We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place/ Classy People”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castelo Novo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa do Castelo Novo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelo Novo
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place/ Classy People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Castelo Novo gave me the feeling of seeing and breathing hundreds of years of history in full vivid technicolor. The vibe of this old village is prehistoric and somehow it feels at the same time modern and vital. We could not have done better than to stay at the Casa do Castelo Novo. Alice cooked two marvellous meals for us - she is the special kind of cook who know how to make her ingredients "sing". The fish was fresh, tender and so well complimented by subtle yet enticing sauces...the vegetables tasted like they used to, when fresh vegetables always had their own character....and her soups were fine layerings of fresh and savoury flavours. Even the choice of foods served at breakfast revealed that she had an amazing sense of taste - delicious breads, butter, meats and homemade preserves were all addictive. The room was comfortable and very attractive. Most importantly, it was a pleasure to talk with and learn from our very interesting and generous hosts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nazare, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

His charming old house has a creative and caring host that has made it into a fantastic place to stay. You are welcomed into this home, feeling the pleasure of being a welcomed guest and at the same time you have all the privacy you need. The rooms come with clean and comfortable bathrooms, the beds are good, and you can study all the antiquities carefully chosen to give the house just the right atmosphere. The garden with lemon trees, comfortable chairs and a breath-taking view ads to the stay! Note that there is not a lot of restaurants in this tiny town, so it would be a good idea to book in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the old kitchen in the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hege T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent the most memorable period at Casa do Castelo Novo during our two-week family trip. The scenery and the village are absolutely breathtaking and we'd like to praise our hostess, Alice. She's thoughtful and has plenty of suggestions regarding any questions.
We arrived with a long list of attractions we wanted to visit, especially the surrounding historical villages and the Serra da Estrela park. With her help we managed to see most of them and also got to authentic places we'd never even heard of.
With two parents and two students we really appreciated the freedom that came with the accomodation. We slept in a comfortable building in the garden with our own dining area. The breakfast was always substantial and delicious, containing something to suprise us each day.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay and couldn't recommend more this amazing house and hostess.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Casa do Castelo Novo is a lovely setting within a quaint Portuguese village. The rooms were large and very clean, and we stepped out of them into an attractive yard w/views all around. The most memorable part of our stay though was having dinner w/our friendly hosts, who served us a delicious meal w/plenty of interesting conversation. Next morning's breakfast was just as nice and included a number of delectable homemade jams.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oakelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shepherdstown, WV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

We traveled through Portugal and Spain for 25 days and Casa do Costelo Novo is probably our favorite and most delightful stay. Situated in the tiny medieval town of Costelo Novo the B&B is a absolutely charming. Our very private room was spacious, very clean, comfortable, and furnished in a very appealing Portugese country style. Outside our door was a garden with olive trees and grape vines, overlooking the town. It is an easy trip to Monsonto (fabulous!!) and other nearby attractions. The very best part of staying here, however is having hosts Alice and Manuel. We stayed 2 nights and had dinner each night with them in their lovely home. Allice serves delicious traditional but elegent meals. You have the opportunity to talk with both Alice and Manuel over dinner and wonderful Portugese wines. Both hosts are well traveled are extremely knowledgable about the region and all of Portugal. The final treat was sitting in their book lined living room with a glass of wine listening to classical music before turning in. We HIGHLY recommend Casa do Castelo Novo

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juiz de Fora
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

Casa de Castelo Novo is a wonderful place to stay if you wish to experience the life in a small Portuguese village (aldeia). It is also an excellent base to explore the region and interesting places like Monsanto, Idanha-a-Velha, Belmonte, Sortelha and even Serra da Estela. The vilage is small but charming. The only restaurant is open for lunch only but you can have dinner either at Casa de Castelo Novo or in Alpedrinha (4km away). Dona Alice, the owner, is a very good and knowledgeable host. The rooms are nice and very clean. Naturally, you should not expect this is a full-service hotel with available computers hooked to the Internet, Cable TV with several chanels, etc. We strongly recommend Casa de Castelo Novo for those willing to feel like what is living in a small charming Portuguese village and explore the nearby Serra da Gardunha.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klapkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelo Novo
6.2 mi away
O Alambique de Ouro Hotel Resort & Spa
23.2 mi away
Casa das Penhas Douradas
Casa das Penhas Douradas
#1 of 3 in Manteigas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
14.7 mi away
H2otel
H2otel
#1 of 1 in Unhais da Serra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Solar dos Caldeira e Bourbon
6.6 mi away
Fundao Palace Hotel
Fundao Palace Hotel
#3 of 5 in Fundao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
3.2 mi away
Casa do Cimo
Casa do Cimo
#5 of 5 in Fundao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Castelo Novo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Castelo Novo

Property: Casa do Castelo Novo
Address: Ua Nossa Senhora das Gracas 7, Castelo Novo 6230-160, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Castelo Branco District > Castelo Novo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelo Novo
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing