driving small pond open fire closest restaurant special guest house main entrance magnificent view breakfast and dinner the reserve stayed here for nights sa trip booked dinner
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 278 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2018 via mobile

Great reception although off the beaten track down a rough lane. Shown to our dung beetle lodge that was great. As only there for 2 nights we were happy with the basic set up but we knew that before leaving UK. Rod is so so passionate about his job as a ranger, the animals and the ecology of the place that we could have chatted to him for hours.
Breakfast was great as was our day self driving round the reserve. Saw plenty of animals, lunch at the restaurant followed by a sundowner game drive then evening meal at the reserve.
All in all a fabulous two days made extra special by Rod, his wife Magna and the fabulous staff. Hats off to you all. Thankyou

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addodungbeetlegf, Manager at Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thank you for your mail, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will tell our staff to keep up the good work.
Kind regards
magna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018

Dung Beetle Bush Cabin
We stayed for 2 days. At check in we where advised that for any requirements we could go to the Lapa there (quite some distance up and down the hill) somebody would assist us after arrival we went every 1.5 hours 3 times there never to find anybody.
Only after return from the Addo Elephant Park on the 2nd day we realised that there is absolutely no service not even the bed gets made up.
At check out I complained about that only to get an argument from the lady at reception.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fredstrauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addodungbeetlegf, Manager at Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thank you for your reply.
This is a pitty that you could not find anybody as we as Host and Managers stay on site and that Saturday did not leave the premises.
The receptionist only corrected you and we never service the bush cabins/bungalow as we do not want to disturb the ambiance of the bush cabins with out side toilet and out side showers to avoid an uncomfortable situation.
Kind regards
Magna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2018

While signing up for Addo Beetle Dung, I was a bit sceptical. For the first time ever, a property was blatantly boasting that they offer 'rooms with no view'. Though, most business hotels almost never have view, but for a place situated on a hill right next to a national park which is a tourist hot spot, that was confusing. Anyway, we took the plunge and we are definitely not disappointed.
As clearly mentioned, the entire property is made keeping Beetle Dungs in mind. It was a pity I couldn't see even one live Beetle Dung during my stay or during visit to the park (Not a complaint from the property because they did make a lot of effort sometime back to have Beetle Dungs on the property).
The most attractive part of your stay will be your room which most likely will be hidden in dense bushes. The suite we stayed in was somewhat shaped like an igloo with all modern fittings. The hosts ensures that you stay bug free and for an occasional bug they provide sprays which came in handy for a couple of times during our two day stay. The other highlights are the hosts who are really helpful (and they have lovely dogs - one was named Shocky. Alas, I forgot the name of the other one). The dining area is fantastic with a spectacular view of the citrus farms next to the Addo National Park (sunsets are particularly charming from here). Also, right in front is a small pond which is home to scores of chirruping and vividly coloured birds which act too pricey by not allowing you to click their pic.
Since the terrain is natural with narrow openings amidst bushes, avoid carrying entire luggage to the room (if you are self driving and have the option to do so) because the rooms are a little far from the reception. You can also ask for wheel barrels which are slightly helpful - you may find one parked near the entry point of rooms.
Also, if you are interested in going for a Addo National Park safari which is organised by the hosts, please book them much in advance - particularly in peak tourist season.
Among areas which can be improved upon is availability of eating options apart from breakfast. While the hosts provide you all details regarding the restaurants available in the area, the challenge is that all restaurants are quite far (Lenmore - which is 11kms from the property is fantastic by the way). The hosts do provide dinners on alternate nights but it is a tad expensive for a casual traveller. One potential way can be setting up a snacks counter which may not provide full meals, but can come in handy at times.
The other area of improvement is the signage when you enter the property. After we entered the main gate, we were a bit confused if we are heading in the right direction because the rooms are almost a km after the main gate. An additional signage say 300-400 meters into the gate will be helpful.
A minor complaint is the non-availability of wi-fi across the property which is understandable given the overall setup. But the challenge is that it is too slow even in the central dining area. I depended on my Vodacom network during my stay rather than the Wi-Fi.

Overall, a lot of thought and effort has went into setting up this place - we really found our stay one of the most unique ever.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nilabhkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addodungbeetlegf, Manager at Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thank you for your comment.
We appreciate it.
Kind regards
Magna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018 via mobile

I am in 2 minds about rating this hotel. I think it has amazing potential, is beautiful with the most gorgeous views but....

All the great things were however overshadowed by not get any sleep for 3 nights due to bats in the roof. Not an ideal way to spend the last 3 days of holiday before starting work again

On arrival we were greeted very friendly by the owners, and were overwhelmed by the beauty of the views. We were however told that even though they have a restaurant on the premise they were booked for the evening. I see this has been a complaint from a few guests on this forum. This meant driving 10km's to the closest restaurant to get food. Suggestion: Have the option of "room service" for guests even if it is only sandwiches.

A good thing was that they had the option to order a platter for New Years eve. Great idea as we could spend a quite evening at our Chalet.

Arriving at the rooms, they are extremely spacious and really clean and beautiful. The outside shower is Stunning.

We were told we can still enjoy drinks at the restaurant, when we however went there a bit later the staff told us they can't help with drinks we have to go to reception to ask for someone there to assist??? Second suggestion: If you don't have trained or enough staff at least have the option of an honesty box for drinks. Guests should not have to traips so reception at the gate to get service.

Breakfast was good with a nice variety and the owners were friendly and helpful with suggestions regarding the Addo park.

The location of this resort is amazing. It is approximately 5km from the Addo main entrance which is extremely convenient.

Now for the bats... After the first night of barely any sleep and actually dreaming of bats when you do fall asleep I let the owners know about this problem. They did try to get them out with Doom foggers, but this did not work. Night 2 was even worse as one of the bats actually got into the room!!! Trying to get a bat out of your room at 00:30 is not my idea of fun. If there was any other accommodation available I would have left then and there but no such luck. Night 3 was another endless night of scurrying and squeaking sounds. I am not exaggerating if I say the bats do not stop for a second the whole night long, and they were right above our heads. At one stage you actually want to start crying with frustration.

We were given a 5% (!!!) discount on checkout for the inconvenience. Spending more than R900 pppn is however completely unacceptable for not getting any sleep. Returning home before starting a new year of work dead tired was not my plan with this holiday.

I would highly recommend this guest farm, ONLY if the owners can guarantee the rooms are bat free.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Heloisef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addodungbeetlegf, Manager at Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thank you for your comment.
We hope to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Magna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017

We stayed 2 nights on in a Dung Beetle Suite with our children. It was magical for them to stay in a "Dung Beetle"! The hosts were incredible. I would definitely recommend going on the Addo Elephant Park Tour with Rod.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rentia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addodungbeetlegf, Manager at Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

We will inform Rod that you enjoyed the game drive.
Thank you for your comments.
Kind regards
Magna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews