We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Ranked #8 of 22 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed every minute at Dung beetle farm. From the moment we arrived, we found the stuff to be friendly and helpful and we loved the cabin houses and the views. Ron was our game drive guide and did a fantastic job of educating us on the wildlife, the culture and the environment. We had brilliantly equipped
cabin houses, with unique shower& toilet facilities and we loved the evening braai. We have seen adorable elephants, zebras, lions, meerkats and many different bird species. Such an amazing place and we will definitely come back there one day. Highly recommend it for nature lovers and families and adventure sickers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urszula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 240 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

I can only endorse all the accolades below. We stayed in the bush cabins and felt like Livingstone in darkest Africa, Stumbled through thickets and scrub by torchlight, only to find that our comfortable rustic accommodation in fact offered all mod cons - running water, electricity, a fridge, a fan, basic kitchen equipment and a braai on the deck, with expansive views over a citrus plantation. The outdoor shower, with separate toilet, was glorious; the sounds of night creatures a wonderful treat. The cabins are actually easily accessible, they just offer scope for a bit of imagination. Breakfast and dinner were good - Magna's pumpkin pie was the gastronomic highlight of a deliriously food-focused holiday. A pleasing alternative, if necessary, is the restaurant at Addo, 5 km away. Rod's expertise as a field guide was matched by his kindness and a fine-tuned empathy to what interested us.

Room Tip: The bush cabins are unique - don't miss the opportunity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dododog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Rod and Magna are wonderful hosts and work hard to make every minute of your stay perfect. We stayed in the chalets and they are pure luxury with a very beautiful view and only 5 Km to the entrance of the Addo Elephant Park (not paved roads). Dinner and breakfast were also delicious and plenty. We also went with the "Geared to Go" game drive guided by Rod and it was really worth it, as he knows everything about the animals and their habitat. Just make sure you reserve dinner and tours in advance as they are not part of the room package and the next restaurant is about 15 km away!

Room Tip: For more luxury, stay in the chalet and book dinner in advance. For more adventure book the self cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My wife and I spent three nights here last week. We loved everything about it! The rooms were awesome! The grounds were immaculate! Best of all - were the hosts! Rod and Magda made you feel very welcome and comfortable. We had dinner there on two of the nights. It was some of the best food we have had in recent history. Thank you Rod and Magda for helping us have one of our best travel experiences ever!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YetiStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our experience of Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm was absolutely great from making the booking to the moment we checked out. We are a family of 5 that stayed for 3 nights. Rod and Magna are the perfect hosts. The views are stunning, the rooms great, the bathroom to DIE for and the food lovely!! We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Nice place, close to Addo Parc.
He is a very good guide, well informed whats living in the parc and she is an excellent lady of the house.
Good food presented cosy to the open fire. Nice vieuws in front of the cottages and cabins. We had a pleasant stay here. Sometimes a bit cold, and be dressed for a cold ride in the parc when the sun sets

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huwiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a lovely few days at Addo Dung Beetle staying in the very comfortable cabins, enjoying Magda's home cooking and Rod's enthusiastic trips into the park. We felt like we were really well looked after, with a great and comfortable accommodation, and spot-on advice on things to do in the area. The level of service and comfort is perfectly pitched for the price and we really felt that our hosts wanted to make sure we had the best stay we could have. Rod was a very knowledgable guide into the Elephant park and was determined to show us the best the park had to offer, with our trip culminating in a magical experience at the heart of a herd of elephants.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs - the frogs are very noisy at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
4.0 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
443 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 22 in Addo
305 reviews
21.6 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Addo African Home
Addo African Home
#4 of 11 in Addo
161 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#11 of 22 in Addo
116 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm

Address: Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm | Coerny Valley, Off the R335, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range: $47 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm is situated 4 km from the Main Gate of the Addo Elephant National Park on a working Citrus Farm. The Citrus part of the Farm is approximately 250ha with an estimated 151 000 individual trees. We have 5 luxury chalets – B&B, then 3 Rustic Bush Cabins with Self-Catering facilities and 4 inspired Dung Beetle Suites – B&B. We are ideal for couples, parent-breakaways, honeymooners and also for small group of 10 people sharing. In our Thatched Roof Lapa we prepare traditional South African mouthwatering set meals on the fire while you enjoy a sundowner with us. We only serve in-house dining on Mondays, Wednesdays and Friday; booking 2 weeks prior to arrival date is essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing